We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of The Cabin Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cabin Langkawi
Ranked #26 of 161 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Very close to the beach, restaurant etc. Also very close to the road so sometimes it could get loud. The staff are very friendly and helpful. IKEA furnitute, flat screen with cable, free wireless, hot shower etc. As of March 2010 there were no safes in the rooms.
The only "problems":
(1) The cabins are made of metal and they get extremely hot if the ac is not running. You can't leave it running because you need the cardkey to activate electricity. On the upside the room cools down within 10 mins
(2) The bathroom floor is complete flat and the shower is in the corner opposite to the faucet. The result is an ankle deep puddle every time you take a shower. Not really a problem but just make sure it doesn;t go outside the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montreal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 160 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

Spent two nights stay here.. The room was excellent.. They changed towels everyday.. The place in the stretch of Pantai Cenang.. Lots of eateries and bazaar shops around.. Located 5 mins to the beach, what more can you ask for..

Rooms can get hot when you come back from your outing. This is normal since it's a container room..

Travel agency just across the street has great day trip.. I went my mangrove tour with them.. Excellent tour guidance and service!

I definitely will visit langkawi again.. Away from all those hustle bustle of city life.. :)

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue_Simplicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Yes, The Cabin is really rooms in portacabins. But, they still get a 4 star from me because it was a very comfortable stay.

Good points - Room and bed were clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly. Shower is hot with good water pressure. I sat outside - each cabin has it's own porch where you can sit, and noise was not a big problem for me. Close to the beach.

Things to think about - the bathroom design is open, meaning everything gets wet after a shower. This is not a problem for me, but might be for some people. There is free wifi, but it did not always work for me.

The price we paid - RM150 a night is reasonable, but perhaps at the top end for that type of property. You can probably get a room nearer the beach, perhaps with seaview, for that price. However, it might not be as nice a room as The Cabin.

It was my first time in Langkawi. I think the main problem with the island is the jellyfish. It does put you off going in the sea when you can see them on the shoreline.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

As most of the reviews here rightly say, The Cabin is excellent in many respects. It is well-located: <5mins walk to the beach, near to some shops and restaurants, practically nextdoor to the (excellent) Underwater World aquarium (and, I think, Cenang's only ATM). The rooms are well-appointed with decent furnishings, comfortable beds, and are cleaned daily. Although the bathroom needed some remedial work, and the airconditioner dripped during wet weather, the room was in good shape overall. Towels were provided and changed daily. There was also a fridge in the room which was handy for water and beers. Some people have said this is useless because without a keycard in the power slot, the electricity turns off when they go out. The simple solution was to request two keycards and keep one in the slot permanently! The staff were polite, although not all the reception staff spoke sufficient English (even, e.g., to deal with taking payment). There was free wifi, although the signal was very variable; sometimes it was impossible to connect. The bottom line is that for the price, you get a pretty good deal here; although it's not without problems, for the money, it's difficult to complain unless you are a very fussy traveller.

The main drawback, I'd say, is the noise. The resort essentially comprises a number of cargo containers which have been divided down the middle to create two rooms in each. The dividing wall is thin, and the front doors have a very strong self-closing mechanism that makes it impossible to shut the door quietly. If you have quiet neighbours who keep similar hours to you, no problem. If you have noisy ones who are up all hours, your sleep will suffer. This is particularly true of those cabins clustered around the small garden at the entrance to the compound, since everyone entering will walk past your cabin (sometimes talking very loudly or worse). The compound is also very open to the main road, and although it's located at the quieter end of Cenang (and thus about a 10min walk from most places serving breakfast etc), there is still a fair bit of vehicular traffic. The net effect is that unless you are a heavy sleeper or wear earplugs, your quality of sleep is unlikely to be very good. If a restful vacation is your priority, this could be a dealbreaker. Asking for a cabin down the quieter end of the resort could help (cabins with numbers from 1017-1022 or so might be best).

Another real problem, which even non-fussy types should be concerned with, was that the cleaners left our room open for three days running. They have a habit of entering via the sliding screen doors rather than the keycard-operated front doors, but unfortunately ours was repeatedly left unlocked upon exit. The first time, I thought I had accidentally left it unsecured. The second day, I knew I hadn't, and complained. The third day, we complained again, and it didn't happen again (we stayed for 10 nights). This is a real problem given that there are no room safes. Nothing was stolen, perhaps because there are a fair few staff around cleaning and maintaining the place all day, but having said that, the place is unmanned of an evening.

Overall, we quite liked The Cabin, and I would still recommend it as a good "flashpacker" and budget hotel traveller destination, despite its drawbacks. If we were to return, we'd probably try to get somewhere more peaceful, but that is really about personal preference.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leejones_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I'm being travel many place, this is the place let's me feel so touch and like HOME. The touching moment will be the delicate staff, who do whatever they can to support you. Moreover, they are friendly and nice. As Malaysian, I'm so proud to be able stay in this hostel where own by Malaysian. Its not because of the nationism, another hand, its the good work and willing to serve make it perfect.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
Thank Kenqiqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at the Cabin for a week and really enjoyed the experience. The rooms are small but had everything you need for a laid-back holiday. Although it's on the main drag we were never disturbed by noise at night and the beach is only a couple of minutes away. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and kept the room clean, changing bedding and towels every day. Free wi-fi is included and worked well.
Very minor negatives:
- Because they aren't luxury hotel rooms there is no storage so clothes stay in the suitcase until needed.
- Cable tv was advertised but it was limited to a couple of extra channels; movies and cartoons (no news channel). Children won't complain though!

All in all, a very imaginative solution to budget accomodation at a very high overall standard.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clefv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

I took my family to langkawi to wrap up 2010 and I am so happy everything worked out well especially the accomodation at theCabin.
We got 2 connecting rooms, one whole cabin for 7 of us for 2 nights.
I love the strategic location right in the middle of all u need at Cenang beach.
U can shop, eat, get massage within walking distance.

The place is extremely clean, surrounding outside the room is very well kept. Nothing fancy or extravagant but it does catchy elements. with nice, cute lighting decoration at night and the laser light at entrance floor that my son luv so much.

The room is very nice for the price. The nice bed, the shower, the tv...well I wud say I get all I need in vacation for rest after whole day out exploring the island. Just good enough. No complaint. Wortth every single cents I spent here. I would definitely come again to this place.

But management may need to consider about controlling mosquitos and ants. I didn't get bitten by mosquito but there's quite mosquitos and ants in the bathroom on my second day, though they didn't cause any problem to me.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Fina Fine Homes
Casa Fina Fine Homes
#19 of 161 in Langkawi
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#2 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#5 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Langkawi Dormitorio
Langkawi Dormitorio
#2 of 42 in Pantai Cenang
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
665 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Pari-Pari Langkawi
La Pari-Pari Langkawi
#1 of 7 in Pantai Tengah
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabin Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabin Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Chenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: $37 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cabin Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cabin Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing