We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was terrible and awful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citin Hotel Langkawi
Ranked #41 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days and the reception area of the hotel was stinking so badly that we could not even wait there...the rooms are so small that 2 persons can hardly stand...one of hotel staff was friendly and that was the only positive aspect for this hotel...I would never recommend anyone to stay here...the hotel is in kuah town, which is almost 3-4 Kms away from Eagle point jetty and stands on main road with access to taxi service

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Chandan21,

Thank you for your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated for improvement.

We have learnt of the problems you encountered during your stay that was not satisfactory which you have most rightly highlighted to us. The smell at lobby and stinking is actually due to some maintenance and piping work was done at the back area.

Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,

Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 367 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

this has been a really unbearable horrifying experience staying at Citin,we happen to end up here cos the hotel was advertised on Air asiaweb site,and we made a blunder checking in this place...

..we were given room 316 and 202...the corridors were dusty there's a dusty metal rack on the second floor..third floor carpet is strewn with rubbish and dirty...the whole hallway is filthy,i just don't know where to begin...

..parents found a cockroach in their room...UGH!!...we took the liberty to ventilate and leave the window open to get rid of the musty smell,the only thing that was great was the bathroom and shower faciltites...

..thank god for the staff,Miss Wannie and Noor and the rest,they saved the day many times and always had a smile on their face,the other indian guy was so wonderful to even come 3 floors up to deliver our bottled water and they are really remarkable.If not for the cheerful lovable staff our stay would have been really ruined.They are the best bunch and soo helpful,and always ready to fix things for us and so trustworthy for 3 days we left our laptop with them,and took it back later in the night.These people are the best and need to be appreciated for what they do with a constant smile despite the hotel falling apart.

on the second day the toilet on the lower floor overflowed and the whole place was filled with water and sewage,after that the whole place stank to glory till we left!!!

..Citin Hotel is really overpriced and overrated...they don't deserve and stars at all for this filthy roach motel,am appaled for the price which is quoted online.i do hope the management looks into this and hires pest control and step up on the cleanliness,and seriously start cleaning up the place till its spotless.

Room Tip: get the key from the staff and check every room for the aircond and bathroom before picking it...i c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gita73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear gita73

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated for improvement.

We have learnt of the problems you encountered during your stay that was not satisfactory which you have most rightly highlighted to us. We have addressed the room and the corridors cleanliness issue with the department concerned and we will be increasing the frequency and detail of room inspection to ensure rooms are thoroughly cleaned prior to the arrival. The lower level overflow due to some maintenance and piping work was done at the back area.

I deeply regret the distressing experience during your stay and certainly apologize without any hesitation for not meeting your expectations.

Please be assured that this is not a true and intended reflection of our normal standards.

Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,

Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed in citin for three days and I must say the experience was very good. Their staff are extremely polite always willing to help you. In addition to that they have good knowledge about langkawi and have tie ups with tour operators which means they pickup and drop you at the hotel doorstep. The only drawback is it is a bit far from pantai cenang beach where the majority of water sports is present and also the langkawi cable car which is further apart. They have a breakfast buffet which has a nice spread. They have wifi in the lobby only which is a small inconvenience. What they lack in amenities they more than make it up through their wonderful concierge. For this alone, I would give them a big thumbs up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harish_raj_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Harish_raj_20

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,

Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The room cleaner so lazy, and the hotel water pressure so low... Difficult for us to take bath. For breakfast not too much choice, By the way we like the nasi goreng really delicious. The hotel location is near to the food stalls, shops, and also short distance drive to the kuah city.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Vivian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Vivian N

Warm Greeting!
Thank you for your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated for improvement.

I deeply regret the distressing experience during your stay and certainly apologize without any hesitation for not meeting your expectations.

Please be assured that this is not a true and intended reflection of our normal standards.

Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

With much doubts, I called a week before my check-in and informed them to not to get room at 1st floor and ensure the room is clean. When we arrived at night, we got room at 2 floor and it was twin bedded room. As they have no any other room available, without argument we just accept the room and with all travel tiredness we had to rearrange the bedroom! (the hotel has no lift). Even the room was small, the bathroom was clean with heater and strong water flow. Only we found the towels were dirty. Friendly staffs and good housekeeping. Easy to find food by walking distance. KFC opens 24h. The Thai shops nearby serves good food but choose carefully as some restaurant was too much pricey for standard seafood. Nothing much to do at Kuah town at night. If you want great nightlife stay nearby Cenang Beach as all claim have most happening beach parties and activities at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dropdrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear dropdrops

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive except for the few areas of concern highlighted, which will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel Citin is strategically positioned in Kuah town from where most of the sight seeing spots are in short drivable distance. The facilities of the hotel are excellent. The rooms are clean, small but cozy. Didn't get the opportunity to enjoy their breakfast buffet though. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful in booking a cab for the next day's sight seeing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bismuth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Bismuth88,

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had been to their hotel recently.

All staffs at counter are very friendly! They have gave us some details for tour bookings & food hunting & shopping. We were able to walk around with the map of Langkawi which also include Citin Hotel in e details.

Their Beds & Toilet are very clean & simple.
Breaksfast buffet is very good too.

Recommend to book the hotel for your stay in Town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrisLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear PrisLeong

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahagia
Hotel Bahagia
#62 of 104 in Langkawi
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azio Hotel
Azio Hotel
#55 of 104 in Langkawi
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Altis Hotel Langkawi
Altis Hotel Langkawi
#74 of 104 in Langkawi
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
G Langkawi Motel
G Langkawi Motel
#4 of 17 in Kuah
63 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lavigo Resort
Lavigo Resort
#31 of 104 in Langkawi
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citin Hotel Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citin Hotel Langkawi

Address: Hotel Langkawi Hotel Langkawi No. 3 Jalan Pekan | Kuah, Kedah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range: $15 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citin Hotel Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the town of Kuah, the newly renovated Citin Langkawi hotel offers clean and comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and feature an en-suite bathroom. Additional facilities include 24-hour reception & security, laundry service and a breakfast room. Internet service is available in the lobby. It is a mere 5 minutes walk to duty free shopping, a short walk to the local jetty. A 20 minute drive away is the well-known beach of Cenang and just 30 minutes from the hotel is Langkawi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Citin Hotel Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing