We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandy Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
$332
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
$160
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$96
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$160
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$219
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$115
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$315
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$700
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
16
27
64
30
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
27
64
30
73
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 210 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Felt compelled to write this review as these simple bungalows are possibly the worst "accommodation" I have ever stayed in!
Stayed here as part of a G-Adventures tour. It was a basic standard tour so I was expecting some ropey places along the way and obviously our accommodation was pre booked so we had no choice but all I can say is if you have a choice, don't stay here!
Do not be drawn in by the pictures in the reception - the rooms look nothing like this (and I saw other people's in th party as well as my own room!)
There were lizards crawling up the walls.
There was no fridge but obviously very important in 30 degree heat - a dirty looking kettle and sachets of hot chocolate! So guests priorities really taken into consideration!
I woke up after the first night itching so there are potentially bed bugs but I couldn't say for certain!
There was however dirt on the walls and sheets for definite!
Some others from the group said their toilet when flushed, flushed back dirty water!
The bathroom is the usual wet room, which is common in these parts but there was no rail so everything got soaked when you took a shower!
Lastly, flies swarmed the breakfast buffet which was er slightly off putting!
Anyhow, I hope this helps/prevents some of you having a similar horrid experience!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank alice_beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at the Sandy Beach Resort the nights of December 12 and 13th, as part of a G Adventures group tour. We stayed in the units that were across the street from the beach.

In short, this place was terrible, and I would run far, far away. I do understand that when you pay budget prices, you need to expect basic accommodation, but you should not expect accommodation that crosses into unclean and unsanitary. No price, how low it is, is worth staying here, I would rather have had a tent in the parking lot.

To start, I received a room that was filthy and obviously had not been cleaned prior to my arrival, with the room being full of sand, dirt, and hair from the previous occupants. In addition to this surface dirt, the room had a deeper layer of filth covering it, indicating that it had not been properly cleaned in some time. The floors were grimy, especially in the corners, where they were covered in a thick film of it, and same went for the bathroom - something that a good scrub could easily take care of, but the staff obviously couldn't be bothered with. The mirrors in the main room and bathroom were also coated in a thin film of filth - again something that a few sprays of cleaner and two minutes could have fixed.

The walls were equally very dirty, with the paint coming off in many spots, and most corners of the room and bathroom having cobwebs. Again, something that a good scrub and the occasional coat of fresh paint could easily address.

The one towel I was given was ratty, old, and may have been white at some point, but was now tinged an ugly beige color. Bed sheets appeared to have been laundered, but were dotted with stains - both dark and light. Is spending a few RM on fresh linen every few years too much to ask either?

Infrastructure was poor, there were issues with the power and water not working while we were there, my air conditioning unit leaked a large amount of water all over the floor (I did put a bucket under it), the locks on the door and windows (I had a ground floor unit) were very flimsy. Of course, since the place was cheap, the mattress and pillows were poor.

Finally, two of the ten rooms in our group had severe issues with bedbugs (these at least were the ones that noticed them). For one, the occupant could actually see his infestation, with a large number of bed bugs crawling all over his bed. For the second, the occupant woke up with a very large number of bites (appeared to be close to 100) all over her body. The owner/manager profusely apologized, and ardently claimed this is the first time this has occurred here. However, from speaking with an acquaintance that was also forced to stay here as part of a G Adventures group tour, his group also had issues with bed bugs at Sandy Beach, so this is obviously par for the course here, and management doesn't seem interested in addressing this issue. In addition to the bed bugs, most rooms were full of ants, spiders, flies, and all sort of other little bugs.

Oh - and the food was terrible.

In short - run away!

Room Tip: Just stay away.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

First time i stay at sandy beach at 2010 and this is my second time i was here and i a bit supprise because sandy is totaly change from the room and service.Is more better n better.FIrst i stay only for 3 night and i and my husband extend for 2 week.The manager (mr azam ) and (madam tiny) and their staff are very friendly.Price we pay only rm 160 and still ok for us.The breakfast need to be improve and please add more choice .Others all ok.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisya98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Where do i start!! we stayed in the block across the road in the car park not the nice beachside chalets. we had one mouldy black pillow and one pillow which was hard as rock, the sheets had brown stains on them the base sheet covering the base of the bed looked like it had never been washed. the walls were very dirty looked like there was food smeared on the wall and not just in one place. the desk and chair were broken and ripped, the plug for the tv wasnt even the correct one for the tv. the glasses for the coffee weren't clean, just one sachet of coffee!! the bathroom was pretty dirty too i used the shower when we arrived to wash the hairs and paper and bits from the floor into the drain yuk. there was ants crawling up the bathroom door frame, the towels were like something old you would dry your dog on. the noise in the loooong corridor was horrendus, cats squalling in the night, the cleaning!!?? people in the morning... the restaurant looked dirty the staff were sitting on a wall watching and waiting for what i dont know. breakfast was awfull, food at 10am which looked like it had been there since 7. flys in the jam! beach front area beautiful view but dirty too empty bottles plates and cups scattered about. free wifi is just in restaurant area so had to trek accross road to check emails. ok so i will never stay here again ever, but i will finish on a positive, there was a guy in reception very polite spoke perfect english answered all our questions very helpful. that is all for the positives sorry. YUK YUK YUK here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We fell for the cheap rate and booked the 'Standard Room' online for 2 nights. The website stated that the 'Standard Room' has 'garden view'. Upon checkin, we learned that they have 2 types of very different accommodation - chalets right in front of the beach and hotel rooms across the road. The 'Standard Room' with garden view is the one across the road. DO NOT stay at the hotel across the road! I won't even call it a hotel. The building and rooms there are filthy and rundown, and doesn't look like anyone works there. Even though the rate is cheap, it is so not worth it.
Thank goodness we managed to upgrade to the chalet by beach on our second night. And these were really nice, though very basic. The water pressure was very low, took a long time to shower. It was located right in front of the beach which we loved. The breakfast was bad.. but there are plenty of eateries nearby if you don't want to eat there. I would stay here again but ONLY the chalets by the beach. Be sure to check when making your booking!

Room Tip: Be sure to check that you're getting the chalet by the beach when making your booking, and don't stay at the rooms across the road!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews