We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Failed to see any kindness”
Review of Shirin Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shirin Homestay
Ranked #88 of 148 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Failed to see any kindness”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I walked in and was told by a worker that the boss is at the airport and if i wait for her to get back i could have the room, so i decided to wait as most places were booked out and it was a busy weekend with an event on in Langkawi. She was supposed to be back in an hour but she didnt get back til 3.5 hrs later. When the owner got back she just yelled "you cant stay here! im busy" and shut her office door. Nasty attitude.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LuluNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

me and my buddy are about to leave today after one week here, originally we were only staying two nights and that was by accident, but this place is a little gem just accross from the beach. the owners are the nicest people on the planet and will literally bend over backwards o help you out they drove us to night markets and offered us the use of their cycles and motorbikes, told us about the good places to stay at our next destinations, sorted out our travel so we wouldnt have to pay commission at an agent and also have offered to drive us to the ferry port! the place we stayed was a three bedroom house just past the main ofice, it has warm showers cable telly a living room with big couches and the rooms have aircon and are very clean and tidy, there is no charge for towels and sheets etc (like you find with most) they also have beaqch equipment that you can borrow for free as long as you bring them back obv (balls bats beachmats mask and snorkels etc.)but the main reason we stayed an extra five day was the owners and how nice and helpfull they were. i would defo reccommend this place to anyone! shirin guest house! best budget accom on langkawi in my opinion!

Room Tip: choose the house just opposite to the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leebardsley1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I was lucky that I turned the property next door down and kept walking as this group of chalets is a hidden gem in the centre of Cenang's strip.

The owners are extremely friendly and are there to help you out all day everyday, unless at night when they are dead asleep, but we should all be able to survive a few hours without assistance!!

The chalets are basic, but clean with air-con and attached shower and toilet. There is also Wi-Fi.

They rent motorcycles out too but you may be able to find cheaper down the road with a little more hassle.

The staff will help you with your onward journey by booking taxis and giving you the right information on ferry times and connecting buses whilst sharing a drink with you in the evening.

I would recommend people to stay at this friendly and quiet place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AA285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed here whilst on a stopover in Langkawi. We were on quite a budget so wanted somewhere cheap to stay, but wanted a nice clean place that was in a good location. Compared to other guest houses we looked at in the Cenang Beach area, this was a great find!! For the price we had a cute little hut of our own, that although basic with cold shower, you could see that Hiroko the owner took pride in making the room look nice. She was so friendly for our entire stay, and we often sat to have a drink with her.
She has lots of cute cats, and loves taking care of her garden and will show you some of the flowers she has grown. Although the place could do with some work, and is scruffy in places, all in all for the money its perfect! The rooms all have aircon, and wifi which is a bonus!
You can even have a cup of tea brought to your room in the mornings which is a lovely touch. I very much enjoyed my stay here!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzylambUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I have a very positive experience of staying at this lovely guesthouse. I stayed there during the end of June 2010 and found the place perfect for the backpackers – very friendly staff. It’s a very calm place and best value for the reasonable price. The rooms are clean but there is a problem which the management of this place need to address is that there is a need to replace the electrical fitting which looks quite old and needs to be replaced with modern one! In addition, there are no blankets provided so sometimes, it gets a bit chilly :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaika707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed one night at shirin due to problems with the immigration.
Its not the most fancy hotel we have stayed in, but its clean and very cheap.
The best is the very friendly owner who took good care of us when we struggling with
the immigration. She even drove us to the airport because we were late.
Its located conveniently near everything, and a few minutes walk to the beach.
Wifi was free and fast.
I give it my best recommendations

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kms_denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONG KONG
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

The owner is very friendly and helpful. Room is nic. But not all the rooms with hot shower. If you are looking for a low cost staying place with good service, this is the one.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamazingtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
Easy Crystal Hotel
Easy Crystal Hotel
#56 of 103 in Langkawi
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mali Mali Beach Resort
Mali Mali Beach Resort
#10 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cenang Valley Inn
Cenang Valley Inn
#13 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melati's VIP Female Dorm
Melati's VIP Female Dorm
#3 of 37 in Pantai Cenang
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Idaman Motel
Casa Idaman Motel
#64 of 147 in Langkawi
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Two Peace House
Two Peace House
#30 of 147 in Langkawi
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirin Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirin Homestay

Property: Shirin Homestay
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Hotel Class:2 star — Shirin Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Shirin Homestay Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing