We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS RESTAURANT”

Privilege Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #12 of 422 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Elegant and intimate indoor Malaysian restaurant located on the first floor overlooking Telaga Harbour Marina. Privilege restaurant offers a degustation and a la carte menu with a fusion of Malay, Chinese and Indian influences. The bar offers a wide selection of wines, champagne and sparkling wine by the glass to enhance your dining experience. Wide selection of classic, house specialty and spicy cocktails and mocktails are available.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“FABULOUS RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The ambiance and food was out of this world. Very unique great service and the food is the best I've had for local cuisine. Kudos to the owner for brining it to the table. Keep up the good job. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charmaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Charmaine S,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    180
    63
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best in Langkawi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have been to Privilege Restaurant a number of times and we have never been disappointed. It has a lovely menu with interesting dishes which are quite exquisite and delicious. The setting of the restaurant overlooking the marina is lovely , both in the daytime and at dinner. The service is excellent and we will go back again. I believe that it is reasonably priced for the quality restaurant that it is.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sage2724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Sage2724,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was a privilege”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great food in a small and private restaurant. All the food was explained to us and the portion sizes were great. We left feeling suitably stuffed and having enjoyed excellent food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Cristina B,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK but totally overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I was very surprised this received such rave reviews! The curry I had was bland and lacked spice and any interesting flavour. Satay was also very ho-hum but the samosa was good. Quite an expensive meal that didn't really satisfy. Service was fine but some of the dishes we were interested in ordering were not available. My boyfriend liked it...am I missing something?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kbbhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear kbbhtravel,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We do appreciate the feedback and understand that it is made constructively. These comments will be useful when we are making improvements.
We do hope you had a great time in Langkawi.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uki, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent modern Malaysian fusion food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had seafood curry which was very good, and duck breast which was superb. The only problem was that our 6 year old daughter liked the duck so much that we did not get to share enough ourselves! Food presentation was attractive and creative for both the mains and entrees, palate cleansing sorbets were on the house, and the draft beer was very reasonably priced for a quality restaurant. Service was efficient ,timely and unobtrusive, and the decor, and views over the harbour were attractive. When we arrived the ambient music was not to our taste and a little loud, but was turned down promptly and without any 'attitude' upon our request. We will certainly eat at this restaurant again when we are next able to visit beautiful Langkawi again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Tony W,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Privilege Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Privilege Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing