We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really a resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Village Langkawi
Ranked #98 of 140 Langkawi B&B and Inns
oxford
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not really a resort”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We think that by using the word 'resort' they're stretching the truth a little here. There's a pool surrounded by accommodation buildings, a 'gym' with some old equipment, and a fusball and pool table, but that's about it in term of facilities. But it's value for money and the room was large enough with a big double bed, tea and coffee facilities and a fridge (plus tv, but only to watch dvds). The pool was a little murky but large enough to actually swim in!
Staff didn't speak much English so weren't able to help much with booking tours etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    40
    35
    18
    35
See reviews for
36
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Friendly, welcoming staff... but, the Casuarina - Junior Family Room is too small to fit 4 persons. There is no cupboard to keep clothes. The breakfast is simple, but quite ok... The swimming pool too small.. overall, it is not worth to pay such resort rate to stay in this tiny room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuenu0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very clean, spacious rooms, friendly, welcoming staff, beautiful garden with pool and pool bar, amazing food in the restaurant, a great bar with a pool table and only 5 minute walk to beach. Ignore the previous bad reviews!- the resort is under new ownership!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank L0veLife-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Visited Langkawi just this week & it was really quite an interesting stay for me & my family.

We had 2 rooms booked for 4 nights & funny things happened.

My relatives' room got visited by a mouse & flying roaches when mine got visited by a frog during showers.

We had no problem with that at all. Well, every morning.. There's a family of rooster & hens going around to "wake" you up for your day. That was interesting!

There're lovely swings, see-saw, monkey bars & treehouse around. Not forgetting the mini gym & soon-to-spoil pool table for recreation.

My relatives felt young again, back to where the used to live when they were small.. And i had fun experiencing it!

There's is a reason why it's called: Green VILLAGE, dont expect too much & you'll be able to enjoy this lovely place for accommodation.

Staff are generally nice, just talk to them..

Apart from that, you will enjoy your vacation. Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Our original plan was to back pack across Malaysia for 2 weeks, but after falling in live with langkawi we decided to upgrade to green village! We got a bargain for our luxury room, when we asked for standard, the beds are huge!!! The bathroom is simple but earthy! Tv is for watching unlimited amounts of DVDs from reception (I couldn't understand local tv anyway!) pool is the highlight of this place! As are the lovely smiley staff who are so laid back!! There are monkey bars, swings, a cool tree house and it's so beautifully presented!! Breakfast if u get there early enough is buffet style: eggs, eggy bread, fruit, beans, chicken sausage, delicious wedges yum yum and fruit juice tea coffee etc!
Stayed here 11 days which meant a discounted rate! Main town is 30 mins walk but the restaurants round here are more than adequate! ESP sheela's, cactus and fat Cupid (hidden gem thru alleyway right turn out of reception down dirt track!)
Not for those who r used to 4/5 star but for those who like to come to Malaysia for an honest asian relaxing time!!!! Such a bargain!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melephany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2012

we stayed at the green village for 2 weeks in march we were a little bit worried about the negative reviews but we had nothing to fear at all! we found the staff to be outstanding so friendly and polite and helpful especially maria and the guy who supported man united!! the gardens where very well kept and pool area nice, rooms where basic but cleaned everyday and we couldnt fault them, there is some noise from the local bar as you walk past but it did not disturb us at all, breakfast was good and included in the room rate, its only a short walk to the beach and local places to eat and drink,we will be back there for sure , thank you again to all the great staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We were recommended this establishment by a friend of ours who lives on the Island.
We found the Resort immaculate. They have a full time gardener who is busy all day sweeping leaves etc. He even keeps a small garden where he grows vegetables and herbs for the kitchen. The Pool is cleaned daily of leaves etc and is large for the size of the resort. The Beach at the lighthouse is about a ten minute walk.
Breakfast is excellent, fruit juice,tea,coffee,cereal, eggs,chicken sausage, potato wedges, pancakes, toast etc
Rooms cleaned daily,Bed made, new towels every day. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Maria. The other staff were friendly as well, but can't remember there names.

Room Tip: There is a key drop at reception, But as it shuts at ten o'clock. You should take your keys with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Villa Langkawi
The Villa Langkawi
#83 of 140 in Langkawi
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Pantai Tengah Beach Inn
#4 of 6 in Pantai Tengah
4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airis Sanctuary Resort
Airis Sanctuary Resort
#72 of 140 in Langkawi
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Fina Fine Homes
Casa Fina Fine Homes
#18 of 140 in Langkawi
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langkawi Chantique Resort
Langkawi Chantique Resort
#3 of 140 in Langkawi
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Molek
Villa Molek
#3 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Village Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Village Langkawi

Property: Green Village Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah | Teluk Baru, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Village Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Village Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Village Langkawi Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing