We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went twice. Value for money”

Palm View Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #203 of 423 Restaurants in Langkawi
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went twice. Value for money”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Wanted to try Orkid Ria which is located opposite but it was much more expensive. Settled for Palm View. Very simple restaurant, reasonable priced. Enjoy our food

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ystan19122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    41
    29
    16
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quality does not justify price”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Read thru some reviews and realized that this place has no consistency.There were good and bad experiences. Well, my experience with them was horrible. Took us forever to get their attention. And when the second dish arrived, our Chinese tea hasn't. How hard is it to dunk in some tea leaves into hot water??? The food came really really slowwww. We finished our rice and majority of the dishes have not arrived. Some of the staff were pretty rude to us. Yes we understand you have lots to do but no need for rudeness.

Food was ok nothing great and the servings were rather small. The highlight of the evening was the BILL. There were 8 of us so we roughly estimated the price. Seeing that it was a seafood restaurant with fresh seafood, we ordered fish and the portion was enough for two people.And that tiny little anchovy came up to a whooping RM 80! We have eaten in various seafood restaurants and RM 80 usually can be shared by 5 people. But it is really to expensive and the quality of the food does not justify their prices. Understand that it is a tourisy spot but why the cut throat prices? Locals dine there too. Well not all our food and drinks came but it was still stated in our bill and again we had to wave our hands till our arms hurt to get someones attention.

Sigh. Well i know im never going back there again. It looked very promising form the outside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreidaFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice & Affordable Price”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The location is by the road side, you can easily spotted the restaurant as it has a red signage. The food is affordable, cheaper compared to other similar restaurants and sells great Chinese dishes. The staff is friendly and best part is the waiting time for food is short, you can enjoy your pipping hot meal in average of 5-10 minutes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank stefway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good seafood served in a local style restaurant”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a great evening of Seafood here. Don't be put off by the local restaurant appearance. Compared to its posh upmarket neighbour ,it may have plastic chairs & concrete floors, but their staff are knowledgable and helpful about the live seafood in the tanks along the back wall, & how best to serve it.
Another good seafood restaurant along Cenang Beach

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raze1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cenang Beach Seafood; Valued for money”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I spent two nights and had Chinese seafood dinner at Cenang beach area.

It was great that we managed to try this on the last night.
The staff were very friendly and got us seated very soon.
Compared with the seafood menu and pricing with the one we had the night before nearby across the street , which obviously much reasonable rate.
Comparing with the few restaurant for affordable Chinese seafood meal, worth to check this out.

We ordered for crab and vege. It was tasted good, though we might have to be patience due to the crowd.
Overall, this restaurant valued for money and glad that we tried.

I will definitely return to this as my first choice when I'm back to Cenang beach for seafood dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shannenlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm View Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Palm View Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing