We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Great location, but you won't need to leave. . .”
Review of Ambong Ambong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambong Ambong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect! Great location, but you won't need to leave. . .”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It was our first trip to Langkawi and we were struggling to find an alternative to the large scale resorts in a quiet location as we wanted a true R&R secluded holiday free of noise and clutter - then we found Ambong Ambong. We also discovered they offered yoga retreats which was the perfect solution for us as non-sun bathers. We appreciate a walk on the beach or a quick dip in the ocean, but we wanted something different although if you prefer the beach it is only a 5 min walk. This place exceeded our expectations and we couldn't have found a place in a better location if we tried. A quick taxi from the airport, 5 minute walk to beach and a further 5-10 minutes to the hustle and bustle of Pentai Tengah where you can shop and dine. Although the best part was the seclusion in the hills amongst the tree tops with no need to wander. Absolute serenity. We stayed in the studio and must admit the photos we saw beforehand do no justice. The rooms are large and beautiful - all new furniture, comfy beds, loaded kitchenette, hot water, loads of closet storage for a lengthy stay, and elegant decor. The staff were very organized, accommodating, and helpful. Thank you Nizam! Their were beautiful views of the surrounding area, gardens, birds serenading, and occasional show of curious yet shy monkeys (please don't feed them to maintain their curiosity and maintain their diets). The topper was Ishan Spa at your doorstep where we received a wonderful and affordable massage. We noted people coming and going from other locations. Must be the great price and service! Don't forget you have an amazing Japanese restaurant which we ate at every day (it was so good) with friendly staff. . .and convenient. Try their homemade ice cream! You seriously don't need to leave the property with spa, food, pool, and lodging in one place. But, if you do want to venture out you are in a great location.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong as they have built each room with privacy in mind - buildings are staggered s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scrn1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for a great review; Nizam and the staff are very chaffed to be so well appreciated. Our neighbours, the Spa and the Japanese restaurant are at the the top of their leagues.( See Tripadvisor) and even though under different managements, we try to work together to enhance the experience of our guests.

You Are so right about not feeding the monkeys; it is not doing them any favours to disrupt their normal feeding patterns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    49
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
82
331
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klang Bah Kut Teh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel for only a night and I regretted for not extending my stay here as I've booked and paid for another hotel at Kuah town to make my duty free items much easier. Since I already rented a car to make my travelling around Langkawi easier, I drove to this hotel and even before I reach the place, Mr Nizam already give me a phone call to make sure that I did not miss the junction. It's only 11am in the morning! I was like "What kind of hotel that provides early check as early as 11am???". I was greeted by Nizam upon my arrival and mind you, the hotel is located on a very very steep cliff (I strongly agree with all the travellers here). Nizam immediately help us with our luggage and we were drove up to our suite by his 4X4 vehicle. We're done with a quick check-in inside the suite within 10 minutes and this is my first time check into the hotel without a lobby. Great, not much hassle like other hotels normally do. Rooms are very spacious, beds are extremely comfortable and superb rain shower inside the bathroom. Not to mention there is also a balcony, kitchen, fridge, safety box and a very huge wardrobe to store your things. Since most of the things already mention by other travellers, I'm not going to go deep into the details anymore. Overall, I'm very satisfied with my stay here!!! Definitely will be back in the future!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvin_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We like our guests to be totally at home and comfortable and when we say "welcome" we really mean it. It is not all unusual for us to check guests in early or check them out late to suit their travel arrangements.

Thank you for staying with us. Please come back again and see how else we can surprise and spoil you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you are looking for piece, quiet and high quality service this is the place you have to go. Nothing is more important that your well being there.
The owner will welcome yu personnaly and any request you have will be fullfilled.
Quiet but not isolated, you can easily rent a car down the hill and do whatever you want. Anna will be delighted to help you choose the best attractions to see and so much more.
You will have only one regret...have to leave !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. Anna and the rest of the team look forward to your next visit and they will try to do even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This place is lovely, comfortable and welcoming as other reviewers have said. We stayed six nights.

I should mention we had a few days of pouring rain which may affect my impression, but you should be aware:
- The stairs offer a serious stairclimbing workout. Parking and pool are at the bottom. We are late 40's and both gym goers, but it was a consideration when we planned our day. You don't just "dash back" to the room.
-In the rain, esp in the dark, the stairs are a bit treacherous. They are quite narrow, so you get rather soaked by overhanging vegetation and it's too narrow for a big umbrella. I would not want to go out for dinner on a rainy night in high heels. (Maybe you won't be doing this in Langkawi anyway, but just to give you the picture.)
-there are no grounds, lobby or common areas aside from the pool (which is small and has two loungers only). It's you and your unit. We almost never saw (or heard) another guest.
-It's a bit like staying in a treehouse in the jungle. Fine if you are preoccupied with your companion or a good book or a bottle of wine and it's raining outside and you don't mind. But I found myself a bit restless and isolated. I wanted to get out and see the town, beach etc. But I felt somehow confined by the stairs, the rain and the lack of other common areas to distract us.
-I got very bored with breakfast. I eat granola every morning when I'm not on vacation, so this was convenient to have it supplied, but boring.

It's really about what you are looking for. Next time, I'll stay somewhere a bit less remote, and closer to things I can do if it rains.

Once again, I have absolutely no complaint about the facilities or the welcome. It's beautiful here in the forest, and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shortrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Many of our guests find the walk up to the rooms a little daunting especially on a wet nght and we have decided to remedy it. The buggy service will be abe available intill midnight.

It was unusually wet when you stayed with us and we did not know you felt confined; had we known we would have been happy to fetch you from the room and send you to where you wanted to go.

Perhaps next time??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was at Ambong-Ambong for 2 nights. Nizam, the friendly host, was there waiting to greet us when we arrived at 8pm from the airport. He quickly ushered us to our room at the highest block and did a quick check-in and overview with us in the room itself (rather than the lobby). The hotel is new and everything is clean and in perfect condition.
This is not your stereotypical Langkawi resort so let me explain Ambong-Ambong in very few words:
1. The hotel is located on a steep cliff, in a sustainable development and thus you will be right smack in the rainforest. You'll get the "jungle feel" (wild animals, birds, loud insects, etc) inside the comfort of your room and balcony.
2. Very low density hotel and a small decent pool. So don't expect any other amenities
3. You could catch the gorgeous view of Tengah Beach only from the spa lounge and the Japanese restaurant (Unkaizen). It is difficult to see the beach through the dense jungle from your balcony (we were at the very top)
4. The roads are steep (and slippery when it rains) and the steps up to the room can be both fun and quite a task. Thus this place is probably not suitable for the extreme of ages (very young kids and the elderly) or those with heart failure!
5. This place is spanking new. Everything is in the best condition now.
6. The room is spacious with a large comfortable bed, tv area, a kitchen, balcony and the washroom. The cupboards offer really large storage spaces.
7. This is a boutique hotel so you need to heat up the breakfast which is already in the fridge the night before. The coffee is the fresh-pressed type. The quantity is definitely more than adequate and the quality of the food good. Everything else in the fridge is complimentary, including soft drinks and beer...
8. The beach is a short walk from the hotel and the access road is between the Lanai and the Federal hotel. The beach is ok but clean.
9. The spa is not the typical one offered by others. The therapists there mean business. It is more of a treatment rather than a spa. Don't get me wrong. The therapists are really good. They can diagnose your troubled spots and work on them really well (i mean be ready for some hard pressure point massages) but I'm sure you can request for a watered-down version of the traditional-style massage.
10. Location is slightly away from the touristy area (if that is what you want) but not too far if you need to walk there (15-20mins). Don't forget the climb up to your room when you return. Renting a car is probably the best option. By car, Kuah is 20 mins away, Pantai Tengorak (Datai and the Andaman) is 40 mins away and the airport is just a mere 10 mins (good if you are rushing there)

All in all, it was a unique rainforest experience for us, listening to nature's orchestra, secluded away from touristy places and yet within a short walk to the beach. Kudos to the team at Ambong-Ambong and Ishan Spa.

Room Tip: Take the highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpathogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
How nice of you to say all those lovely things about us! Actually your description of Ambong-Ambong could not have been better even if we tried. We take sustainability seriously and only one large tree was cut and earthworks kept to a minimum during the construction. Also all the timber and cane we used came from renewable sources. To be truthful the building took alot longer and cost much more , but we figured it was a small price to pay.

As mentioned in another reply the (electric) buggy service has been extended to midnight so guests dont have to trudge up the hill at night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur, malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our small group of friends unanimously loved our stay at Ambong -Ambong. Service was excellent and Anna the manager certainly adds a great touch of hospitality with her team , Nizam was so friendly and handled our check in efficiently . We stayed in the 2 bedroom bungalow - it was well designed and pleasantly decorated . It had a good kitchenette. A simple daily breakfast is placed in the fridge the night before . Our favorite spot was the balcony as the view is wonderful! The surrounding foliage is lush and natural ..... it was invigorating and peaceful to be surrounded by the green canopy of tall trees . The shy dusky-leaf monkeys made several appearances , traipsing on the branches . In terms of facilities , there's a small swimming pool ( small but clean) and also a deck for yoga ( you can book classes from Langkawi yoga) . Right below Ambong- Ambong , Ishan spa was really good with lovely ambience. There are many steps to climb up to Ambong but don't let it put you off this understated gem as they have a buggy. Also the steps are a great workout ! I really preferred this place to the impersonal hotels. It was like coming to a your own little holiday home after a day out . The downside is it's not beach front . Maybe parking a rented car may be difficult as it's a steep drive up . But it is still a lovely place I wouldn't hesitate to recommend . I would definitely return here! I smile at the thought of it . Kudos to the team at Ambong Ambong.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. As you implied , we try to cater to the more individualistic and discerning travellers who appreciate solitude, enjoy nature, into yoga and natural remedies.
We have already started promoting packages which include yoga, meditation, Ayurvedic massage and healthy life styles. Keep in touch as there may be something there that may be suitable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Recently stayed at Ambong Ambong for 2 nights. We were on a family holiday (me, hubby, his sister and her boyfriend - no kids). We and were all booked into the nearby Holiday Villa which incidentally was terrible, we checked out early and luckily managed to get all 4 of us into at Ambong Ambong. Anna the manager was amazing - giving us great advice of restaurants, bars, beaches and things to do on the island which we did all of and were never disappointed by her advice. Her recommendations absolutely made our holiday better than we would have experienced if left to our own devices. The villas are up a very steep hill / steps but don't let that put you off. They have buggy's to help you with luggage etc. The rooms are stylish and modern, comfortable and well built. They leave breakfast in your fridge, fresh bread, fruit, juices, homemade jams and fresh coffee so you can enjoy it on your balcony at your leisure, the only guests being a family of friendly monkey's in the surrounding forest. Beautiful and well thought out apartments, great bathrooms and comfy beds. In summary, great value for money and if you don't mind being a short walk from the beach - then would highly recommend a stay here. We hired a car for a cheap price and take Anna's advice on the best beaches on the island to visit. Wish them all the best and would definitely come and stay again if we ever come back to Langkwai. PS. The staff were SO AMAZING - can't rate them highly enough. My husband accidentally broke a window and they were so lovely about it and it was fixed within the hour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbieLightbulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
The Ambong team is pleased that you think so highly of the hospitality that you experienced. Thank you. We do offer a completely different style of hosting based on being small and very personal.
Even if I say so myself the team is very experienced and committed to looking after our ‘house’ guests. We are also extremely lucky to have Anna as the head. With her formal training and experience in the business she has been able to add her Gallic charm and efficiency to the natural warmth of Malaysians to give our guests a comfortable, caring and memorable stay. Many have commented on this very warmly.
(En passant I should like to mention that you were not the first, nor, we hope, the last, to flee from the nearby hotels and sought refuge with us.)
Please visit Langkawi again and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
8.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
2.0 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,317 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
11.4 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambong Ambong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambong Ambong

Property: Ambong Ambong
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambong Ambong 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambong Ambong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing