We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cactus Restaurant

Cactus Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 422 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful staff”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Would recommend this place to anyone. Such nice people, great food and cold beer. What more could you want!
We had breakfast and dinner here, both are run by seperate people, so very diverse from morning to night. Highly recommend the duck and fish, so fresh and a lot of different ways to cook.
The staff are wonderful and for a newcomer to the island, very helpful. We got some great tips from John on what to see and do.
Every night we went there they would have our drinks and table ready, also some repellent as mosquitos are a big nuisance on this island and the coils didn't always cut it.
This place caters for all tastes and has a pretty extensive menu.
Do not miss if staying in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank deeelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    201
    50
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miramont-de-Guyenne, Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap, yummy”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were staying at the hotel over the road and tried 3 of the restaurants opposite it. The Cactus was only 1 min stroll from the hotel. We had a great vevening meal - as much as we could eat for about 8 euros each! Very friendly staff, suitably tatty surroundings (wouldn't want anything else!) and absolutely no hurry! We had breakfast there also, but weren't so impressed. The sausages were kind of, um, sweet! In fact, everything was sweet, even the scrambled egg! However, it was cheap and filling before setting off for the airport. As to the kitchen..... wouldn't dream of looking in ANY kitchen in Malaysia - we might starve!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
184 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were staying across the road and would walk across each morning for breakfast. This place has great service, the meals are a good size, it is priced well, it is fresh and there is a great deal to choose from. Yes, it's rough and rustic, but this is Langkawi. Try the Framers Breakfast and the Borneo omelette are worth a try..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank choobsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went to langkawi last year and visited cactus for our dinner after so many good reviews on this forum.But were disappointed.The food was average,small place.
It is a casual kind of a place with nothing great about it expect for the cheap food

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank niharika_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“kitchen look”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

look in the kitchen and you will pass the next time. typical overrated chicken scoop. Lots of germans.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Restaurant also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 

Been to Cactus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing