We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was made really special!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Ranked #6 of 161 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I booked a room in the Colonial House as a surprise present for my boyfriend's birthday. We're travelling South East Asia on a shoestring budget but wanted to do something special for my boyfriend's birthday. Before we'd even arrived the manager James said he'd decorate the bedroom even though I had no clue what I wanted it to look like and it looked gorgeous!
Furthermore we had dinner in the Bon Ton restaurant on my boyfriend's birthday and they brought us a lovely surprise chocolate cake! Therefore everyone at Temple Tree and Bon Ton went really out of their way to make a real effort and my boyfriend had the best birthday. The place was perfect especially because he loves cats so much!
Furthermore the room was to die for, with beautiful traditional decor and the grounds were lovely too. We loved the pool especially because it was always so quiet!
We'd like to say a massive thank you to everyone there for making sure we had an amazing holiday and we hope to see you soon!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank EllaMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 513 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Absolutely delightful. Not what one would expect though... All the cottages are reconstructed traditional houses bought and transported here - hence no standardization of the rooms. But what an experience! We thoroughly enjoyed the unique houses...
Yes it can be unsettling initially since it isn't what one would expect, but gradually one settles in to the charm of the place. Lotsa cats and dogs around... Could be disastrous if u don't like them... Very helpful staff. Pretend that u aren't in a hotel but in someone's house and you will enjoy. Don't expect 5 star service and u will be fine...
Now for the disadvantages - food isn't that great, the bar is overpriced, it is quite a distance from the beach, breakfast is limited and served in the room.
All in all I will definitely visit there again...

Room Tip: Very very roomy cottages. We travelled with 2 kids and expecting cosy rooms, we booked a 2bedroom co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anandpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is very expensive given the basic nature of what you get. Breakfast is minimal brought to your room so no choice. The complex owner has an animal sanctuary for dogs and every morning between 6am & 7am a pack of dogs howl like crazy. You will be woken every morning! The complex is very close to some kind of river so the view is of tall reeds and nothing more. That said the place is tranquil (after the dogs) and the staff excellent. A 3 min taxi into the main town is 10 R (£2 GBP) or a 20 min walk but path is minimal. The beach is absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeanEwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My second visit. Came last year with my parents... This year with my girlfriend...

booking and mailing, quick responses and very helpful. Arrived and checked in early, room was ready. James the Manager upgraded us to a better room (Penang 1) which we loved so much. Words literally can't describe the beautiful setting and the eyes for details this place got.

The pool area is the most awesome place, we loved it. We visited bon ton (next door hotel) one morning, and even though they belong together, I prefer temple tree.

Thanks again Temple tree team, especially James (the manager) who drove us to the harbor because we missed our punk up...

See you next year :)

Eva & Tobi

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Really special and unique grouping of restored houses with envy-inducing décor. I was apprehensive about the cats (allergies), but they stay well away unless you want them near, and scores of braver mynah birds provided delightful birdsong throughout the day (find the bird guide at reception). The pool is long and good for lap swimmers, and remarkably peaceful.
Very nice to have breakfast in the room -- great coffee! -- though we only discovered in time for the final day that they'll provide sugar-free yogurt on request instead of fruity stuff.
Only issues were that it's a bit of a sweaty walk on a busy road to the beach (go early!) although distance to the top end of Cenang Beach is only 1.1 km (I clocked it on my pedometer). And you have to go to reception to get WiFi. And if you have upstairs neighbors, you might need earplugs to sleep (staying in Plantation 5 we had a noisy group speaking Arabic late into the night, walking around on the creaky floor, and getting up at 6am -- right over our heads). Still, it was so pleasant and enjoyable, I'd love to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank star33p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I saw a description of this place before we came as 'shabby chic' and that is an apt phrase. This wouldn't suit someone looking for a five star resort experience, but if you are looking for a low key and charming stay in somewhere very unusual then this is a good location.

Our room (Colonial 1) was smaller and scruffier than it looked on the photographs, but it was spacious enough for two. The aircon was very efficient and we slept well on the comfortable bed.

We liked the breakfast in the room, as a change from the usual hotel regime - there was plenty to eat, and we usually ate the accompanying cake for afternoon tea.

I had been concerned about the potential cleanliness of the grounds, with so many cats, but the gardeners are very good at clearing up and also keeping the leaves from all the trees at bay.

The staff are very friendly and laid back - rather too laid back, as our prearranged rental car did not materialise as the booking had never been made.

We enjoyed the sunset cocktails at the Bon Ton next door and ate there a few times, but the food was nothing much.

One note of warning - the floor of the large bathroom in our room was lethally slippery when wet. I am surprised we did not fall.

Wifi was very spotty and unpredictable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

As mentioned by others, this hotel is a real one off.

Great buildings which are all different and original, a fantastic pool area like no other and a great restaurant next door at Bon Ton which we used nearly every day.

We stayed in room Estate 1 which was very roomy and unique. As animal lovers, we loved the cats that roamed about the resort. We had a couple of cats who waited for us each night and would stay the night. JJ the dog also loved a walk around the resort, so please take him for a walk if you do stay there!

The breakfast was nice, if a little different. It was great to be able to make fresh coffee each morning with toast, but for what you pay would would expect a made breakfast at the restaurant.

The hotel is expensive for what you pay, but taking the cost out of the equation the overall experience is second to none.

This would be a five if the price reflected the rooms and breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DirkBigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,266 reviews
9 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 105 in Langkawi
1,393 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: $101 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Tree at Bon Ton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though classified as B&B/Inn, Temple Tree is actually more of a boutique resort of many cultures, an eclectic mix of heritage chic...Antique buildings of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian origin, make up this 8 villa hotel, with 8 rooms & 6 suites now open. Each building has, over its 70-110 year old history, created its own heart and soul. Hopefully we have given due respect to each of these family homes with the restoration process. These houses are now the continuing the story of people who live in them, our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Tree at Bon Ton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Tree At Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing