We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not good Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Hello, we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights:
The hotel is quite new so the room is pretty clean and well furnished.

Location: not non the beach, 10 minutes walk to Pentai Cenang or Pentai Terngah beaches
If you have a room with a view on the main road, it could be pretty noisy at night because of the traffic

Breakfast: awful, very few choices, nothing tasty...

Swimming pool quite dirty, people used to swim with their clothes!!!

Choose this hotel only if you look for affordable lodging during the peak season near the beach in Pentai Cenang

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with a view on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricardoyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    319
    205
    54
    61
See reviews for
174
341
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We enjoyed our 4-night stay in Fave hotel in Langkawi very much. Its a new and affordable budget hotel (compared to other options) situated on a 5-7 minutes walk to the Cenang and Tengah beaches.

Rooms are clean, all staff is very friendly, breakfast buffet has European and Malay options. Best of all is the big swimming pool in the back. We did not experience slow check-in/out procedure, as was mentioned in other reviews (but would otherwise not be bothered by that anyway). We would come back here for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Fave is a new and average hotel. Many things seems to be unsettled yet because of their new operation. but i think this hotel will do good after some time when they have some experience. The location is nice. Though not just beside the beach but its 5 mins walk from the pantai cenang beach.

My room was on the 3rd floor facing the hill side of the hotel. The view was nice specially in the morning. Free wifi was good.

They dont have any freeze which I missed the most. No Electric kettle either. I had kid with me. However, you can take hot water from common passage in every floor.

Complementary breakfast was not that good. I stayed there for 3 days and i noticed breakfast situation was getting better each day. The first morning the guy who was preparing the eggs was so novice that there was a pile of damaged eggs just beside him. During each egg preparation, he was shaking his head. A scene hard to forget. The next morning that guy was replaced and it was fine.

The staffs were friendly. They have free parking also.

Room Tip: Take the hill view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAddictBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at Fave for 3 nights in the new year. The hotel is modern and new and met expectations while being pleasantly surprising. We weren't sure what to expect when booking as we could only find 2 reviews for this new resort. On arrival the hotel was larger than expected and the pool area much nicer than the photographs. The restaurant opens out to the pool and the pool area has loungers and such while looking out to the countryside. The dinner we had on the first night was nice and reasonable, the breakfast the next morning was ok however cold, but you could have eggs or omelettes freshly made for you. The rooms are modern and comfortable. The linen is beautiful. The rooms also have large flat screen tv with movie channel. I agree with another reviewer that the staff could do with a little more training as they couldn't help with tourist things in the area.

The beach is just down the road and beautiful in the evening for the sunset. It is also really cool to watch or partake in the parasailing there in the evening. We also hired a scooter and drove right around the island. The cable car and sky bridge were my highlight with incredible views and we took amazing photos. We also did a day trip of snorkeling to Pulau Payar with Coral Island. That was great fun but our backs did get burnt so watch out for that in the water. Our favorite place to eat was Tomato Nasi Kandar... it is a must visit! Extremely busy and delicious.

We enjoyed our stay but there are still things they could work on. We would have appreciated a small fridge in the room. Also I think the bathroom floor was not as clean as I would expect - a cheap matter to sort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nznw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

The rooms are so small, you can not move around, inefficient room service. Buffet breakfast was ok, but were cold.

Go for this hotel only if you dont have any other options.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rejiplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

I feel compelled to write this review, my first, after reading the poor reviews for this hotel. I've also lost over a hundred pounds by booking an expensive hotel nearby because we were concerned at the previous reviews. This place is absolutely fine. It's a new hotel so very modern, and It's clean too. We booked a deluxe room as its was only about 10 more, and we wanted to make sure it was ok.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bell1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in december and it was a complete disaster from start to finish.

We did not expect 4 or 5 star luxury or facilities just normal functioning things and we are aware that new hotels have some things to sort out but our experience went far over what can be considered as acceptable.

This is going to be a long review as I really need to make clear all the issues with this hotel.

I highly suspect the hotel was rushed to be open for LIMA 2011 (Langkawi International Maritime and Aerospace Exhibition DEC 6 - 11) and as a result there are a lot of faults with the hotel.

Some reviewers said staff are not helpful, this is not true they try to help but just do not know how things operate or a lack of leadership/management.

At check-in we had to wait 45 minutes as no one on duty really knew how to operate the reservation/computer system, even though they had a folder/drawer with all the days arrivals on it.

We had reserved a standard room and found this was at the front of the hotel which is on a main road, due to the noise we asked for a room at the back of the hotel.

We were issued a new key card but when we went to the new room, it again was at the front of the hotel, after another trip to the reception and waiting 15 minutes we had a room at the back of the hotel, we later found that standard rooms are at the front and superior rooms are at the rear, only difference is the size.

Rooms:

No hotel info sheet or booklet, no telephone dialing information - we assumed reception was 0.

The rooms are ok for size but the installation workmanship and quality of the fittings are very poor/cheap and the room layout appears to have had no thought.

First view was squashed bugs on the wall - nice!

There are no wardrobes in the rooms, only a very small coat rail about 60cm in length so you either have to squeeze all your clothes onto the few hangars or put your clothes on the table or keep them in your bags.

The key card holder and power switch is behind the door so you have to fiddle around in the dark to put the key card in.

Airconditioning - The aircon switches off after 30 minutes and can not be switched on again unless you remove the key card from the power switch, wait 5 minutes and re insert the key card, it then runs for another 30 mins.

The aircon was never able to cool the room meaning it was hot and stuffy all the time. Reception said its the same with all the units in the hotel as they have been programmed like this and other guests confirmed have confirmed the timer function.

During our stay the room was never cleaned despite asking each day at reception and clearly stating the problems. When we arrived in the room i had to clean the shower before I could use it - the drain point was covered in a thick amount of hair as was the floor of the bathroom, the drain cover was also rusting away after only 3 weeks of hotel operation. - see photo.

The bathroom mirror was sprayed with toothpaste and the floor under the basin had various pieces of toilet paper and dirt on the floor from last guests.

You can imagine the condition of the drinking glasses in the bathroom!

Behind the toilet there was a large puddle of water and lots of dirt and hair and another rusting drain cover

The floor of the room had various dead flies and lots of dirt.

No rubbish bin was in the room or bathroom - one was brought when requested (taken from the corridor!)

when we asked for the room to be cleaned the standard answer was if we wanted to change rooms .... no, we just want the room cleaned.

Room key cards: we soon learned if you are out of your room for more than 1 hour you need to have the key card reprogrammed again, we were not the only people that were having the keys reprogrammed, we even had new cards but the problem was the same.

It came to the point where guests didnt even have to ask for the cards to be programmed, the staff just asked for the room number as guests approached the reception.

There are also no hair dryers in the rooms, the hotel has 3 or 4 dryers at reception but these were never available.

The door of the room had losts of building dirt still on it - how hard is it to wipe the door with a wet cloth?

DO NOT expect to sleep well at this hotel as you can hear everything that goes on in the hotel, you can hear people moving light switches, there is constant piped music in the corridors which is easily heard in the rooms, you hear people walking in the corridor as if you had your door open and you can even hear people going to the toilet in rooms above/next to you!

One factor is the room door has a large gap at the bottom allowing all noises to enter the room

On one occasion we had the piped music playing thru a speaker in the roof of the room for an hour, staff were not able to turn this off!

Breakfast: Fair selectionof items but when things run out they are not restocked, guests had to always ask for fresh items to be brought, the milk cooler for tea/coffea and cereals was empty for more than 1 hour as was the fruit juice. Some days only water was available - no juice as they had run out.

The only fresh fruit available is water melon and when its gone from the tray, you again have to ask and wait for more than 30 minutes before its restocked.

This happened every single day, it was not just a single occasion.

We came once just after 0930 and virtually nothing was left of breakfast, people were miling around looking for the last pieces on display.

It is possible to get an omlette and these appeared to be ready in a few minutes.
Breakfast runs from 0700-1100.

Pool: pool is quit large but not deep, but it is possible to have a proper swim. There is a small childrens shallow section and the pool appeared to be clean. There are about 6 sun loungers but only 2 covered day beds. No sun shades were available during our time and there is no natural shade, there is also no grass area to sit, just concrete or block. There are 3 pool showers and a mixed sex toilet block which was clean.

One day the 2 day beds were missing, they came back the next day, hotel staff didnt know where the beds had gone.

The hotel is located in Pantai Tenga, which is a 10 minute walk to the start of pantai cenang. The closest beach is Pantai Tenga which is at the dead end section of road 5 minutes from the hotel, the beach is not great and recommend to walk the extra and go to pantai cenang.

There is a small market across from the hotel and another few minutes away.
There is a laundry service across from the hotel for 4RM per kilo and it takes 1 day to get the clothes back.

The hotel needs to make some major changes to its operation or change the management as its clearly not working the way it should and sort out the most basic of issues.

retrain staff in basic operation of the hotel
properly clean the rooms, not just make the beds, there are vacuum cleaners but they were not used!
review the breakfast service
sort out the constant problem with the room key cards
remove the timer from the airconditioning units
review the constant noise in rooms from the hallways and piped music.
turn off or reduce the volume of piped music in the room corridors

I would never recommend anyone to stay at a fave hotel based on this experience.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any other questions but I think I have covered everything.

Room Tip: room at rear do not have road noise during the night but you will be kept awake anyway by all the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank fluff34567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
8.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.6 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
1.7 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.3 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi

Property: favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
Address: Lot 119, Mukim Padang Mat Sirat Jalan Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fave hotel Cenang Beach is a hotel located in Cenang Beach in Langkawi, Malaysia. It is the first of its kind on the island to offer such a perfect mix of style, functionality and good value. Leisure and business travelers not only have the beautiful beach at their fingertips but also a selection of facilities on site to accommodate them during their stay. Enjoy tasty snacks at the eclectic coffee shop, relax at the bar and lounge, soak in the sun at the swimming pool and roof top sundeck, or indulge in a spa treatment. Throughout the hotel is free WiFi as well as meeting rooms available for all your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing