We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another lovely meal”

Privilege Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #10 of 423 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Elegant and intimate indoor Malaysian restaurant located on the first floor overlooking Telaga Harbour Marina. Privilege restaurant offers a degustation and a la carte menu with a fusion of Malay, Chinese and Indian influences. The bar offers a wide selection of wines, champagne and sparkling wine by the glass to enhance your dining experience. Wide selection of classic, house specialty and spicy cocktails and mocktails are available.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yet another lovely meal”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Privilege lived up to its well deserved reputation when we had dinner there last night and are going back on Wednesday to enjoy it all again !
Food was excellent, good wine and lovely staff. Thank you

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MillyLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear MillyLincoln,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    182
    63
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woerden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very nice & high class restaurant ”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Privilege is a very nice & high class restaurant, located at the Harbour in the vicinity of the lighthouse in Langkawi
Excellent service and beautiful styled dishes for a moderate price

Helpful?
Thank Barend H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Barend H,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and lovely location”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Really loved this little restaurant. Food was of the highest calibre and a great wine list at reasonable prices. Owner just wants to please and will do anything for you. Don't miss it but book as soon as you arrive as it is full every night.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Maggy S,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,192 reviews
529 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
“The ultimate dining experience”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Words fail in describing the dining experience at Peter Ting's. It is not a coincidence that Privilege Restaurant & Bar is the number one restaurant in Langkawi, according to TripAdvisor reviews, only challenged by the magic of La Sal @ Casa del Mar. Privilege Restaurant & Bar means superbly cooked food, signature hospitality of Peter Ting and his staff, brought together in that small cosy restaurant upstairs at Telaga Harbor. This is not my first review of Privilege, but every time I have enjoyed dinner there I must inform my TripAdvisor readers of my experience. However, having sung the song of praise, I take the liberty of making some criticism about the menu. The menu of Privilege Restaurant was changed since my previous visit in March 2013. To my disappointment, my favorite starter, Fish Otak Otak, was deleted and in my favorite main course, Beef Rendang, the meat was changed from beef to ostrich meat. Peter, bring back the beef in Beef Rendang, Furthermore, I would like to see more dishes, using fish fillet, on the menu; delicious Malay dishes can be made with salmon, tuna or grouper. With these menu improvements, Privilege would be perfect.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Hendrik_NL,
Thank you for sharing your experience and your support all these years. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here and at the same time sad to hear that your favourite has been replace. We are working on it to bring some dish back on the menu soon.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“overrated but could give a try”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

the restaurant is located at perdana quay which is near to pantai kok. the restaurant is next to the pastry shop named the loft. mainly modern malaysia cuisine. we ordered duck meat and a chicken dish for main course and lamb puffs for starter and a creme brulee. the creme brulee is good where local ingredient is used (gula melaka ). food came quite slow.

good : alot potential because its a modern dining experience for malaysia cuisine

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sem1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear sem1989,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We do appreciate the feedback and understand that it is made constructively and we are not a fast food outlet where all our food are freshly cooked to order. These comments will be useful when we are making improvements.
We do hope you had a great time in Langkawi.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Privilege Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Privilege Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing