We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Privacy and peace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Village Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Village Langkawi
Ranked #99 of 141 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Privacy and peace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel is easily located at the end of Pantai Cenang,inconjunction of Pantai Tengah. The hotel can been see with a huge signboard. The hotel is like a small village which have a big pool in the middle,which is surrounded by chalet.They have chicken running around,tiny tree house,and swings beside the pool.They offer lots of sundeck chairs to layback. The pool in the middle is amazing as they have a nice waterfall in it. The room environment are just so so,not very luxuries. We pay for what we get i believe. They room is bit dark and no cable tv. They provide dvd for free. During night time,the noise not as bad as i thought. The people are friendly. Not to mention is full of peace and privacy. Not much kids running around as the resort is really small. The breakfast comes with set,not buffet style. We are serve with american breakfast,which is in a medium size portion. What i like the most is the enviroment of the hotel which is surrounded by trees. The bad side is the hotel room is quite dark,and quite old feeling. Other than that its fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ji-Ho N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    40
    34
    18
    35
See reviews for
36
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Usually you pick accommodation out of town and away from the beach and you get better value for your money, not in this case at all.

Room was small, tired, very very dark and massive TV (DVD use only) which took up a lot of space, walls paper thin, huge gap under door, bathroom really not very nice with stained concrete walls and floor and loo which didn't flush properly. Air con did work but was noisy.

Now for the main problem, attached to the resort is a late night bar / club, the house music blasts out until after 2am. Music doesn’t start until 11ish so is a big surprise and all windows are blacked out, very strange set up.

Noise from bar / club combined with drunk guests coming back from ‘town’ and then continuing to party outside their rooms made sleep totally impossible (even with ear plugs).

Pool area OK but only a handful of sun loungers.

As for breakfast this quality of food, fine for a buffet. However not content with keeping you awake all night the staff also play the same CD of banging house tunes at high volume in the breakfast area….it was unbearable

15 mins walk into the main resort, shop about 5 mins away, didn’t go to the beach,

Couldn’t wait to leave to be honest, stay in town and you expect noise, stay in a quiet area and you don’t, total rip off for 160 RM a night, strongly consider staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Unfortunately, TripAdvisor does not allow for a rating of Zero to be given.

This "village" is a mess run by shady characters who have absolutely no idea how to deliver a holiday resort.

Their website photos are misleading, the pool & common area are amateurish and not maintained. There is a well with slats that barely covers the gap. I'm sure a toddler could fall in .

The rooms are bare, poor quality and very mozze friendly. Not only did this hotel rip us off financially, they refused to acknowledge any failing. As a backpacker I wouldn't stay here, certainly as a family no chance.

Only the Irish lady at the bar is above criticism. The breakfast area was dark & dingy.

We stayed 1 hour, that was far too long. Stay clear.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I’m in two minds about this place. On the one hand I found the staff to be very helpful and welcoming, and the grounds and pool were well maintained and pleasant. On the other hand the room was a bit of a war zone with peeling vinyl on the floor, venetian blinds in danger of falling down, leaking pipes in the toilet and bathroom, cracked bathroom fixtures, random holes in the wall, a TV that didn’t work properly and so on. There were plenty of staff maintaining the grounds and in the reception area, but almost no effort put into maintaining the rooms. The location is good, and within easy walking distance were some nice restaurants (I particularly recommend the Mexican/Italian restaurant La Bomba). The front desk organised an island hopping tour at a good price, and were always happy to organise taxis.

Perhaps the biggest drawback, though, was the new (by the looks of it) complex next door with its nightclub which booms away until 3am. Both nights of our stay I woke up after midnight and couldn’t get back to sleep until the place closed. It is close to the family room, so if you were at one of the back units you probably wouldn’t be so troubled.

Overall, I think you can do better than this place.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the front of the resort near the reception area or you will endure the thumping ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CantonaForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have never before posted a negative review, but this place was so dissapointing that I couldn't stop myself. This is one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in. All the space is taken up by the bed (with a matress that is all used up and lumpy pillows that stink) and a giant tv that had no channels (why don't they just take it out, it has no function). There is one tiny window, so hardly any daylight. The walls are covered with smears and smudges. The bathroom is so tiny that you have to shower standing over the toilet. you have to walk on the wet and very slipery floor (i fell) everytime you have to go to the toilet or you want to wash your hands (the sink is tiny, cracked, dirty and not a real washbasin) and it leaks. The water heater didn't work, even after i asked if maintenance could take a look at it. But the worst thing of all: in the eveniing at around 8 pm the bar next door that you hadn't noticed during the day, starts playing really loud music until aproximately 02.30 in the night. Even my super earplugs couldn't block the noice.

If you are a backpacker, this hotel might do it for you, unfortunately the price doesn't match the quality at all. It seems the people who own and run it, are not willing to invest in the rooms at all. This hotel is in my top three of worst hotels ever. I am writing this review at 01.00 am lying in this terribly uncomfortable room waiting for the morning to come so I can leave this place....

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esthergoesasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Kelantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

After browsing through some of the reviews, I thought this resort will be a relaxing gateway for my family, that is, until we reached the place. Although there is a sign pointing the direction to the resort, there is no visible board of the resort's name at the entrance. The parking lot is terrible too. We booked 2 standard rooms for 4 adults and to our surprise, the room is so small and under-ventilated, definitely not what you see on the brochure or on the internet. On the brochure, they even dare to say that the resort is 3-stars when the fact is the service is bad and room conditions are terrible ( only worth 2 stars ). We asked for non-smoking rooms and they gave us one room with previous smoking occupant. When I asked for a change, the staff was rude ( my mistake for not asking for her name ) and not apologetic at all, dismissed my complaint and not even asking the housekeeping to change the sheets and spray some air-fresheners as she had promised to. Aside from that, the breakfast is only so-so and service is slow. All in all, definitely not worth your money for such an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clover_sze831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

My partner and I picked this hotel and were worried about it before arriving. However we were blowen away with this little gem. Green Village is a great little place tucked away off the street. Its only a 10min walk to Underwater world and amazing resturants (Sagar indian across the road is the best indian I have ever had). The rooms are basic yes, but you get what you pay for. Air con works very well and is not noisey. Rooms are cleaned daily. Breakfast is fun and good quality. Cheap drinks at the bar. And a nice pool to cool off in.
All up would stay here again for sure and support the smaller friendly local business, rather than wasting money at the rip off resorts.

Room Tip: pay the few dollars more for the deluxe room, its abit nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank farva222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Villa Langkawi
The Villa Langkawi
#82 of 141 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Pantai Tengah Beach Inn
#5 of 6 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Airis Sanctuary Resort
Airis Sanctuary Resort
#73 of 141 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Fina Fine Homes
Casa Fina Fine Homes
#18 of 141 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tubotel
Tubotel
#7 of 141 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Agate Beach Resort
Royal Agate Beach Resort
#25 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Village Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Village Langkawi

Property: Green Village Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah | Teluk Baru, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Village Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Village Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Village Langkawi Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing