We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate luxury, service & relaxation in a local (non corporate) style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Ranked #6 of 161 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed in different houses/huts split between the Temple Tree & Bon Ton - all,in very different ways, were fabulous. The cats are not a problem, even for people who do not like them (and we met 2 couples who hated cats but loved the Temple Tree). With 1 exception (who shall remain nameless) none begged for food - they do not need to, they are incredibly well looked after.
The Temple Tree Club is lovely with good food and excellent very funny staff who learn your drinking habits instantly. It looks and feels like an old colonial club. The Bon Ton has a better location and is fantastic for sunsets and birdlife - it is a 2min walk between the 2. The management are very keen to make sure you get the best from their resort and your holiday and you always feel in very safe hands.
Although the location is not next to the beach this has the advantage of absolute peace and quiet - the best beaches require a car anyhow. The Chenang Boat Quay restaurant (fantastic squid and baby octopus tapas) is a 15 min walk away (no traffic) and is the best located on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorcasII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 512 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

Initially found BonTon in Lonely Planet. Called for a quote, etc. and since we had our son (college spring break) was steered to Penang House in Temple Tree. Was leary on the phone that it was 'adjacent', but totally true. Turned out to be a great choice, we loved it and would go back to Temple Tree/Bon Ton on any future trip to Langkawi. At check-in, Anne gave us a great orientation to the island and suggested activities. Everything she suggested was on target: renting a car to drive the island and the kayak tour. Penang 1 was great. Our son had his own room, it is right next to a beautiful pool adjacent to open land, and the room A/C was perfect at night (the living room is not A/C, but we were never uncomfortable). Great open shower. We loved the ambiance of BT/TT. Relaxed, incredibly friendly staff, and the cats. They provide a casualness and sense of serenity that makes it easy to relax in. Our house had 2 cats that stayed nearby and we enjoyed their presence. We took 2 dinners at BonTon (both outstanding with great attentive service) and most evenings sat there on our computers(our Macs could not connect at Temple Tree but could at BonTon, PC people had no trouble at either place) or reading. It was tremendous. We did not have dinner at Temple Tree (different menu) but a brunch was great.
We did not mind that BT/TT was not on the beach. Chenang area is built-up and crowded, but nearby and worth going to for dinner (great Chinese seafood place recommended by staff). As far as touring the island, renting a car is great. For about $30/day we had a nice Malaysian imitation of a Honda CRV. We went to the isolated beaches that Anne recommended and they were incredible. Stopped for drinks at the Andaman (and realized we liked the less coiffed atmosphere of BT/TT). We also enjoyed the 3 hour kayak in the mangroves that included a quick tour of the bat cave.
All in all, if looking for relaxation and a non-cookie cutter resort with exceptionally nice staff and an ambiance of quirky homey-ness, this could be it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aequanimitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Well where do I start with this amazing resort…

First of all the buildings are amazing, we stayed in the Colonial building, colonial 1 suit which was great, the room was a good size, bed with mosquito nets was very comfortable, the breakfast brought to the fridge in your room the evening before is great, 2 types of bed, yogurt, cake, juice and 2 types of exotic fruits each day. The bathroom was one massive wet room with 2 drench shower heads with great soaps, lotions, bath salts and a local bites lotion for you to take home. The best bit was that we also had a secluded small court yard area with a sun lounger and a wooden bathtub which was great to have a relaxing bath in before dinner. The only draw back though was that the ceiling/floors were very thin and we could hear the people in the suit above moving around and talking, I think their plumbing also went through our room as whenever they flushed the toilet there was a very loud running water sound in the room but all that aside I would stay in the room again.

The service, was impeccable, the team who work the bar/restaurant were amazing, they were chatty and friendly and always smiling and saying hello and asking how we were and what our plans were for the day, they made the place an absolute pleasure to say at. In the bar every one staying there would stop and have a chat and they remembered everyone’s names and where they were from and what they had been planning for that day. It’s only a very small thing but makes you feel like you are home from home.

On the Wed night they had a wine evening which was great, free wine till 8pm, snacks and a chance again to meet other guests and chat to the lovely staff.

They have 2 infinity pools, the smaller one by the restaurant and the larger at the back of the property. They both had sun loungers and umbrellas and were never all busy, maybe 2 other couples at any one time. A great touch is that they would come around with ice water and lemon without you ever having to ask and constant refills. They even came around in the early evening and handed out little plates of tasters from the menu with was a nice treat.

What was nice was that you got a choice of 2 restaurants, the one at Templetree which was a fusion between east and west and then BonTon which was a 2 minute walk away which was traditional Malay food which was delicious!

One thing you do need to be aware of though is that the property and BonTon is shared with a cat and dog rescue. Now the dogs are in kennels far from either resort as you drive in off the street but the cats are left to roam free. There are cats everywhere but never in your way or in the rooms. We actually found it very relaxing and made it feel that much more like home. It was no problem at all but if you are allergic to cats then I wouldn’t chance it.

We were actually sad to say goodbye to Templetree and even though we would love to try BonTon next door it would be impossible for us to stay anywhere else in Langkawi.

I have recommended this resort to everyone I know and if you are undecided about where to stay in Langkawi then take a chance and stay here, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed for a week in the colonial 4 house and we loved every minute. A warm welcome when we arrived with lots of info of what we could do on the island. Every morning a calm breakfast in the house, which was a surprise every day and always good. Afternoons swimming in one of the pools, with ice water and fruits complementary. Sunset drinks and diners in both restaurants(Temple Tree and Bon Ton) with delicious meals. The service is outstanding, they help you with everything cars, taxis, day trips etc. The cats makes the place even more cosy, ( and no trouble at all). Thank you Temple Tree for a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debjaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We spent ten wonderful nights at temple trees it was so relaxing nothing to much trouble for all the staff, the rooms are unique in every way and extremely comfortable. we ate in bon ton and the straits club and the food in both was amazing. we also had a wonderful time walking the dogs which we loved (this is truly a special place ) and hope to return in the not to distant future

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank vivigary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Temple Tree at Bon Ton was probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We stayed in the Colonial house which has two bedrooms, perfect for traveling with children.The accommodation was beautifully and uniquely decorated and the facilities from the pools to the restaurants were wonderful. Breakfast of fresh breads, cakes, fruit and yogurts was delivered to the fridge in our room every evening, for us to enjoy at our leisure the next morning.

The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful offering 5 star service without any pretentiousness.

We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Al I can say that the whole stay at Temple Tree was great. The setting with al the historical Malay buildings they've rebuilt is amazing. The location is beautiful with views over the lagoon and the service of the staff is excelent. Very nice and personal. I hope we can return some day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaartenEngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,236 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,379 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: $72 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Tree at Bon Ton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though classified as B&B/Inn, Temple Tree is actually more of a boutique resort of many cultures, an eclectic mix of heritage chic...Antique buildings of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian origin, make up this 8 villa hotel, with 8 rooms & 6 suites now open. Each building has, over its 70-110 year old history, created its own heart and soul. Hopefully we have given due respect to each of these family homes with the restoration process. These houses are now the continuing the story of people who live in them, our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Tree at Bon Ton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Tree At Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing