We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vomit comet”
Review of Langkawi Ferry

Langkawi Ferry
Ranked #38 of 91 things to do in Langkawi
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“vomit comet”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This ferry ride was quite tough. Nothing to do with the ferry - I suppose - other than very cool air conditioning. The sea was choppy so the ride was quite an event. The ferry seemed good and safe.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sr_lopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    123
    147
    46
    62
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Langkawi Ferry”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Ok, Myself and my wife went to penang with open options of getting to Langkawi from penang after reading forums b4 we went. We Decided to take the ferry once we were there as the lady at the booking office said there were 2 types of ferry, the sit down, stay inside or the one where you could smoke, she explained the one where you could smoke allowed passengers outside at the rear of the boat, we booked that one, what a pleasant 3 hour trip, some views, the breeze, the company, well worth the trip, highly recommend, there is room for about 50 people outside so take it on and enjoy,,, hope this helps as i was not sure after the reviews i found b4 going,,,

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank darren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi/vietnam
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Just for the trip”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The trip by the ferry is not special, but if you go diving you will get extra space ( ie. a whole row of seat for yourself).

As snorkeler or traveler you will have to seat very tide and it can be very noisy, lot of daily tourist keep chatting loud etc.

Best if you know the crew like I did since i went diving 4 days consecutively and it is a good experience.

Food of the ferry company is bad

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MacHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip to enjoy.”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

There are two means to reach Langkawi, by air or by ferry, as it is an isolated island. I preferred the later one on my way from Penang to Langkawi, as it felt attractive and obviously less expensive (60MYR). Though it was a very early morning journey, but it was not at all a problem even from a distance of Batuferingi. There was a long que in the entrance but it gave us an opportunity to get some great pictures of the jetty.
The initial thrill of sea-journey was followed by a short nap. The seats were comfortable enough to let me complete the rest of my morning sleep. After an hour or so, we left our seats and went on to the roof top, where we found all the honeymoon couples and young guys (at heart). The wind messed up our hair but was very soothing and did not let us feel the blazing sun at all. There was blue all around us. The sky was blue, so was the sea.
As we reached near Langkawi, the colour of the water began to change and became greenish blue. Only a person who has seen this scenary knows how wonderful the tall hills emmerging the green sea look. It was really a wonderful trip to enjoy.
It took us about three and a half hour to reach Langkawi. The Langkawi port seemed more attractive with so many colourful yatches. We were welcomed in the port with a magnificent free MAP of Langkawi, containing all informations and attractions of the this wonderful island. Just loved the trip.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank DrAdnanShareef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Does the job...just”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Took the Langkawi ferry from Kuala Perlis in January 2012. Do not come expecting a brand new, clean ferry (as advertised). Chances are what you'd get is a small and barely comfortable seats. Most seats are ripped and the overall interior is due for an upgrade.

The reason for this is perhaps due to the fact that this ferry is the main transportation to Langkawi for most. Perhaps demand for service hasn't been adequately met by supply of good quality, clean boats.

At the end of the day, it gets you to Langkawi safely and within reasonable time - relatively organised and the will put on a dvd international or local movies for entertainment.

I however, would prefer to fly next time.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank F1gar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langkawi Ferry also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Langkawi Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing