We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on the beach budget property”
Review of Senari Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senari Bay Resort
Ranked #15 of 159 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was a last minute plan and we didn’t want to splurge a lot so chose to stay at Senari bay resort for few nights. We didn’t go with a lot of expectation because mostly the budget places are mediocre in terms of their location and hospitality, but we were happily surprised when we reached the beautiful location of this resort! It is a lovely family run place mostly managed by the mother and daughter who are very cordial and nice people to interact with. The place is on the Senari beach and is a budget resort so things like swimming pool and good food should not be expected from it, considering the rock bottom price for such a great location which you will be paying. There is a free wifi given. The rooms are good and well kept with most of the modern amenities.

Positive –
1) Location - Away from the madness of the over touristy Pantai Cenang (some 20-30 min on foot) but the same can be easily approached by the motorbike which is given at a real good rate at this resort
2) On the beach property and due to the size of the bay there is only Senari bay resort thus the beach seems like your private one.
3) Lovely view of the sea and beach from the rooms
4) Quite and homely stay with warm hospitality

I would definitely recommend this place and would love to stay there again whenever I am in Langkawi next!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuchi_srivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Senari Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed with a group of 5 in two rooms for 3 nights.

+ Rooms were quite spacious, you can rent motorbikes through the resort (which I highly recommend as it is a bit far to walk to the nearest restaurants).
+ Pick-up service from the airport.
+ They only charged 3 days for the motorbike (RM 30/ day) even though we used them 3,5 days.
Maybe they did because we complaint that the rooms have not been cleaned.
+ Room rates are reasonable, they did not charge for the extra mattress

- We wonder why the rooms have not been cleaned and thought this service is just not included. Afterwards the staff told us that they only clean the room, exchange towels and provide new toilet paper if you ask them to do.
I expect a hotel to clean the rooms every day or at least to inform upon check in that cleaning is only upon request.
However the staff expect you to know by reading reviews before you stay there.
We advised them to better inform the guests beforehand but instead of taking this as an advise in order to improve service they repeated that all guests before always new they had to ask for cleaning or asked them on the next day. Pretty poor!

- We had two rooms, fridge was not working in one room.

- The bay at the hotel is not for swimming.
So the hotel is just nice to spend the night there (no breakfast is provided). It is reasonable priced though.
If you do not have your own transportation rather stay at a hotel in the centre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jufu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

If you're on a tight budget but want to enjoy a tranquil, relaxing sea-side experience at a gorgeously-landscaped resort, you'll want to visit the Senari Bay Resort. The hotel offers no-frills, basic budget accomodation: no swimming pool, no room service, no beach bar - you get the idea. But what it does offer: immaculately clean and spacious rooms with hot water and free wifi. Wonderful family warmth, thoughtful service and kind hospitality. Traditional chalets in a beautiful, lovely and intimately-quiet environment with swaying palms, scenic ocean and bay views.

Yes it's a tad far from the touristy Pantai Cenang area: about 20 minutes on foot to get to the far end of Pantai Cenang, but you can rent a motorbike or car and there's ample free parking space on the resort grounds. My only peeve about this place was the bed: it was literally as hard as wooden plank. But all in all, I loved my stay at the Senari Bay Resort - I felt like I was completely in a different world even though the crowded beaches of Pantai Cenang were just minutes away, and for the significantly lower price of accomodation (versus average resort prices in Langkawi) was real value-for-money in exchange for a wonderfully relaxing experience. You'd pay more to get crammed, dirty rooms with no hot water and non-existent service at majority of the budget hotels along Pantai Cenang!!

More photos and details about this hidden gem of a hideaway on my blog: http://thechubbybunny.weebly.com/1/post/2012/07/lovely-hidden-little-beach-sanctuary-at-unbeatable-prices-senari-bay-resort-langkawi.html

Room Tip: While the hotel grounds are really lovely and beautiful, the bed is quite literally as hard as a woo...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellochubbybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Senari Bay is quiet, away from the 'madness' of the overcrowded, over-hotelled, over-parachuted, over-bananaboated, over jetskied, beaches. Those things are only a 10 minute walk away if you want them, if you want to do shopping, or get a meal. The small cafe/eatery just 2 minutes away does just as good food though, and is even cheaper.
The family goes out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
One day we had found some coconuts on our walk back to the resort, but we were told those were no good for eating/drinking. Fancy when the next morning we woke up to find a tray with 4 freshly chopped coconuts waiting on a tray on our doorstep, straws sticking out :) !

The only drawback is the beach, which is not much of a swimming beach and with the row of concrete pillars with rusty wires sticking out, quite plainly unattractive. The beach can also be quite littered, but this may have been because of the season, direction of the wind, etc.
This eyesore, in total contrast to the rest of the resort, takes away a little bit (but not much!) of the experience. And, in my humble view, it could be fixed/landscaped quite easily and result in a truly magnificent beach-front. Just cutting off the pillars to the same level (no more wires sticking out); a bit of concrete over the top and the front; some paint and some decorative lights; a few sculpted steps leading down to the beach; and a daily (morning) clean-up of any rubbish that may have washed ashore, and this place would rate with the best on the island.
I would have given 5 stars (and more if I could) if the beach was like I have in mind it could be....

Needless to say: the rooms are comfortable, CLEAN, airconed, good shower/bath/toilet.
And, if there is anything you can think of to make life even better, just ask any of the family members and they will do anything within their power to get you sorted.

Last but not least, the only other places you will find for the same (or similar) price, are in the middle of the bussy bussy places, with rooms up on the x-th floor and/or not beach-front at all.

Senari Bay is highly recommended. Would definitely go back there if I'm back at Langkawi :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

senari bay hotel has been build up from scratch by the owner. Very lovely small family run resort. The location is just super, we loved the privacy. We rented a motorbike at the resort, in 2 min you can drive to the busy Cenang beach. The people running this place are super! The rooms were very clean and the garden well maintained

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a beautiful and peaceful place away from the busy Chenang beach strip. The hotel comprises of around a dozen rooms built in couple of huts. The rooms have basic facilities and beds and bath are decent. The rooms were spacious and have ACs in them.

The hotel is beside a bay and not a beach, which is beautiful nevertheless. The nearest beach is the Chenang, which is sort of 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Taxis can come to fetch you for 10 bucks but IMO its better to walk.

The hotel otherwise has basic facilities. It doesn't have any swimming pool and doesn't have any other recreation facilities. The biggest letdown is that there is no restaurant in the hotel and if you're in no mood for pizza (which is delivered), you'd have to walk 10min to get to the nearest joint.

This hotel is not the typical resort and offers just the basic facilities, but is a peaceful place and usually uncrowded. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and can pick you up from airport or ferry dock. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BudLuBudKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We still have a week left of our 4 week honeymoon stay here. What attracted us to Senari Bay was its location - a small and charming hideaway from the main drag still within walking distance although takes a good 15 minutes at a steady pace and you do need to be mobile.
As described it is a family run, friendly guest house right on its own small stretch of beach with sunloungers and deckchairs. Mangsor and his family have been extremely friendly and helpful during our stay. We are staying in Room 5 which is a corner room nearest the beach - the room is clean and spacious with en suite, small fridge, TV, free Wi-Fi (good connection) and tea making facilities. Rooms have air con and fan...everything you need for a no fuss, stress free holiday. On request we were loaned a hairdryer and they even arranged car hire for us - would highly recommend.

There is nothing we found lacking at Senari Bay and would certainly recommend it to those who are looking for a relaxing/away from the madding crowds holiday. We would highly recommend a stay here - keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room near the beach - as room has double aspect.(Room 5)
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NICKDAWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.7 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
5.1 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
428 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senari Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senari Bay Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang | Mk. Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: $36 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Senari Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Senari Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senari Bay Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing