We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rain forest retreat with willing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambong Ambong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambong Ambong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Rain forest retreat with willing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I enjoyed a three night stay at Ambong Ambong with my wife and baby daughter. It was our third trip to Langkawi but our first vacation with the baby.
Although children aren't recommended due to the steep and slippery (when raining) slopes they were relaxed about our 6 month old staying and even brought us a baby bath - how thoughtful.
A golf buggy is available at all times to take you (and your luggage) to & from the rooms which is useful, however the walk down the hill would be fine for most people and gives you a chance to see the plentiful exotic wildlife (two types of monkey, tropical birds, giant squirrels).
The service is extremely personal. There's no in-room telephone of switchboard but you're given a mobile phone and can basically text the staff at any time.
We were collected and dropped off at the airport and driven to restaurants which the staff had recommended. On one occasion we waited in the air conditioned vehicle while the driver went in to check if they had any free tables (they didn't) before we tried somewhere else. All of this was free of charge and undertaken cheerfully.
The rooms themselves are very well appointed and 'boutiquey' in style. Antique furniture, Japanese tatami mats, a huge bed with expensive cotton sheets. Eating the homemade bread and fresh local fruit as part of our (complimentary) breakfast on the balcony was a highlight.
When we visited the (apparently excellent) Japanese restaurant was closed for the week so we were a little stuck when it came to lunch and dinner. Ambong Ambong could be improved by having a small cafe or at least a limited room service menu with 3 or 4 items which tired, jetlagged or just plain lazy guests could enjoy! I can picture it now .. a couple of salads, couple of sandwiches and some smoothies and soft drinks!
In summary this hotel represents excellent value, provides a unique experience and allows guests to enjoy a very relaxing retreat in a jungle setting which is still only 5mins walk from the scenic beach. The service more than makes up for the minor shortcomings. It's only 6 months since opening I was told and imagine the staff are sharpening up the operation each week.
Keep it up and thanks!

Room Tip: Higher rooms give you a more panoramic view into the jungle, you can also see the sea from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for the appreciative comments about our staff. We are lucky to have a young and well motivated team who are happy to go the extra mile for our guests. Arafat sends you his greetings and thanks you for your generosity.
Our rooms are designed to be different from the usual, comfortable without being lavish or ostentatious, while complimenting the beautiful jungle setting. The large balconies were to enable our guests to spend time lazing outside and appreciate the tree canopy.
The comments about the limited room service is noted and we are working on it and hopefully by your next trip we would be able to look after your needs better.
Incidentally, there is a small internal debate going on at present: do we trim some of the trees to give a better view of the sea or do we allow the foliage to obscure the view. We would be happy to receive your feedback.
Thank you for staying with us and please visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    48
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
77
309
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S'pore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Value for money stay after enjoying.40% off..agree that the climb is quite tiring so better not have too big luggages. They do have the golf cabby vehicle to do the climb..surprised by the airport transfer service, though we rented car.at airport itself. Nice studio with outdooor dinning table..didnt dare to eat outside though..breakfast is simple, rain shower, astro tv, friendly staffs, the experience was great!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon and it was so relaxing.
We received an email once the booking was made to confirm our flight details as they would provide a complimentary airport pick up. Sure enough our driver was waiting for us at arrivals, even though we were delayed by an hour.

On arrival Anna met us at our room to complete the check in as it was late. They were very throughful and supplied us with a platter of fresh sushi which had come from the Japanese restaurant which was onsite and a bottle of wine which was a very nice surprise. We were provided with a mobile phone to call if we needed assistance at all and also a map and information about various things around the sland. There is also a spa located on site as well.

As mentioned location of the retreat is on a hill so it is steep. A golf cart is provided but the only time we seen it in use was to transport room service. It isn't too bad but if you have mobility problems I would reconsider staying here. The rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable with plenty of storage, airconditioning, ceiling fan, good lighting and beautiful furnishings. The bed is huge and comfortable with quality linen The kitchen is a good size and off this there is a balcony, with a fan and great views, and you might even spot a cheeky monkey or two if you don't spot them you will definitley hear them. Something missing from out room, obviously not essential, were cotton robes and slippers. I noticed there were sarongs hanging up which is a nice touch but a robe would be a lot easier.

Breakfast is supplied each night to your refrigerator. It was fresh and tasty but on the third day I did feel like an omlete or something cooked (maybe I had a few too many cocktails the night before)! Breakfast consisted of fresh orange juice, fruit, bread/pastries, cerial and yoghurt.

My only suggestion to the staff would be to perhaps develop the pool area a bit more. There were two sunloungers there but maybe a table and chairs with a large umbrella would be quite nice and a waterproof box/cupboard of some kind with some towels if needed. Quite often we would come back from town and want a swim or on our way out to town decided we felt like a swim but couldn't be bothered walking back up all the steps to our room!

The location is good, away from the town but close enough to get in if you want to be part of the action. We hired a scooter for the duration of our stay and got around most of the island on it while we were there. At night we just left it next to the spa/pool area.

The staff were extremely friendly and offered us an airport drop off too. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanayaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Anna likes to give couples on their honeymoon a bit of a special treatment, so what you received is not unusual and we are glad that you appreciated it.
We are working on the pool area to make it more inviting even at this very moment and in a matter of weeks there should be a noticeable improvement. We thought a sarong, for the lady, and a fisherman’s trousers, for the gentleman, is a nice local touch, but if a bathrobe is what our guests prefer, we will be happy to oblige. A cooked breakfast is on the cards.
Please come again in the very near future and this time let us know in advance if you want anything special. We will be happy to oblige.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We arrived on Langkawi a day earlier than expected so booked in here for one night. Anna, kindly let the five of travelling share the two bedroom cottage and also upgraded us. The cottage could not be faulted it was gorgeous. They have thought of everything. The bathrooms were enormous and the place was spotlessly clean and really spacious. They even provide a local mobile in case you need any assistance on the island.

The staff were a delight and so helpful....not a single fault.

The resort is lovely, but it is on a very steep hill so it would not suit anyone with mobility problems or those who dont like animals as there are plenty monkeys and lizards etc. I only wish our next experience @ villa del porto had been a fifth as good..(review to follow). Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angeldust56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
We thought that giving our guests a local handphone would be helpful. In our own travels, we found that while buying a local telephone card is easy enough , changing the sim cards forward and backwards an irritating hassle, and not to mention how expensive network roaming can be. I am glad you found it useful.
When we were planning the resort we were conscious that we were going to be the intruders and that the trees, plants, animals and birds are the rightful occupants. An early decision was taken that there should be the minimum intervention and disruption of the environment. In the event it proved to be a costly decision both in financial terms and the time taken, but the result has given our guests enormous pleasure.
A lot of people have commented that the location of our retreat is very steep but we have an electric buggy and driver on standby for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Its a forest resort you may have to try... Quiet & Privacy....but you must rent a car!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricMontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Like you, most of our guests enjoy the coolness and the serenity of Ambong-Ambong that is in sharp contrast with the nearby busy tourist areas.
Currently we are doing enhancement plantings and concentrating on trees and shrubs that will attract birds and butterflies. (Incidentally, you may like to know that Langkawi has more than 500 species of butterflies, more than many large countries). It will, of course, take time for the plants to mature and for the insects to take up residence, but before too long we will have a small butterfly and bird sanctuary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

"Ambong Ambong gave me such a feeling of serenity. I loved the wilderness, the sound of the wild birds, the jungle creatures, the wind, the silence - it was so peaceful and beautiful away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. I came back refreshed and relaxed, at one with the world. The only thing I'd do differently next time is to stay at the resort for the entire holiday, only leaving for delicious meals in some of the local restaurants. This opportunity to stay in such beautiful natural surroundings should not be missed."

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sakun_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

This review is coming a few months late but it had to be written. The lovely studios perch you up among the treeline, offering you a high panoramic view of the lush surroundings and the sea in the distance. The accommodation was modern and truly comfortable. But one of the highlights had to be having monkeys scurrying about just behind us in the forest, up the hill's slope, and hornbills (over 8 i counted) chattering just above us in the trees above our unit. Maybe it was Nature's own way of welcoming us. Wishing this lovely new retreat all the best, can't see it go wrong with it's fantastic location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan_Shori, Owner at Ambong Ambong, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for the review; coming some time after your visit makes it even more significant and meaningful.

We are glad that you appreciated the jungle and our co-inhabitants . Being a family of tree-huggers we were determined to minimise the impact on the natural environment when building the retreat, even though it meant that we had to pay a penalty both in higher costs and delays. It was worth-while though and most of our guests enjoy the pristine surroundings.

Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
8.3 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
8.2 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
11.8 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambong Ambong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambong Ambong

Property: Ambong Ambong
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambong Ambong 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Ambong Ambong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing