We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect find......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Valley Holiday Houses
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect find......”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and daughters (aged 10 & 12) stayed here Dec'12/Jan'13 after scouring many options on Langkawi. We originally wanted a beach location but were either very expensive or not quite the standard we were looking for. We found their site by chance whilst looking for hotels. We decided to go for Sunset Valley based on the reviews & seemed a good alternative option from a beach front resort. GREAT decision!

On entering the gates to Sunset Valley it was more beautiful & pristene than the photos. We stayed in the Forest House. Beautiful house, we really felt relaxed & at home. It is in a beautiful setting. I am glad we chose to stay in a more rural location and just travel to the beaches. Great to have so much space especially for a family. Much much nicer than a sterile hotel, no matter how nice. Pool was great although there didn't seem to be any parasols which would have been nice. WE only catered for our breakfasts, eating out cheap.

We didn't have much of a problem with mosquitos as we had anticipated, we used no sprays etc...Nets over all the beds huge bonus & sufficient. Sunset Valley is in a rural location so do expect some "critters" but there weren't as many as we expected.

Gudrun has just taken over ownership of the property a few weeks prior to us arriving & was very helpful.

To stay at this property you really need a vehicle & in general for Langkawi in order to go off & explore. SUnset Valley arranged our vehicle & there was seamless service with the car company both on collection & delivery of the car. Fuel very cheap.

I wish we could package Forest House & take it on every holiday! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hiss70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    49
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
110
109
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

In December 2012 we (2 adults and one five year old child) stayed for 10 nights in the Sunset Valley. At the beginning of December the ownership of the accommodation has changed, thus we were the first guests of the new hosts Gudrun and David. After this time we are convinced, that the high reputation of the Sunset Valley will also endure in future.
Our bungalow was the gatehouse, which is the only house that is built in a more European style. Although, the house had not the exotic touch of the traditional Malayan wood houses, we felt fully comfortable. The house has a bedroom with a double bed and a small living room with an open kitchen. Furthermore, there is a bath with toilet and shower. Since the house has a kind of natural ventilation, we did not need to use the air condition, which was available in the bedroom. The whole bungalow is furnished in a functional and very tasteful style.
Due to the position of the Sunset Valley in the middle of the island, it is a good basis to explore Lankawi, e.g. using a rental car. On the other hand it is also possible to spend a day relaxing at the pool area or the terrace of the houses. Furthermore, we highly appreciated the help, Gudrun and David gave us with the organization of some day trips and the rental of the car. Especially the boat trip around the island and the mangrove tour were our highlights.
Finally, we would like to thank Gudrun and David for the great time and their hospitality. We can fully recommend the Sunset Valley!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sitzplatzaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed in Langkawi many times(family of four) so know the island well and we normally stay at the Berjaya and the like, so this was a bit of a chance. All the info about it was too good to ignore. Wonderful settings, great accommodation, traditional Malay houses WOW. If you don't like "wildlife" like a previous family then stay in a hotel or just stay at home. It's Malaysia and there is wildlife no matter where you go. Only 5 houses 'spacious' as well as the main house on the site and is peaceful, glorious padi fields surround it. Nets help for mosquito's but back this up With spray and burning coils, and just use fans. the houses are made that air flows through the houses the traditional way.
You will need a car, 10mins from Kuah the main town and port. You can drive around the island in an hour. Pantai Cenang is the place to hire a car for about RM70 a day, we got the little car for a giggle and had a fun time. If you are a foody! Then you will enjoy the 'pasa Malam' go to Kuah as this is the best, they are held all over the island on different days. Plenty of western food places if thats what you really want and also lots of tourist food places for local food- would recommend you go to the places the locals eat at as this tends to be the best food. Chinese place on the corner in Kuah town by all the duty free shops is great for noodles,chicken rice and other local greats. the eating experience is not what you would expect for 'western' surrounds so be open minded and just enjoy the wonderful food. The Mangrove tour on a boat is great and well worth the trip, 20 mins from Sunset valley and they can book it for you. Thank you Gudrun for our stay, and hope to return this year. Sorry for the long review but if you have to been here or Malaysia before it helps to have some inside info....sunset valley should not be missed!

Room Tip: Just be open minded and enjoy yourself and try different things. Rooms big enough for a family as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imw3671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Sunset Valley for 2 weeks at Christmas time. The resort is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for beautiful flora and fauna in combination with a fantastic location. Surrounded by jungle and paddy's you sleep in a beautiful built traditional Malay house. It was paradise to us.
Gudrun's service and hospitality were impressive, the peaceful surroundings did the rest. We definitively will come back!
Ed and Jose Meijer

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hehallozeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our family of 4 planned to stay 4 nights here, but could not tolerate the wildlife INSIDE the house and left after 2 nights. A large gecko next to the main bed, 2 frogs, and lots of ants. Ants on the floor is fine, but its not when they start crawling onto the beds...I had trouble sleeping the second night when the "invasion" become more serious.

To be fair, the place is really nice, and the view of the mountains is lovely. The new owner is also very friendly. In fact, my 2 young kids actually thought having all this wildlife around was fun and exciting!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in the forest house and our hosts were most welcoming.
The forest house is spacious enough for two adults and two kids, any extra people would have to sleep without nets and the mosquitos are quite vicious!
come prepared with mosquito spray in hand and plug in mosquito repellants.
I would advise you to take advantage of the AC which is 25 RM per day extra, we had trouble sleeping without it, it is pretty humid at night time. The house is quite charming and quaint and open to the elements from all sides, so there is plenty of wildlife inside and outside!
Our only criticism is that we would have preferred to have had a cleaner available during our stay to empty bins and do some general clean up and we would have been happy to pay for this, we found the house kitchen to be below our required standards of hygiene even on our day of arrival and were not always comfortable to use it. for short stays it is probably not such a big issue, but we stayed for 8 days and within 5 days we had bathroom bins overflowing with tissues which we could not put down the toilets (or it will block the system) and the bin outside was also packed to the top with our rubbish and not emptied until we left.
We used the swimming pool which is a very nice area and quite picturesque with the paddy fields behind and the mountains in the distance, but developed an ear infection towards the end of the week which we thought was because the pool was not properly cleaned, at the start of our stay there appeared to be no chlorine in the pool, but the last two days it seemed that somebody had rectified this issue and there was too much chlorine. It might be worth investing in a proper PH management system for the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We rented the Padi and Forest houses for our family of 5 for five days. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful and we particularly enjoyed our afternoon on the Educat catamaran. We found mosquitoes were not a problem although we used plug in and personal repellants just in case. The pool area was lovely but with more than two families space was at a premium. Our family loved swimming in the waterfall pools and trying the night markets.
You must have a car to stay here as the nearest food shack is a 30 min walk and we did find that local restaurants were difficult to find. Driving at night is not a good idea so keep a stock of food in your fridge.

Room Tip: The Forest house is large and well equipped. Padi house more suitable for two persons and not three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gollyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrinaLangkawi, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
We love that our guests had a very nice time and want to put this review in perspective of the ramadan time, thats is why it was a problem to get food. Then our local stalls are all closed. Normaly we have already at 10 minutes walk a very nice restaurant. We have a convenient store under our house which is very "convenient" if you like to stay on our spot.

We have good maintained roads, but you always have to look for "wild" life, like buffalo's or cow's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
9.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
4.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Residence Langkawi
The Ocean Residence Langkawi
#10 of 145 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Valley Holiday Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Valley Holiday Houses

Property: Sunset Valley Holiday Houses
Address: Lot 2220 Jalan Makam Mahsuri | Kg Teluk, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Valley Holiday Houses 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Valley is located in the middle of the main island of Langkawi's 99 island archipelago overlooking the beautiful rice paddies with a view to the 500 million year old geological formation and rain forest. Our resort has 6 traditional Malay houses for rent, all with inside and outside living areas, kitchen, veranda, air conditioning and western style luxury bathrooms. There is a swimming pool and pavilion with BBQ facilities in a common area. We also offer breakfast as an optional extra on request. In our little convenience store our guests can buy food and drinks for meal preparation in their own houses. This is especially convenient for late arrivals. We are happy to help and advise our guests choose the most suitable island activities for them. The most popular activities are: snorkeling or scuba diving, mangrove boat tours, luxury boat cruises, island hopping, jungle walking, kayak tours, SPA and massage treatments, and many more.Another great way to discover the island is by car or motorbike which we are happy to book for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Valley Holiday Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langkawi Holiday Houses - Sunset Valley Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing