We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with lovely staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel with lovely staff!”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days in February 2012 and loved it. The rooms were nice, the staff friendly, breakfast great (and there was plenty of it, contrary to a previous review), and the location good. It's located about 300m from one end of the main strip in Cenang beach. The lady at the tour desk was super helpful, even going out of her way to give us a lift to the closest atm. Sure, you pay about 10MYR more for the tours from her than what you might elsewhere, but for the ease and convenience, it's totally worth it.

Thanks for a great stay, Fave hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaveHotelLangkawi, Public Relations Manager at favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thanks Nick! We are so happy to hear you had a good time. Yes, we do try to keep a nice variety of breakfast options for our guests which are rotated and include a range of main courses, cereals, egg station, fresh fruit platters, salad, cold cuts, toast and jams with local kaya, and juices. Thanks for your compliments to our tour desk representative, and the other staff in the hotel. We always aim to be fun, fresh and friendly in all we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    327
    212
    58
    61
See reviews for
181
349
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

+ Good location close to resturants, bars & shops.
+Nice pool area.
+Nice straff.
+Cheap.

-Rooms are not cleaned properly. Lots of dust and hair under the beds. Bathroom not clean.
-Noisy rooms on the front side of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank God-co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FaveHotelLangkawi, Public Relations Manager at favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for staying at Fave Hotel Langkawi. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the pool and the location of our hotel. We really appreciate you for taking the time to write and share your experience during your stay recently. We sincerely apologize that there were some spots which weren't properly cleaned by our staff. We will address the issue in our top list of improvements as our guest satisfaction is our top priority. I do personally hope to welcome you back for another stay at our hotel during your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Location: about 5-10min walk to Cenang beach, convenient store across the road & eatery next door serving Malay style cooking.

Room: Stayed in double room. Clean, facing the hill, flat screen tv with entertainment channels, safe box, 2 water bottles, 2 bath towels, free wifi, comes with breakfast and body foam only.

Reception: Took 10 minutes to check in which is ok for me, staff was friendly.

Breakfast: Bread, baked beans, omelet/scrambled egg, sausages and the likes. Fried noodles and nasi lemak. (These were served during my two days stay so not too sure if menu may have more varieties)

Facilities: swimming pool, bar & lounge, water dispenser & free parking

Hope this helps! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glyfir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I also was first put off by the negative reviews of this hotel, but on arrival, the staff were prompt, and my booking was confirmed and our bags stored in their secure lockup. we were surprised to be given breakfast vouchers as we had not wanted them as we would be eating out. the room is basic but well you get what you pay for, the pool is nice if a bit shallow, and the closing time is a bit early. they need a few more loungers around it, but the water is clean. the corridors are an echo chamber but one of the duty managers informed me that they were to be carpeted which should cut down the noise considerably. I could not fault the staff, they are friendly and the bar staff in particular, were helpful, they know where to eat and nothing was too difficult. The rooms do not have a fridge, which is something that they should maybe address, but again when i asked to store a can of drink they told me that they would keep it in the bar fridge. and on one occasion they just swapped it for a cold one from their stock. the rooms were made up everyday and they took particular attention in folding all our clothing which we had left on our bags. we also left things out and they were not disturbed and we felt that our valuables were safe.

I think most of the negative comments were due to other guests more than the staff or the hotel. it was noisy, yes, but again it was other guests that made it so. If you are friendly to the staff, you will not have any problems, they are polite to a point, and the hotel is clean and new. it was rushed into service and there are a few things that need to be fixed up but on the whole for the price it is nice.

Room Tip: One tip, get to breakfast early, the menu is limited and if you get there late do not expect to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cob427sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Reading the other reviews for this hotel made me a bit anxious as our date of travel approached and was seriously contemplating getting a "back up" hotel. However, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and checked in - we arrived in the morning, but were told that the rooms would only be available in the afternoon. This is expected as our stay was during the "super peak" season of Chinese New Year and we were ok with the arrangement. However, we registered first and when we returned in the afternoon, everything was ready and we just proceeded to our room immediately!
The room was very nice, a bit small, but does not give you the "claustophobic" feeling as it was compensated with nice big windows which allowed natural light in to brighten up the room. It was a very basic room, very clean, with complimentary water provided (replenished everyday during our stay!), clean towels, toothbrush and a soap dispenser for muti-purpose use! We had a flat screen LCD TV that had on top of local channels, there were additional iew, documentary and news channels too.
In terms of facilities, the hotel has a nice pool and it was really nice to just chill and relax at the end of each day when we returned after a full day outing around the island. There is also a coffee house that serves reasonable food and also a bar that makes interesting cocktails & drinks! That was the highlight of our stay as drinks are relatively cheap here and we tried as many cocktails as possible, all by the poolside!!!
I would defintely recommend this place to my friends as its near enough to the beach (i.e. pantai cenang) and also other restaurants along Pantai Cenang itself. I also recommend the "nasi lemak bungkus" from the stall just across the road from the hotel - they have all sorts of "lauk" (e.g. daging kicap, chicken curry, ikan bilis and telur, fish curry, etc) for RM1.20 per pack! Yum Yum!!!!!

Room Tip: If possible, choose the rooms that face the back of the hotel - nice view of grassy land and a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pckgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during Chinese New Year, we had a lovely stay and were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. Breakfast was included in the stay and the food was very good with a selection of cereal, toast, cold meat, fruit, cheese, cooked items (hash browns, sausages, beans, rice, noodles) and a great egg counter with a chef cooking any egg dish you wanted! The omelettes were great & you had a choice of adding extras into it. We also had dinner there and that too was very good food! The restaurant looks out to the pool which was also a good size & had comfortable sun loungers around it. Views of the surrounding area were lovely. The bar has comfy seating and a couple of TV's offering sports on ESPN, movies, news etc & the bar staff would be happy to change the channel for you. The strip full of shops & bars was only a 10 min walk from the hotel and Cenang beach was just beyond that. The hotel will also happily order you taxis too. I agree that the walls are thin but that didn't prevent us sleeping, just a few early risers or late night party goers could be heard sometimes. The rooms were comfy, had TV offering English channels with sports & movies. Desk and good lighting & a safe. Wardrobe area was not very big but satisfactory. The bathroom was a good size & shower/toilet both worked. Overall we had a very good stay & would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljomaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donggongon, Sabah, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

- front desk associates need more training.look like dont know how to use computer...c in need to wait 45 minutes even though only us in the recepction counter....
-room nice,but more better if any kettle in the room,quality of linen was good...

Overall- alll staff very friendly

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbdye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.9 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
480 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
0.5 mi away
Nadias Hotel
Nadias Hotel
#17 of 103 in Langkawi
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Agate Beach Resort
Royal Agate Beach Resort
#24 of 103 in Langkawi
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi

Property: favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Address: Lot 119, Mukim Padang Mat Sirat Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fave hotel Cenang Beach is a hotel located in Cenang Beach in Langkawi, Malaysia. It is the first of its kind on the island to offer such a perfect mix of style, functionality and good value. Leisure and business travelers not only have the beautiful beach at their fingertips but also a selection of facilities on site to accommodate them during their stay. Enjoy tasty snacks at the eclectic coffee shop, relax at the bar and lounge, soak in the sun at the swimming pool and roof top sundeck, or indulge in a spa treatment. Throughout the hotel is free WiFi as well as meeting rooms available for all your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing