We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mare Blu Italian Ristorante

Mare Blu Italian Ristorante
Ranked #64 of 381 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lier
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Reasonable italian food for reasonable prices, nicely located in the Marina. The pasta all'carbonara was great!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    79
    26
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good value lunch !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We are stopping at Danna & have eaten twice here for lunch simple fare of pasta & pizzas the set lunches offer great value compared to the Danna tasty food & good service also the booze is reasonable prices especially on their extended happy hour 3 till 8 !

Helpful?
3 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife decided that she wanted a burger & chips, so off we went knowing that a really good burger was going to be forthcoming.
She never got her burger because we got sidetracked by the idea of the surf & turf platter for two. The meat, lamb & steak, was cooked to perfection & of a very good quality & soooo tasty, especially with the mushroom or pepper sauces. The salmon & lobster didn't disappoint either & the lemon butter sauce was great. The vegetables were also cooked superbly, being al dente rather than mushy or raw.
The puddings were great too, I had fresh mango & pineapple & my wife had the pannacotta & both were very tasty.
Another surprise was that happy hour lasts from 3:00pm to 8:00 pm when beers & certain spirits were all half price.
All in all, a lovely meal in a lovely setting

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Manicmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
““Great food! very crowded””
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a great meal here last night. Really great pizzas and desserts to die for.Definitely worth a visit. reservation recommend.. & thanks for the staff.. also the price quite expensives..hihi..anyways,2 thumbs up!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank murniadila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We took a walk along the harbour on our first day and Mare Blu was the busiest restaurant which is always a good sign so we decided to eat there. We had a great view of the harbour and had a bottle of wine watching the sunset turn to night fall.

We have eaten there twice during our stay and both the pizzas and pastas have been delicious, but the pizzas have been our favourite with the thin base and cooked in the pizza oven. We were staying at the Danna and found the value for money at Mare Blu was great as two pizzas and a bottle of wine was 200 RM.

The only slight negative we had on our first visit it was a Saturday night and the restaurant was full but it seemed they were short staffed as we had to wait 20 minutes for some chillies and felt we were rushed through our meal. However the second time this was not an issue.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NS3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mare Blu Italian Ristorante also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Mare Blu Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing