We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fusion dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Privilege Restaurant & Bar

Privilege Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #12 of 414 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Elegant and intimate indoor Malaysian restaurant located on the first floor overlooking Telaga Harbour Marina. Privilege restaurant offers a degustation and a la carte menu with a fusion of Malay, Chinese and Indian influences. The bar offers a wide selection of wines, champagne and sparkling wine by the glass to enhance your dining experience. Wide selection of classic, house specialty and spicy cocktails and mocktails are available.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great fusion dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a lovely dinner here for my birthday last week. We decided on the degustation menu so we could taste a little of everything and the food was certainly delicious, beautifully presented and very well executed. Our only concern at the end of the meal however were the portions were just too small to satisfy us and we felt we would have got better value for money (and more to eat) if we'd chosen to order a 3 course menu instead of the degustation. However in saying that we met the owner Peter who was a delight to chat to and he generously provided us both with a glass of champagne to help celebrate my birthday. The restaurant is quite small and provides great ambience and the service was attentive and just as it should be. A definite one to put on your list whilst in Langkawi and don't forget to book ahead.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GFMVHAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear GFMVHAC,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    177
    62
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

shame indoors as I prefer to eat outside when the weather is so good. Also tend to fuss over the Asian customer far more than the Western ones

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jason e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear jason e,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice ambiance and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, very clean restaurant, good for romantic evening, good food but great if you like malaysian food. Walking distance from Danna Hotel if you want a change. Free wifi.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank z z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear z z,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely meal here. The service, premises, location and food are all outstanding. We also ate at the Italian and Tapaz restaurants within the same locality but they weren't a patch on this one. Price wise Privilege is on par with the other restaurants making it good value for money. We each had a three course meal and drinks and the bill came to under £40 for two of us. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda123W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Linda123Sunderland,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We'll worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We ate at Privilege four times during our stay on Langkawi and each meal was very good. Service is quiet and unassuming, the menu varied and the quality of food very good indeed. Strongly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mindstorelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear mindstorelondon,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meals here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Privilege Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Privilege Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing