We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good omelettes!”
Review of Cactus Restaurant

Cactus Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 426 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good omelettes!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This place doesn't look like much from the outside, with its zinc rooftop and rustic wooden furniture. The menu also looks worn and the lamination peeling off. However, do not be fooled, as the quality of the food is stellar.

The omelettes here are their specialty. They taste amazing. For those who wish to try some local taste, I would recommend the curry laksa, which is probably a westernized version of the Malaysian dish. The taste was unlike any laksa I have tasted, but delicious.

The price is also very reasonable to boot. While I had assumed that the place would be hot due to the zinc rooftops, it was surprisingly cooling inside. Definitely one of the hidden gems of Langkawi.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ninjawarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    217
    51
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zwijndrecht
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the place to be for a good diner!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great local restaurant at Chenang Lankawi. ( at the opposite of Holiday Villa Hotel) Very nice people and great food!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So good we eat here daily!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We had breakfast here daily as it appeared to be the best value for the best quality that we found. The service was always faultless. The pancakes were my favourite, but everything else we tried was also really good. It was one of the few restaurants that we seen that was always busy. A little gem not to be missed.

Helpful?
1 Thank nata1ie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Thank you to tripadvisor we found Cactus in 2011. We took a short walk across the road from Holiday Villa for breakfast. Something for everyone including vegetarians, service with a smile and we made good use of this place again on our last trip. Around RM15 for breakfast much more reasonable than the RM50 at the hotel.
A good place for a beer in the afternoon and enjoyed dining there in the evening also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enzeders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return Customer!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Its a great place to go with friends, order small dishes and share. MUST TRY the barracuda, i have it every time i go there, delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissC0les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Restaurant also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Cactus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing