We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can definately be recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Valley Holiday Houses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We stayed in the farmer house for 4 nights and it was fantastic. We loved the surrounding area and the peacefullness of it. Ria and Andre were so so sweet and very helpful. The houses were just amazing if you want to experience a traditional Malay house.
This is a really good place for people who want to avoid the crowds in Langkawi.
We loved it and definately worth the money! We will come back again for sure!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilihijau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Valley Holiday Houses
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 273 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our 4 month old baby and 4 year old. We really loved it. The Paddy house was lovely. We felt very relaxed here with our family. We hired a car from Sunset Valley and found it very easy to travel around the island. I would definitely recommend Sunset Valley if you are travelling with or without children. We would like to come back and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

You’ll love this place if you don't mind sharing your holiday house with a gecko and sleeping with windows wide open for a cool night breeze. You are staying in the middle of the island (rental car recommended) and in the middle if beautiful Langkawi nature. This place is not for you if you rely on air conditioned rooms and service staff to make your holiday. It is a small resort with only five holiday houses and the private houses where the “creators” André and Ria live. Both were great hosts – we felt more being with friends than on a commercial resort. The holiday houses are well built and in very good shape. We stayed with our almost 2 year old baby boy in “forest house”. Were looking for a place with 2 bed rooms and own kitchen. The “forest house” was great as it had the space we needed and a truly grand terrace with a lovely view as a plus. “Sunset Valley” is a relaxed place where you feel quickly at home. The name is well picked as you can experience a stunning sunset while having a dip in the pool. The pool is medium sized, has very nice unchlorinated water and is very nicely located with a view on the valley. We went for a dip every morning and late afternoon. Our infant boy loved it, too. Having free wireless internet access at our holiday house was a much appreciated plus! André & Ria offer few very useful services - rental car, massage, basic food supply and a boat trip. They do the unique “sunset boat tour” with the boat they used when sailing the world. The tour and the stories from their world sail was a great highlight of our stay. Again, we felt more like guests than tourists. Don’t miss the traditional Malaysian massage that Ria will happily organise for you. A great “kick-start” to get rid of any stress you may still carry with you when arriving on Langkawi island :-)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid_Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights in December 2010. I must say the owners - Ria and Andre have built an excellent place. It is about 15 minutes drive from the airport and about 30 minutes from Kuah. We stayed in the Paddy House which was very clean and had most of the basic amenities which were needed for a comfortable stay. There is no room service or TV here, but in such a location who needs it anyway. There is a well stocked kitchen from where we could take basic food items such as bread n juice. We also rented out the car for a whole day since it is the best way to get around the island. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wishes to be away from the hustle and bustle of a city. I would like to thank Ria and Andre for making our stay very comfortable and memorable!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Unlike other guests who stayed with families/spouse , we are a group of 9 staying for 4 nights. The valley is located in the middle of LGK , just 15-20mins ride from the airport. We didn't drive and so we called the van-liked taxi as our daily transportation. It is a tranquil place with gorgeous sunset view every evening ( that's why it is named ). We shared the Field house and Forest House with extra beds. As it is surrounded by rubber tree and lawn, you can hardly resist the mosquito visit , esp in bed time. The mos net became very important for a peaceful sleeping night. Unfortunately , 3 of our friends who slept on extra beds without the net protection became delicious meal of them on the first night. However , we improved the situation by burning mos coil incense brought from the shopping mall the other nights. The kitchen was well-equipped with cooking utensil. We just brought food in the Fair Shopping Mall in Kuah Town and enjoyed cooking ourselves. The design and material of the Malay house are so perfect for the natural breeze to be around during day and night. No air-con is definitely not a problem at all. The spacious veranda in the Field house became our common place for dinner , gathering and fun . The most funniest place for us was the swimming pool. It is cleaned every morning. we found a lot of swimming rings & plastic balls which are for swimming-aided purpose. However, we used them to play ball game, fighting each other... making lots of laughter. Thanks to the guest who didn't mind and gave us smile when seeing so many crazy guys.... :P
we do enjoy a lot in this wonderful and lovely holiday house and definitely will miss our time there.
To give advise, I won't say this is a hotel if you are looking for hotel-like services and facilities. I understood from Ria that there is no drainage system in LGK . To avoid blockage , we are told not to throw paper in the toilet but in the bin. That is good to the environment as they build the bio-degradable system in which the discharged water will fertilize the farm nearby. No room services as they want to keep the room rate as low as possible . However , you can request the services for just few RM. We are fine with it as we shared the duties and bring our own towels.
On the other hand, if you look for something different from city life , love the nature, love to have privacy , as well as comfortable and peaceful live, Sunset Valley is definitely a place for you. I highly recommend to reserve all 5 houses if you travel with a large group of friends. Do book few months in-advance as the houses are always occupied with long-stayed guests.
Last but not least , I should thank to Andre and Ria 's warm welcoming and hospitality . Though we were out most of the time, Andre and Ria are always friendly and ready for help ! Wish I can be back in the future !

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol_Chau_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in the Gate House and we just loved it!

The house has good size for 2 Pax and it is a fully fitted holiday home where really nothing is missing: Fridge, Gas Cooker, Sink, CD Player, dishes, washing up liquid, ..

(The "holiday home style" is the reason why there is no hotel-like roomservice, which was absolutely fine for us, as there is for example a big rubbish can round the corner)

It is a bit unusual in the beginning, not to throw toilet paper in the toilet, but in a bin, but there is a "bottom shower" which is very refreshing as well :)

The whole
area is beautiful, a great view. There are only a few holiday homes, which are all different style and offer different sizes. Everything is really
beautifully designed.

We had a rich breakfast everyday with the owners Ria & Andre, which are really nice. They make a warm atmosphere where you feel good.

Our Gate House was close to a rubber tree plantage, which gave shadow to the house. There was fresh air, so the AC was not necessary at all.

There were not many annoying insects, and also the cute Gekkos took care :)
I especially liked the 2 cats and 3 dogs, they are so cute and friendly! The puppy was teasing one adult dog all the time, and sometimes the cats. It was so funny and cute! No worries if you don't like cats or dogs, they are never annoying!

The resort offers a food Shopping Corner with good prices and also you can rent a Car, motorbike or Bike to explore Langkawi!

I would come back if there is a chance, I loved this Place!!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daemonchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We were at Sunset Valley for nearly three weeks and mostly in the Farmer's Cottage which is a generous house for two people. The location is very central and with a car it is easy distance to everywhere. Andre and Ria were lovely, checking in to see that we were comfortable and whether we needed anything. The property is wonderful in terms of space and privacy. With only five houses you are well spaced out. Air condtioning really is not necessary, the houses are well equipped with fans and the design of the homes means that air ventilation is excellent - very comfortable. Sunset Valley is very well priced against other alternatives in Langkawi - we will definitely be back next time!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalGal035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
9.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
4.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
5.9 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
6.3 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Valley Holiday Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Valley Holiday Houses

Address: Lot 2220 Jalan Makam Mahsuri | Kg Teluk, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range: $77 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Valley Holiday Houses 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Valley is located in the middle of the main island of Langkawi's 99 island archipelago overlooking the beautiful rice paddies with a view to the 500 million year old geological formation and rain forest. Our resort has 6 traditional Malay houses for rent, all with inside and outside living areas, kitchen, veranda, air conditioning and western style luxury bathrooms. There is a swimming pool and pavilion with BBQ facilities in a common area. We also offer breakfast as an optional extra on request. In our little convenience store our guests can buy food and drinks for meal preparation in their own houses. This is especially convenient for late arrivals. We are happy to help and advise our guests choose the most suitable island activities for them. The most popular activities are: snorkeling or scuba diving, mangrove boat tours, luxury boat cruises, island hopping, jungle walking, kayak tours, SPA and massage treatments, and many more.Another great way to discover the island is by car or motorbike which we are happy to book for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Valley Holiday Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langkawi Holiday Houses - Sunset Valley Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing