We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good seafood, friendly and attentive staff, tacky looks”

Shin Mi Seafood Village
Ranked #90 of 423 Restaurants in Langkawi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good seafood, friendly and attentive staff, tacky looks”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We walked from the nearby Sheraton Resort and considered going to the restaurant opposite the Shin Mi Seafood Village which frankly looks shoddy from the road. We carried on walking looking at the boats on the small estuary and looped round and found ourselves at the back of this restaurant which had locals dining and plenty of visitors; it didn't look so bad as from the road.

In the end the food was good, well prepared and all fresh. I picked a crab dish for my main course which tasted very good only the claws were small.

Later on during our stay I discovered a local write up on the restaurant which described this and another restaurant as "local secrets". Apparently the owner bought (presumably cheaply) the property after the 2004 tsunami which damaged some local properties which might explain its ramshackle looks, and by focusing on the food it has gained a good reputation. Don't let that bit of history, nor the looks of place from the road put you off.

I didn't think the crab was as quite good as what I had on Pulau Ketam ealier in my stay in Malaysia, but then maybe that is not surprising. Four stars it is then for food and service. Prices didn't strike me as cheaper or more expensive compared to other comparable places we visited.

The restaurant operates a shuttle service and drove us back to our hotel for free which was a welcome surprise. Presumably they will fetch you too. The service is hard to fault.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank BlueSkyPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    51
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tourist priced seafood”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Don't get me wrong, the food taste was OK, and we loved the tiger prawns (big and juicy!). However, the impression of langkawi having cheap seafood is really a myth. We ended up paying more for this meal compared to the same meal in KL. Sure, you can give it a try as it's close by to the Sheraton and Berjaya hotels, and you don't have to travel into Kuah town for seafood. Don't say you weren't warned about the prices.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank becksangel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We should keep this place a secret”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Like other reviewers, we thought the mass of lights spelled disaster. Not so.

The service was faultless, the staff helpful & informative and above all the seafood was fresh and well cooked.

This isn't a tourist trap - it's really a trap for those who don't know when to stop eating...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Miramar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We visited Shin Me seafood village twice in our 10 day stay. Do
not judge this place on us appearance - simple plastic tables and
chairs and loads of fairy lights, we initially thought it looked tacky.
However this was part of the charm and it is set back from the
road so better than first appearances. The food however is what
you come for and it is fantastic. You can choose your fish or
seafood and then have it prepared several different ways. The fish
tastes so fresh. We had garoupa which was delicious and 'caught'
ourselves - quite an experience grappling with this strong fish in
the tank. We also tried the lobster shin me style which was a mild
sweet and sour sauce which the kids loved. They also have meat
dishes if fish isn't your thing. The staff were very friendly and
genuinely eager to please. They have just started a shuttle service from local hotels - Berjaya, Mutiara Bay, Danna, Sheraton and so
we had a shuttle the second time. It's about 15mins on the main road from the Berjaya. I recommend it highly.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank Dora_the_Explorer275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh Live Seafood”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Had a fabulous dinner last night at Shin Me.

My husband loved the fresh fishand assorted seafood and the kids and I ate more traditional chinese fair. He loved the crab but thought the bbq prawns a little dry - generous servings.

Clean and quick service - would recommend to all!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank chris_reid00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shin Mi Seafood Village also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Shin Mi Seafood Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing