We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic- but good for budget travellers and close to Pantai Cenang.”
Review of Desa Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desa Terrace
Ranked #64 of 150 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Basic- but good for budget travellers and close to Pantai Cenang.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for one night at Desa Terrace on a stopover from the Thai Islands to Penang. We struggled to find reasonably priced accommodation in Langkawi and at $23 a night Desa Terrace had good reviews so we thought we'd give it a go.

We arrived at about 7pm after an all day transfer from Ko Kradan. When we got there there were a load of locals hanging out in the main reception area on the sofas watching TV and no clear indication of who we should speak to, and no-one seemed to acknowledge us. My partner walked up to the office and tried to doors to the reception office but it was locked, then one of the guys asked if we wanted to check in and we said we did.

He disappeared to get the keys to the office and let us in to sit down. He didn't speak much english so we weren't really sure what was happening, but we had to wait for about 20 minutes in awkward silence until a lady turned up to get us to fill out registration forms to check in. The lack of a friendly welcome just made us feel a bit awkward but just the case of a bit of a language barrier I think.

The room itself was very clean and had plenty of space. It was a bit sparse so did feel a bit cold and clinical but we really weren't expecting too much luxury for the price. We were up on the second floor and it was nice and quiet as well despite being near the main road. There was a shower room and separate toilet which were both spotless as well. The only slight let down for us was the weird towel-sheets we encountered in a few places in Malaysia. Like a large, very thin towel instead of a top sheet, but it only just covered the bed and meant my other half and I were fighting over it all night long!

The walk to the closest restaurants and shops took us about 15 minutes along the main road.

Overall we had a pleasant stay, for one night it was fine but probably would've looked for a few more home comforts if we'd have been staying for longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    17
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is new and very near to Pantai Cenang. Everything is clean and most importantly the it is value for money. Suitable for budget travelers and backpackers. There is malay eateries nearby (walking distance) or you may find lot of variety of Foods at the pantai Cenang area (only 3 minutes drive or by bike).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndelle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place is very nice and clean, we can have a BBQ party celebration at there since there has barbeque facilities. The price is cheaper too. It only want to take 10 mins walk from a local eatery and a 5 mins drive from Pantai Cenang,

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam85_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

It is located near to pantai cenang (the famous beach in langkawi)...which means you can go to the beach whenever you want without worrying about your transportation.Just take a few minutes walk and enjoy the scenery. The hotel is clean and value for money. If you choose not to go to the beach, you can actually 'hide' inside the hotel to surf the net as they provide free wi-fi. Besides that, you can plan to have a barbecue dinner over here as they have the barbecue facilities...The staffs are friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 834ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The place is nice and clean!
And the price is cheap too. Nearby to Pantai Cenang, need to spend only 3 minutes of short distances to reach there, convenience for us.
We have enjoy the great BBQ party too!
Must check it out!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K_H10K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.4 mi away
Hotel Langkasuka
Hotel Langkasuka
#61 of 104 in Langkawi
98 reviews
69.2 mi away
Hotel Helang Langkawi
Hotel Helang Langkawi
#42 of 104 in Langkawi
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Baron Water Front
The Baron Water Front
#11 of 22 in Kuah
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Langkawi Baron Hotel
Langkawi Baron Hotel
#86 of 150 in Langkawi
17 reviews
7.8 mi away
Season Inn Langkawi
Season Inn Langkawi
#30 of 150 in Langkawi
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langgura Baron Resort
Langgura Baron Resort
#89 of 150 in Langkawi
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desa Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Terrace

Property: Desa Terrace
Address: Lot-5, Kg Padang Putih, Jalan Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Desa Terrace 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short drive away from Pantai Cenang Beach Langkawi, Desa Terrace is a name with a difference. The hotel is close to the local attraction making it an ideal destination for family getaway and budget travellers. The hotel also has BBQ area and equipped with free WIFI. We provide the tours services such as: Round Island Tour, Payar Island, Island Hopping, Mangroves and etc. We also provide Cars, Motorcycles and Bicycles for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Desa Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing