We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as made out to be”
Review of Kitta Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

Kitta Seafood Restaurant
Restaurant details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
1,188 reviews
613 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Not as bad as made out to be”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I've read a few reviews of this place and they weren't very good. I stopped there while driving past one day and had lunch there.
The menu had prawns cooked with dry red chillies (like a Kung Pao). I asked if they'd substitute the normal prawns with a Mantis Prawn and they did. They picked out a big one from the tank and cooked it as I'd asked and served it with steamed rice. It was very nice, expensive but very nice. The other dish I tried was disappointing.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank percyvakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    8
    5
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheaters!!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

At first looked nice. Food was ok only. Very expensive ordered only 1fish, 1 vege and a bean curd. Charged us rm112 for 2 people. Full of mosquitoes. And owner says cannot do anything about mosquitoes. Unless u have too much of money and dunno what to do with it, please don't go here

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Poong126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rip off.”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This place is a complete rip off, the food is sub-standard, definitely do not order prawns or you will be charged astronomical prices. Hygene lacking, mossies biting etc.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“The disgrace of Langkawi. Still trying to forget our first honeymoon dinner.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our honeymoon in Langkawi have started with a horrible dinner.

Unfortunately due to internet connection problems, we did not check the reviews in trip advisor regarding this horrible place. It is located very close to our hotel (which is fantastic by the way) and it is advertised as well in a free tourist map. We were really hungry during our first night in Langkawi and we did not know where to eat so we decided to go to this side street restaurant which supposed to have good seafood. We ordered a glass noudle soup , lobster and mantis prawns. We also had apple juice which was ok (mostly ice but drinkable).

I really dont know from where to start:
1)The restaurant looks really old and dirty, full of dust and insects. You can even smell the cows that are sleeping close to this place.
2)Everything was served in plastic.
3)The actual quantity of juice in the glasses was 1 finger. All the rest was ice.
4)In the soup we found ants..
5)None in the "restaurant" takes care to protect customers from insects like mosquitos. In most of the restaurants in Langkawi they put something by the table to keep insects away.
6)Mantis prawns was the worst fish I have ever had. Almost non cooked , no taste, and extremely expensive. The personnel did not inform us what was the weight of the prawns and we were forced to pay around 150 RM ( 38 euros) for a horrible course.
6)Lobster was bit tasty BUT the real eatable meat was very little. The total weight of the lobster was 500gr and the meat was like 30gr. Another 150 RM ( 38 euros) for this.

Then we asked for the bill and surprise surprise: 375 RM or 95 euros in Langkawi Malaysia for a horrible dinner in a side street dirty old restaurant.. For the same amount of money we could have had at least 3 times excellent dinner in some of the best restaurants on the island.

It took us 3-4 days to forget this horrible experience and I was knocking my head to the wall that we were unlucky not to be able to read any reviews for this place in advance. This was a lesson and since then we have excellent dinner options in other places (i will write reviews very soon). We are still in the island and we are trying not even to look at this restaurant when crossing the street.

I really wish that no one else will experience this ever.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Efthymios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worse than a kick in the face with a golf shoe”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

To start my mum was crying because of how rude the staff were then once she saw the bill it only made it worst. I ordered chicken (they said they had only frozen chicken too)then 30 mins later after my partners mother had had her food for 20 mins I was told that they had no chicken. I then order what had to be the most tasteless beef I've ever had in my life. My farther and partner had ordered normal smaller prawns but were told they had none so they got tiger prawn which when asked were told about 150-200g each leather the bill said different of 250g for one my partner had and then 550g for two my father had. The (ice cold) fried rice arrived long after all meals had arrived. The lobster my mum got was small and had battered maybe 80g of meat apparently lobster(that tasted like bad fish). The shell that the plate was decorated with was cold and inside looked bad. I made sure I cracked it bad and the tail shell bad so that they cannot reuse the shell(like I'm sure they're doing) for the months to come and but bad or not lobster meat inside of it again and again for others. The bill arrived and that lobster was apparently 750g which it was nowhere near. ( I later at another restaurant got one that was bigger weighed and it was 659g) . Remember the chicken dish I order that they had run out of so I couldn't get, that was on the bill as well as 2 beers and 1 coke more than we had. Like I said worse than a kick in the face with a golf shoe. STAY CLEAR!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Brett O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitta Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Kuala Teriang, Langkawi
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing