We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really recommended”

Telaga Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #134 of 423 Restaurants in Langkawi
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
241 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Not really recommended”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went to the seafood one which looked good and crowded from the road. However, once we were ready to order, the middle-eastern/foreign looking waiters didn't seem to want to take our orders. We had to eventually call a local Malay waiter. My barracuda fillet in lemon butter sauce was OK although it wasn't a big serving. My friend was rather disappointed with his thin "rib-eye" steak in black pepper sauce. The garden-like setting was nice but we wouldn't go there again for the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malaysiantraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    75
    57
    34
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not too bad!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed the mendi rice. The portion was huge so we just ordered two plates for 4 people. I did order babaghanoush and love it to bits.
The service was ok, not too slow but not fast either.
Toilet is modern but not clean.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shafina_Shafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Enjoyed our meals here with good quantity of Briyani Chicken, spicy Tom Yum Soup and Good Prawns and rice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tigertraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“snob waiters...”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

okay..the restaurant is jammed pack with people. the waiters are not friendly and i had to deal with a very snob arrogant waiter. u can sit there for almost 20 minutes and no one came to take your order, and i had to stand and wave a couple of times to get some attention. i even go the kitchen to ask for a waiter but most of the waiter don't even understand the language. after finally got some service, they first thing that the waiter said is that, if u want faster food, u just order anything grilled, other than that it will be slow. then the waiter disappear again and again. he only was nice to the foreigner beside us..but when it comes to the locals..very bad attitude. the price?..haha..very expensive and not fresh enough. i ordered the seafood platter, the prawns are small and the funny thing is that they put grilled meat in a seafood platter..meat in seafood platter??????........what is that? and the meat..oh my God...was like eating rubber...this is the last time i eat there....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cute_black77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“SUPER NICE AND FRESH !!!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Went every night I was in Langkawi.. I thing this is the best restaurant (apart from restaurants in hotel) in LKWI.

the fruit juices and the surf and turf was really good. I would recommend only the grilled options and juices. A bit on the pricey end of value but for dinner its great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mithun255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telaga Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Telaga Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing