We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
306
48
14
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
306
48
14
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon bar beach grill rainforest deluxe room ladies and gentlemen grand ocean vitality pool chinese restaurant ocean front teething issues kids club beach villa buggy service private infinity pool this beautiful resort spa staff buggy drivers st regis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 391 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2019

My wife and I were lucky enough to stay in the one bedroom beach villa. With a rate of $3000AUD per night, our expectations were high - and were almost definitely met. The photographs of the villa on the website do not do it justice. Firstly, it is placed absolute beach front. Secondly, you have a massive deck. Thirdly, that deck surrounds your own private infinity pool with uninhibited views of the beach and ocean. If that isn't enough, your deck is the perfect entertainment and lounge space - sun lounges, dining area and, naturally, private access to the beach.

The inside of the villa does not disappoint. You have a bedroom with floor to ceiling windows; a large bathroom with tub; lush green gardens and water/beach views. In the living areas there is an internal garden/courtyard bringing in natural light.

During our short stay, we rarely left the comfort of our villa and, in fact, never left the resort. It is the ultimate private chill space. All of the restaurants were incredible. The chefs had done an excellent job for all occasions.

The major downside is that the staff are not quite up to scratch. Staff are still uneasy, new in the role and yet to develop the warmth you find at more established properties (e.g. in contrast to the well established Four Seasons Langkawi). The spa was a bit of a disappointment, again the staff were uneasy, unsure how to explain the facilities and they cut the time of our treatment by 20minutes.

The public spaces are beautiful. Unlike a lot of other properties, the regular pool is almost as impressive as the adult's only pool.

In relation to the beach - while it is stunning, the sand is coarse and the water is rough. This is more of a venue to observe the beach from the public spaces or private villa.

Room tip: Beach Villa
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank luxurylifeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRC_Langkawi, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Dear luxurylifeig

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review about your recent stay with us. I agree with you that the Beach Villa is completely stunning and I’m glad that you enjoyed the villa, facilities and food entirely.

In regards to a few comments mentioned about the service and spa. Your feedback is truly appreciated and constructive feedback such as yours strive us to perform better.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company once again should you ever return to Langkawi.

Warm regards,
Ellen Franke
General Manager
ellen.franke@ritzcarlton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019

A beautiful property, with incredibly attentive and kind service.
the hotel was nearly full (we hear) but didn't feel this way at all: We felt we had the beach mostly to ourselves all the time.
The water at the beach is incredibly still - but the pools are also beautiful if that's more your style.

Standing out at the service: Every person we came in contact with was helpful and attentive, warm but in a polite, reserved way.
The buggies that you need to get around the resort (in the sense that we were confused about the layout -- it's not that big) come quickly except at the most prime-time hour (and even then, really, it's quite alright.)
The restaurants were perfect: We twice ended up wanting to order food at the Horizon pool while the kitchen was closed for a few hours, and the server helpfully suggested we could order from the room service menu, and have it be delivered at the pool.

The rooms are beautiful as well: We stayed in a Deluxe garden room, with an enormous bathroom and bathtub. They are elegant and comfortable in every way.

I will be delighted to stay at the Ritz Carlton Langkawi again in the future, and hope I will have the chance to do so.

--

Special mention for Tim, who took care of us upon arrival and a few times throughout our stay: He was personable and helpful, and went the extra mile to try and locate an express mail enveloppe that should have been sent by my bank during my stay. He couldn't locate the enveloppe (for good reason, it hadn't arrived, in the end) but left a handwritten note in our room to inform me of his investigations, and inquired after it later when we crossed paths again on the resort.
His great attention to customer service is an asset, and I understand he's an intern -- but he's already a seasoned professional. All the best for what's next, Tim!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoomHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRC_Langkawi, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2019

Dear ZoomHey,

It's always a great pleasure to read and know that the Ladies and Gentlemen and particularly in this scenario Tim, has made such a memorable impact during your stay with us.

We thank you for your flattering notes and would be thrilled to welcome you again should you ever visit Langkawi again.

Warm regards,
Ellen Franke
General Manager
ellen.franke@ritzcarlton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019

As the world's top hotel, the facilities are very good, big bathroom, and the bed is wide and comfortable, you could have a nice dream. The buffet breakfast are delicious, you could order something special. We have dinner at the Beach Grill, salad and bread are good with nice service, you could enjoy both food and ocean view there. I also attend the free Yoga course, it is one of the best way for relaxation.
This resort is designed as a natural rain forest, so many monkeys inside, you must be careful for the monkey since they will rap the food we placed on the table of veranda, hahaha. In brief, this resort is a very nice place and I would like to return in the future.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kareninwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRC_Langkawi, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Dear kareninwater

Thank you for taking the time to write about the beautiful experience you had with us. We are flattered by the positive comments made on the overall experience ce of the property and I will be sure to share your positive feedback to the chefs too.

We look forward to welcoming you again should you ever have the chance to return to Langkawi once again.

Warm regards,
Ellen Franke
General Manager
ellen.franke@ritzcarlton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019 via mobile

We travelled with friends - and none of us wanted to leave. Everything was impeccable - rooms, service & food. The hotel is cleverly spaced out that you don’t feel like there are many other guests. The customer service adds to this, perfect attention to detail. Greeted by name at breakfast and the most cheerful greetings when the buggy carts arrive. We did quite a few activities which the hotel gladly assists with, but the pool and beach areas are so inviting that you really do not need to leave the area at all. Rebecca and her team were fabulous and cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Amanda1783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRC_Langkawi, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Dear Amanda1783

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your recent stay with us. I am especially thrilled to learn that Rebecca our Director of Rooms and the rest of the Ladies and Gentlemen made your stay nothing less than memorable, warm and comfortable.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company again.

Warm regards,
Ellen Franke
General Manager
ellen.franke@ritzcarlton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2019

My wife and I are on Day 8 of a 10 day visit to Langkawi; were going to try multiple luxury resorts, but fell in love with Beach Villa 22 and changed plans to stay here for the duration. Super-friendly and accommodating staff, excellent food quality from Room Service to lunch at the Beach Grill or Horizon to buffet breakfast at Langkawi Kitchen and 5 star Chinese dinner at Hai Yan. We thought the Spa here was both great value for money and has better facilities than other resorts we have stayed at and loved, like St. Regis Bora Bora or even the RC masterpiece in Hong Kong. The resort design has retained a natural rain forest feel while offering all of the amenities expected...our unit has a glassed-in tree in the middle that allows the local Langur to visit without physically entering the unit and we have seen much of the local fauna from the luxury of our living room or balcony.

I would suggest that you avoid the Ocean Front Villa category; though the rooms are lovely, the units are surrounded by rocky, mucky, smelly areas that seem to be a mistake in the resorts' design. I am not sure what can be done about that and we were thankful that we were able to upgrade to the Beach Villa, which is larger and one of the best rooms I have stayed in (comparable to the phenomenal Strand Villas at the St. Regis Bali). Though this was an unexpected additional cost, the staff made the switch easy for us and the Villa itself is much larger and right on the small, very private feeling beach.

Room tip: Avoid the Ocean Front Villa category; Beach Villa or Garden Villa are spectacular choices.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BobFaircloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRC_Langkawi, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Dear BobFaircloth

I am glad to learn that you’ve had an exceptional time with us and that you found our Beach Villa to your liking. We’re also glad that the ladies and gentlemen exceeded your expectations in providing a warm and genuine service.

We look forward to having your return once again and would be glad to arrange for any future travel arrangements.

Warm regards,
Ellen Franke
General Manager
ellen.franke@ritzcarlton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews