We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boating experience”
Review of Rampant Sailing - CLOSED

Rampant Sailing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Rampant Sailing is a day cruise and sunset cruise charter company specializing in small groups of 12 or less, with quality service & real sailing. We will show you Langkawi's southern islands & geopark in a comfortable & relaxing way. Experience the fauna & flora up close in an area that many tourists never get to see. This pristine catamaran is fully licensed & insured with a crew accustomed to mega yacht standards of service. There is no other boat trip in Langkawi to compare....
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent boating experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

What can I say! Carl and Bee are lovely, caring hosts, always attentive to their guests. The yacht is beautifully maintained and Carl has safety as a priority. The day we sailed was quite windy and Carl still had us enjoying the experience even though he had to make changes to some of the planned activities. Alternatively we spent extra time in a sheltered cove swimming, kayaking and lazing on the hammocks and enjoying the company of the other seven guests. The food and endless supply of drinks kept us all happy and relaxed. All on board had a very pleasant day sailing among the beautiful islands of Langkawi.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank b0nditraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a fabulous day....”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We arrived early for our trip and we're met by a really lovely man at the dock gate who explained where we had to wait and kept us entertained whilst we waited....we were very early. We didn't realise the start of the trip was so near our hotel.

We were taken on board by Carl in a small inflatable....was it going to hold our weight? Yes it did easily.

Arrived on board and were welcomed by Bea with cold drinks.

Anyway, we had a great day with the whole group, Carl and Bea are excellent hosts, lunch was fabulous as was the never ending flow of drinks; juice and beer and wine with lunch.

Now you may look at the prices and compare, but you only get what you pay for. It may be a little more expensive, but there are only a few people on the trip, the food, drinks and more importantly, the hosts are worth every penny. There's no artificially induced photo shoots, ie, feeding birds so the tourists can get the perfect pic, but you will see plenty of eagles, kites, maybe a turtle or two.

This is our highlight of Langkawi and I'd certainly do the trip again if we had the time. Thank you so much for such a lovely day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elsa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Carel & Bea Were Fantastic Hosts!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Rampant Sailing was exactly the kind of experience we expected. The brochure described the days events perfectly and Carel & Bea were great. Considering lunch and drinks were included, the price is very reasonable. Lunch was superb and the drinks flowed nicely throughout the day. Highly recommend to people wanting a relaxing daytime boat trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nickaladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“best sailing trip ever”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Mingalabar Carl & Bea,

We had a great day with Rampant Sailing on 20th January.I cant say how much we had fun in detail as full of enjoyment start to end.Carl & Bea are very professional and take care of us extraordinary.Love the boat,love the jacuzzi net,love the sail,love the island, OMG , love everything.Please put Rampant Sailing to No.1 must do activity in Langkawi and you will be amazing :)


Kyay Zu Tin Par Tal ( Thank you so much )

Aung & Lwin

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pyae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had a wonderful day with Rampant Sailing. Carl and Bea are great hosts. The boat was perfectly suited for the purpose and lying in the sun whilst sailing was the most relaxing thing ever. The food for lunch was yummy and there was lots of choice.

Yes, it's more expensive than other tours. But in my opinion completely worth it. Complete luxury that is still also affordable.

A highlight of our trip to Penang and Langkawi.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Ann_E_Kins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rampant Sailing also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing