We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bahagia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bahagia
Ranked #54 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

It's cheap and located in town, near to all the attractions in Kuah.
Twin room is quite small. Not enough space for 2 people's luggage. Toilet door can't be closed. But it's nice to have hot and cold shower.
Buffet breakfast is ok. Quite a variety of foods and drinks.
Disappointed: Staffs are not friendly.

Room Tip: Choose room with breakfast. It's cheaper and better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanwen430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    50
    43
    20
    23
See reviews for
51
43
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Last minute work travel arrangements to Pulau Langkawi on a school holidays means that your choice of rooms will be somewhat limited. Luckily for online booking, it could be done in the few hours before checking in. Check-in was relatively hassle free, and the staffs are somewhat friendly. And they still proves to be popular with tour groups frequenting this hotel.

Like reviewed previously, the rooms are clean, albeit smallish (at least the Standard, which is expected). Since the last visit, the hotel have a new addition; an attached convenience store and laundry across the road so it would be convenient for those who stays an extra few days. The hotel restaurant is much bigger now, with a similar daily spread on the breakfast buffet and good value for money ala-carte menu at the restaurant.

Location wise, it is located at Kuah town, but a bit off the main road. You can find a lot of nice restaurants (Thais, seafood, local fare), banks and shops nearby so if one is a bit adventurous, you might be in for a surprise

A bit off the main road, but not too bad

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with windows, you would feel less claustrophobic :) Eat for two at the hotel restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

It was easy check in. Staff not so friendly but was ok. Sadly NO wifi in the room and very limited coverage at the lobby. Room was very spacious. I love that its spacious - there was space to walk about in the room as I hate the compact room where we have to slide to move around...its just crazy to squeeze the value for money budget hotel concept. We took the family room with six single beds. Very clean sheets and comfortable pillows. The toilet was clean and spacious but no door lock so it was always to calculate headcount before entering the toilet :P

Breakfast was buffet style but not much variety and taste was just ok. Would be better if they prepare ala carte with choices to choose as too much food wasted on the table.

Parking was easy. We rented an MPV from the airport and found ample parkings at the many spaces in front of the hotel.

Shopping was easy. The chocolate and tableware empires, was only less than 5 minutes drive from the hotel.

We took a deal from the travel agent at the hotel lobby. We were lucky as we got a good deal . We chartered a boat for 4 hours - 7 pax - to visit the Bat cave, Crocodile cave, Eagle Feeding, Mangrove Tour and sun bathing Pulau Beras Basah. All that for RM320 ONLY :) simply cheap.

Overall i would recommend this hotel as a budget / value for money hotel for family getaway.

Room Tip: Try to get a room where the toilet door works :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farinaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panchkula, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

It's a nice budget hotel..definitely worth for money.located centrally in kuah city..The complimentary breakfast has not got much variety. ..otherwise I think it was a good stay..don't take deals from hotel..Will be bit costly

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratesh_bassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Bahagia Hotel, Langkawi

We stayed here for three nights whilst on Langkawi. It was perfectly adequate for our needs.

The room was compact but had everything you need. Air con, kettle, telephone, TV and good sized shower room. It was a bit rough around the edges, new linen is definitely needed. Some of the mosquitos managed to get in somehow so repellent is needed.

There is a mixture of emotions from front desk staff. Some are friendly, some are just so miserable. There is a convenience store in the hotel at reasonable prices. Breakfast was a typical Malay style not suited to westerners. We only at breakfast once!

If you are looking for a beach loafing hotel then it is not for you. It is in Kuah Town, which is not a touristic area of Langkawi. We hired a car to enable us to explore the island.

I would stay again, as for 11 gbp a night for a double room you can't really complain.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank allie1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatican City, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

When we have arrived in February into this hotel, the room was really dirty. It looked that even bed sheets were not changed after previous guests as we found a few hairs in our beds. There was a dust and human hair on floor, remains of a tooth paste on bathroom walls, toilet deck was greasy. The fridge, safe box and phone were not working.
We have immediately asked for a new room but we were told that the hotel was fully booked so we needed to wait until our room was cleaned to minimum acceptable level.
Our towels have never been changed through whole of our visit.
I recommend to avoid this hotel as it looks their hygiene standards are not accepteble at all.
In case you go to Langkawi for holiday we I do not recommend to get an accommodation in Kuah as it is very far from any attractions and beaches. As there is no public transport on Langkawi you need to go everywhere by taxi which costs quite a lot of money. I recommend to find an accommodation close to Chenang Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tajomnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

the rooms were average and quite small. but its okay for a decent budget . it has an in house tour operator , for travelling around langkawi and its pretty reasonable. the hotel is close to langwaki parade mall which is good thing because there is nothing much to do in kuah town besides visting the mall.there is also a spa close by which is a good thing. my suggestion would b skip the town entirely and stay the beach.

the staff is very helpful and give you great directions and help you book cabs and tours.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girl_on_the_go_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.1 mi away
Citin Hotel Langkawi
Citin Hotel Langkawi
#32 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Langkasuka
Hotel Langkasuka
#64 of 106 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#2 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Geopark Inn Langkawi
Geopark Inn Langkawi
#7 of 16 in Kuah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Azio Hotel
Azio Hotel
#51 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kuala Melaka Inn
Kuala Melaka Inn
#71 of 106 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahagia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahagia

Property: Hotel Bahagia
Address: No 68 - 78 Persiaran Bunga Raya | Langkawi Mall, Phase II, Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bahagia 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahagia Hotel Langkawi close to the city far from the ordinary . We proudly present to you our priced treasure bahagia hotel. We have successfully attained our debut in 2009 and strategically located at kuahtown, within close proximity to local shopping centre such as pizza hut ,teow shoon huat local restaurant and jetty . The 160 rooms features all the comfort of city living, Bahagia hotel features trendy and chic living where the highlights of our warm room interiors have endowed a refreshingand sizzling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Bahagia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing