We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mattress are OFF. Could not sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rasa Eksotika Vacation Home
Ranked #92 of 140 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mattress are OFF. Could not sleep”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a very beautiful place! Just beautiful. Good decoration and good add ons but you can't sleep as the mattresses are ruined and you don't understand it till you go to bed. As you put your weight on the bed it starts going down and you understand that you have made a big mistake by just looking at this beautiful place and not trying the mattress.
We just were counting the seconds till morning and early when the fist daylight appeared we jumped out of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perthiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    14
    13
    7
See reviews for
8
14
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Hi All,

A few point to note about this home type accommodation:

1) Location: Pantai Cenang- about 150m-200m walk from the main road, near to beach
2) The room itself is so so only, nothing great, items in the room looks old and thrashed out.
3) Not much security at front door, just a normal plank wood and a key to open, so cant keep anything valuable inside.
4) Bathroom look so old.
5) Has an old CRT tv and not LCD, limited tv channel.
6) Ok for cheap stay
7) Has a ceiling fan, aircond. heater in the bathroom and a fridge.

Will not stay here again as the surrounding and rooms were just not up to a level of comfort besides the basic amenities given in the room unless you are up to a village style living...:)

Thank you

Room Tip: No suggestion, avoid if have better budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

When we arrived at Rasa everything seemed ok till we were lead 20/30 meters down a path behind the reception. Being led past someone's house daubed in grafitti we were lead to our room which seemed very isolated opposite an untidy area of untidy land. On entering the room seemed nicely decorated but there were stains on the bed, the room smelled foisty, and the bathroom was in a terrible condition despite the fact that other people had complained about the state of it in previous trip advisor reviews of this room (Chantek). This place maybe ok for travellers on a budget but at the price they are charging it maybe too expensive for that market. We sought out another hotel and moved just hours after checking in, the sunset beach resort was a little extra but I wish I'd spent just that bit more to begin with to avoid this hastle and losing 4 nights accommodation!

Room Tip: Pick a room in another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hopkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Liked the bali styled deco of the room..can't say much about the location cos it's so close to the beach n everything else..there is space for parking of the rented car too..the free breakfast kept us full n we don hav to worry much early in the morning about where to find things to eat..the staff are helpful too. Keep it up:)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalaysiaAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Our trip was on budget hence, we're not here for luxury.
Location-wise, Rasa is located along Pantai Cenang, so its just 5 mins to the beach which is very convenient.
Room is clean (I'm happy so long as there's aircon and the bed is clean) and bed is very soft.
If u are a breakfast person then you might face some difficulty getting breakfast along Pantai Cenang especially if you are a early morning person also.
There's a kettle in our room but there's no coffee/tea making facilities available.
The hook for the shower-head is damage and shower room is very basic.
Overall, I'm happy with the room.
As for the receiption counter, you need some luck to see the staff around. Twice, we went to the reception counter and the staff is not around.

You dun have to worry there's no accomodation (but maybe the budget) coz there's plenty of places offering accomodation, just the price & location differs. :D

Note: Please rent a car / bike to get around the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ah_Ting80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We chose Rasa, because I was worried that is going to be hard to find accommodation in Langkawi. In August is not so busy here so you don't have to book in advance. We paid for Chomel room £15 include aircon. Next to us are offering room include air con, swimming pool and freezer for £14 so even better then here.

When we arrived and opened room was still untidy, so we have to wait till will be clean, you can see everywhere that people are lazy during Ramadan.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebinoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Booked 2 side by side rooms for my family trip 3 months in advance but was given 2 rooms not even at the same row (room names were stated in the confirmation). The excuse given was the fuse box wasn't working well in the smaller room and right after that, a young couple walked into the room!

The family room was spacious and nicely decorated BUT bedsheets and pillow sheets weren't clean. We got the smaller room just 2 rooms away after requesting to have it change yet the pillows smelled and the toilet wall has lizards' droppings on it.

My family and I are not being picky but this is a basic thing a hotel / guest house should maintain - cleanliness. We went back to the family room a couple of hours after check out as we left something there, the bedsheets were still not changed for the new check ins.

The good thing about the place was it's near to the beach, about 3-5 minutes walk away. Convenient shops, restaurants, shopping and tours information counters are near by too. One more good thing is we weren't charged extra for checking out 2 hours later than the normal check out time.

One last thing, there were a lot of mosquitoes roaming wildly at night. I advise people who are planning to stay there to get mosquito coil and burn it through out the night to chase the blood suckers away. I've got bitten 7 times.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stellarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
9.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.2 mi away
Easy Crystal Hotel
Easy Crystal Hotel
#56 of 100 in Langkawi
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#25 of 100 in Langkawi
796 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 20 in Pantai Cenang
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tubotel
Tubotel
#8 of 140 in Langkawi
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rasa Eksotika Vacation Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rasa Eksotika Vacation Home

Property: Rasa Eksotika Vacation Home
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms not only large; it is loaded with comfort and convenience. Eclectic decor in contemporary colors surrounds a signature Balinese style. You’ll find nice sofa, color TV, writing table, dry kitchen and makeup mirror on the vanity, also sleeping area and living space with coffee maker and refrigerator. Complimentary coffee and tea is available. Air-conditioned and balconied, the room is accessible by car to the door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rasa Eksotika Vacation Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rasa Eksotika Vacation Home Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing