We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting and dangerous”
Review of Rumours Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumours Guesthouse
Ranked #72 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disgusting and dangerous”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Rumours and had a very bad experience. At first it seemed nice - the front area has a nice chilled backpacker vibe to it and we agreed to an airconditioned double room. The room was very dirty - clearly had not been cleaned for a long time. There was blood stains on the sheets, dead bugs on the floor, the towels were full of big stains, the toilet covered in pee and everything was overall dirty. Never the less we stayed because it was cheap and had a good location. On the third night it was very noisy and I woke up to noises of people outside, a very bad smell in the room and a sort of sizzeling sound. We tried to locate the sound, and discovered that the plug from the airconditioned was nearly burning and one of the legs in the plog had melted away inside the plug. It could easily have started a fire. Next morning we confronted the manager (who does not really understand english) who offered to repair the plug himself. We refused and asked for another room. We were sent to a fan room, but left the hostel quickly after the sink in the bathroom splurted out yellow-brownish water and clogged the drain. We moved to AB motel which was much nicer and very clean!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
11
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed here for a few weeks as my first port of call in Malaysia.

At first I had a good impression of the place but that changed quite quickly.

There was a leak in the roof of my room and water dripped straight on to the bed. As it was low season they just gave me a spare key for a room without a leak, so I changed rooms in the night if it started to rain. As high season came around they obviously couldn't spare a room, so I was stuck with a room that leaked any time it rained. At one point they sent someone in to check the roof and say it would be fixed, but it never was.

I had to sleep with a plastic trash can on the bed to catch the water. What annoys me about these kind of places is a guest will check in one day and leave their laptop on a bed, it will get destroyed and they will say "So sorry, we didn't know..."

The staff didn't seem like running a decent guest house was their interest or priority. They are generally friendly and hospitable, but need to step up their standards considerably to make this place even base line acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This was a mistake at the end of a long day that I regretted all night. Yes it was relatively cheap, but the room had clearly not been touched since the last person stayed there, and the bedding smelt like something had died.

The towels were no more than heavily stained rags and the bathroom left me feeling more dirty than when I went in.

I tried to check out in the morning around 9 and there was noone to be seen.

In all, just got the feeling nobody was interested.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacmed04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

this guest house is just okay. the staff was friendly but is was a bit expensive for the room. i stayed in a solo room with shared bathroom. the bathroom was absolutely filthy and i had to buy my own toilet paper because the supply was not stocked. it was dirty and i didn't feel any cleaner after i showered. the guest house is rustic and is situated in an overgrown garden so bring mosquito spray or you'll be sorry. the location is great, located near restaurants and a five minute walk to the beach. i'd also recommend bringing your own sheets. towels are not provided.

Room Tip: i stayed in a fan only room and it wasn't too hot, although it was hot outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msbutton867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

What can I say about this place! We came back twice on our 6 month trip through Asia because we loved it so much, good budget option in the main area of Langkawi, just across the road from the beach, good quality food for a reasonable price and the snickers milkshakes were to die for! Good area to hang out in with a pool table, TV & free Wifi.
Hope to visit again some time in the future, lots of love to the owner Ouie who has done a great job with the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkandMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.6 mi away
Langgura Baron Resort
Langgura Baron Resort
#87 of 145 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langkawi Dormitorio
Langkawi Dormitorio
#2 of 35 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Idaman Motel
Casa Idaman Motel
#63 of 145 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#5 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melati's VIP Female Dorm
Melati's VIP Female Dorm
#4 of 35 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mali Mali Beach Resort
Mali Mali Beach Resort
#9 of 23 in Pantai Cenang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumours Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumours Guesthouse

Property: Rumours Guesthouse
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing