We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Indian food in Langkawi”
Review of Nasi Kandar Tomato

Nasi Kandar Tomato
Ranked #49 of 426 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian food in Langkawi”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This restaurant is right at the backside of Rafi's place on Cenang beach. Went there twice when I was in Langkawi, and the place didn't disappoint me. Had a Butter chicken and Naan on the first day and Chicken Fried Rice with Coke , the next day. Prices are rock bottom, the cheapest meal on Cenang Beach. Went there because I was craving for Indian food, being in Malaysia for last 4 days. Although taste is not quite what you get back home, it's the closest you can get to Indian food on Langkawi Island. (Or you can try Chicken Masala Pizza @ Artisans).
Waiters are a bit slow at taking orders, maybe coz of the rush of tourist. They have pics of food on menu cards, so that you know what you are ordering. Nonetheless, a great value for money that you spend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r0cky2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    170
    73
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbeatable value”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had a few meals at Tomato whilst on a recent trip to Langkawi. Always got a table even at it's busiest, it is very popular with locals and travellers alike. Regular staff give efficient and quick service. The food is cheap, plentiful and excellent. Never had a bad meal there. Discovered Chicken Manchurian here and would recommend a visit if only for that addictive spicy treat, only just getting over the withdrawal symptoms 3 weeks later!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really good food!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very nice food! It was a really busy little place but food came out super fast. It was really affordable, and you get a lot for your money. Menu was a little hard to understand if you aren't familiar with Indian food. We got the mutton curry both times and really enjoyed it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap, delicious food!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We visited this restaurant about 3 times during our 5 day stay in Langkawi! It was perfect, traditional indian food! Sometimes difficult to get a table it was so busy. Don't expect 5-star luxury, but do expect honest, good, tasty food at low prices. Between the two of us we ordered a variety of our favourites to share - curry dishes, naans, rice, samosas and loads more. The staff come to your table to order and are pleasant. It was delicious and I wish I could go back and eat more! Wish I had this restaurant around my corner as it's a great little stop off point!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went here after taxi driver recommended it. It was ok. Nothing wrong with food, just wouldn't go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolef494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nasi Kandar Tomato also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Nasi Kandar Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing