We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meals”
Review of Privilege Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Privilege Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Elegant and intimate indoor Malaysian restaurant located on the first floor overlooking Telaga Harbour Marina. Privilege restaurant offers a degustation and a la carte menu with a fusion of Malay, Chinese and Indian influences. The bar offers a wide selection of wines, champagne and sparkling wine by the glass to enhance your dining experience. Wide selection of classic, house specialty and spicy cocktails and mocktails are available.
Leeds, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb meals”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Fantastic food in an intimate setting. Very much nicer than evening dining at The Danna hotel and only a 3 minute walk.
Highly recommend Malaysian platter main course, as gives you a taste of most dishes in main course selection.

Quality is superb for the money, and we went back twice.
3 courses cost equivalent £50 total, including sparkling water. Glass of wine £4, cocktails £5.
I adored the smoked banana ice cream and had this each time.

Owner was there each time we went and really wants people to enjoy their experience. A very nice man, and 2 lovely evenings

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LJYLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear LJYLeeds_UK,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meals here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    182
    63
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Busselton WA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“It was a Pivilege to eat here...”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Ispired by fellow "trippers", hired a car to eat here...2 nights running. Out of the Pantai Cenang area, it is well worth the 20 minutes drive. On the 1st floor overlooking the Perdana Quay, this is a class act. Fully Airconditioned, nice decor and great fine dining service. Contemporary Malaysian menu had some of the usual Malay suspects, but with a twist. There were plenty of choices. Highlights were the Lamb Shank Malaysian: melted in your mouth, Pai Tee shells with prawns:snensational, Mains duck and Cendol desert was heavenly. The owner came and had a chat.Nice wine list. Best meals we had in Langkawi. Looking forward to the next trip back here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Gary D,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meals here and travel all the way from Pantai Cenang.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent modern malay fusion”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Overlooking Perdana Quay is this small lovely fine dining restaurant that injects Malay food with a modern touch.

I had the Ostrich Rendang and it is the best Ostrich dish I have ever eaten. Ostrich meat is supposed to be tough and chewy but the way the chef braised it, it was as tender as beef.

Helpful?
Thank 926cheemingt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear 926cheemingt,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here especially the ostrich rendang.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I had gone for lunch here. I felt the food was ok, don't know what the hype was about. We had tried the ostrich rendang and chicken satay which was just above average.
We had eaten better malay food in other restaurants in Langkawi and KL.

The highlight of this restaurant are the desserts. We had tried the crème brûlée and the smoked banana ice cream which were heavenly. I give this restaurant an extra rating only for the desserts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Am N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Am N,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We do appreciate the feedback and understand that it is made constructively. These comments will be useful when we are making improvements and we are glad that you've enjoy the dessert.
We do hope you had a great time in Langkawi.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Malaysian Food Like you have never eaten before”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

For Langkawi, this is an expensive night out but in my opinion it is worth it. Good wine selection and a menu which has a Malay twist but is more haute cuisine than beef rendang. You will need to book in peak seasons. Try the smoked Banana Ice cream. It really does change in flavour as you eat it. Enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WinchesterCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear WinchesterCathedral,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Privilege Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing