We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“closed for renovation”

Champor-Champor Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“closed for renovation”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Drove past a couple of weeks ago and a new building going up.I was told by another restaurant owner that it was " closed for renovation" and hopefully reopening in August.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobT573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    41
    19
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice food, but small serving.”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

In Langkawi, we decided to take a drive out to have dinner at Pantai Cenang. Hubby had checked out the reviews on Trip Advisor with overall good review on its food.

While we waited in the car, Hubby went down to check out the restaurant. He came back and shake his head saying the restaurant had a very overwhelmed incense smell.

I decided to check it out myself and found the smells from incense and candles to be bearable.

The restaurant is a garden with lots of plants and wooden masks on the walls, floor, etc.

We ordered Calamari for starter. The serving was very small but the taste was great and it cost RM11. Since then, my son has been asking for Calamari for almost every meals in Langkawi.

We had Dory fish for RM28.60, Lamb for RM29.70.and our dinner costs us (2 adults & 1 boy) RM80.30 for 2 drinks, 1 appetiser and 2 main course.

Overall, we find the food at Champor Champor to be nice but small serving. The smell of incense was a bit too strong for most people.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sawleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Plata
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the best Indian food”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Uma and Theo are the best, you fell more than welcomed once you step into the garden. And the vegetarian currys are delicious.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank PStoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just try it.”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Service is crap. Owner-and-sometimes-waiter couldn't smile if her life depended on it. They close the doors when it's full to prevent overcrowding.

Boohoo.

Go with friends or a loved one, enjoy some cheap beer, some great food, and a fantastic atmosphere. We went for dinner 3 nights, each time was fantastic.

If you're the type to get your panties in a bunch because the waitress didn't compliment you on your choice of beverage, then stay away and free up a table for someone else.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cookieinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a spoiled restaurant by guide books”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

first of all don't expect for a good service.They dont care about you at all.I saw they just didnt accept lots of people because they dont want people to choose their tables.
And even in the entrance they wrote a note when i see next day after having a dinner.''If you see this door is closed it means we are busy and closed.''
Lets not choose those kind of arrogant spoiled restaurants any more.
(By the way food is not that much great-with little portions and inflated prices) They must good last year before being recommended...

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank alkorsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champor-Champor Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing