We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect day and hosts”
Review of Rampant Sailing - CLOSED

Rampant Sailing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Rampant Sailing is a day cruise and sunset cruise charter company specializing in small groups of 12 or less, with quality service & real sailing. We will show you Langkawi's southern islands & geopark in a comfortable & relaxing way. Experience the fauna & flora up close in an area that many tourists never get to see. This pristine catamaran is fully licensed & insured with a crew accustomed to mega yacht standards of service. There is no other boat trip in Langkawi to compare....
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfect day and hosts”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We booked a day trip with Carl and Bea after a recommendation from a friend and we were not disappointed. The entire trip was a great adventure which our two kids (5&6) also enjoyed immensely. Carl and Bea are fantastic hosts who strike the right balance between running a tight ship and making the day a personal experience. The food was excellent and the beverage service never stopped. Thanks guys for a great experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLive2Travel_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most perfect day....glad I spent it with you....thanks to Lou Reed”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Spent the day with Rampant Sailing....and it was indeed a most perfect day......relaxing on the boat...swimming off it...isle hopping...a lovely lunch and perfect hospitality! The six glorious hours just flew too fast, and Carl and Bea are a terrific team and a lot of fun. A must if you visit Langkawi...it certainly has been our BEST day here. The Wellington family

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Favourite Day in Langkawi”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A huge thank you to Bea and Carl for an absolutely amazing trip. They were wonderful hosts who kept us topped up with drinks and interesting conversation all day. We loved being pulled along holding the net, lazing in the hammocks, enjoying a tasty lunch, swimming in the sea but most of all, we loved when the wind blew up enough to sail and we got soaked lounging on the webbing. Thank you for a truly great day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 4_Deb_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome day out in Langkawi”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had an amazing day trip on Rampant with Bea and Carl, there hospitality was extremely generous. Scenery was breath taking, water warm, drinks cold. Thanks

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thanks to Tripadvisor for this trip!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had just 3 days in Langkawi and were thinking how we could cover all the attractions at this lovely place. We then decided that we will do just one thing and will spend the rest of the time at the Pelangi resort where we were staying, rather than hopping from one place to another within the limited time we had. We had a look at tripadvisor and saw that Rampant was the highest rated one here. And true to the ratings, what an amazing day it was.. After sitting at boring cubicles and looking at computer screens every day, this day was really the needed change. We are just back from the day trip with Rampant sailing today(30th March) and I felt I needed to write this one so that others are also benefitted the same way I was.
Our hosts (Carl and Bea) were really wonderful people and we were fortunate that we got to share the boat with some really nice people. There were only 10 people on board apart from the hosts and together we covered about 8 different nationalities.. This was probably the only place in a holiday spot where you might open up and want to talk to people from other countries. That in itself, was an experience.
The places that we covered during the trip included some really beautiful parts of Langkawi. We were picked up from Resorts World Langkawi and we spend around 6 & 1/2 hours in the boat, but during the trip, we really lost track of time. The hosts just kept us occupied with different activities. The part that I enjoyed the most was the salt water jacuzzi. Unfortunately, neither me nor my wife knew swimming. Otherwise, there were plenty of opportunities to swim or kayak as well. There was also a jungle walk tour where Bea shared with us her knowledge of the mangrove forests.
The beach where we landed to tour the jungle was the most beautiful that I have seen in Langkawi.
The hosts were a really lovely couple and I noticed that they specifically took care that none of the guests were ever short of drinks. As soon as I finish my drink, Bea would pop up the question, " Hey, would you like to have some more drinks .. " :) They took care to make their guests feel at home in their catamaran. Their knowledge about the place as well as their ability to keep all their guests happy is really great. Hope to do this trip again, when we visit Langkawi the next time.

Thanks,
Abu

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kerboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rampant Sailing also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing