We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfasts, great service”
Review of Cactus Restaurant

Cactus Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 426 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts, great service”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in the Holiday Villa over the road and came here 4 mornings out of 6. Each time the welcoming service was great and the quaility of the food was excellent. (Incidentally, we went to Tomato, further north in Pantai Cenang for roti canai on the other 2 mornings which was equally good).

It is very laid back and they run on "island time" so do not expect super-quick service (which we didn't) and just enjoy the ambience and the company that you are in.

We didn't even bother with breakfasts in Holiday Villa when we had such a great place like Cactus right over the road.

Will definitely return when we are in Langkawi next.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Romford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    217
    51
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Drinks”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had a few drinks there one night, really cheap beer at 5-6RM. They don’t have spirits on the menu BUT if you ask the guys behind the bar they will say 10RM for any spirit with any mixer you want. Really good if you want a few cheap drinks and to just sit and relax after a long day

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SK3986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast is long waiting”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have been dine at Cactus few times before for dinner and this round i have tried the Breakfast. The dinner is served by chinese but the breakfast is by malays. the breakfast food is nice but the service is not that good. Maybe the staff there don't like to serve local(malaysian chinese), our order n food is always slower than foreigner, it made us feel that we are not welcoming.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ismewlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast place for Holiday Villa guests”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff, prompt service, cheap. Great breakfast, no complaints, much better than buffet across the road at Holiday Villa

Very cool feel to the place, breakfast shack id call it. went there every morning once we discovered it, maximum bill was 30MYR (£5) for breakfast with toast, juice and coffee for two

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyrmont, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service, ok food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Small shack selling western meals, cheap prices, we waited an hour for our food :S

Food was decent, nothing to rave about but that's what we were expecting

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Restaurant also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Cactus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing