We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by the appearance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nasi Kandar Tomato

Nasi Kandar Tomato
Ranked #44 of 422 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
KL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the appearance”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The place looks old and not inviting but we tried it due to good review from bloggers. The nasi briyani is surprisingly good and the 'Must Try' is their naan bread and tandoori chicken. The chicken is made to perfection (not dry and hard).

It is located along Cenang road but a contruction site is currently blocking the entire building where it is hence it may look like it is close. It is open 24hrs and close from 1.30pm to 2.30pm on Fridays.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynnLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    161
    69
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“basic, tasty food”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

good food, very reasonable, nice naans and nasi kandaar. awesome mutton / beef curry. when you are sick of all the fancy overpriced food in langkawi, this is the place to visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sachin188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome Indian food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Place is located at the heart of cenang, authentic north and south Indian food plus it is not costly at all. For vegetarians like me, you have a lot of options to choose from and for the 'taste' we ate twice on the same day.

Helpful?
Thank Rohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Worst Food In Langkawi”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had eaten at most of the places on cenang as we have been to Langkawi 3 times before and love the island. Tomato was on of the last on our list to visit and were tempted due the fabulous reviews. I can see how they get good reviews as the people that eat there are mainly tourists who might not know the quality of what they are eating. It really was the worst food we ate all week, old and nasty roti canai, terrible service and a poor choice for a Nasi Kandar restaurant. just don't waste your time or money and head to all the locals are at half the price at the top end of cenang opposite casa del mar a place called 'Restoran Almaz', amazing food and top service! meal for 2 cost us about £3.50 and tasted amazing!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misterdarkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich
Level Contributor
717 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Now this is good food!!!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We were in Langkawi for over a week and ate here 3 times. Naan is some ofthe best I've had and the Masala's were awesome. The reviews say the locals eat there. I can see why, it's good and very reasonably priced. Ambience galore, Plastic chairs and a night market atmosphere. You have to try it!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nasi Kandar Tomato also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Nasi Kandar Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing