We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly services but some room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citin Hotel Langkawi
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly services but some room for improvement”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Let's get to the bottom line, something to improve on:

1. The water pressure in the bathroom was barely tolerable. Do not expect a refreshing shower but a 30-minute washing chores with the first 10 minutes rinsing your body and another 20 minutes washing the soap away with a little stream of water slowly running out of the shower head.

2. Another issue with water. The toilet kept draining water so there was not flushing water at all. It, in turns, further lowered the water pressure of the tap and shower. There would not be water coming out from the tap or shower if the main tap to the toilet-water storage was open.

3. Air-con was weak. The room felt very stuffy and scorchy especially during daytime on a sunny day. It was fine though at night and in early morning.

And now, something to keep up:

1. Very friendly services. The first day we checked in we found out the remote control was gone and the second day we told them about the water issue. Some other time we requested a universal adapter too. All our requests and queries were promptly heeded and entertained by very friendly and approachable staff, except that the water issue could not be solved before we checked out.

2. Good suggestions on packaged tours ranging from island hopping, snorkelling, mangrove excursions etc. The prices were reasonable.

3. While other hotels in Langkawi were charging a fortune, Citin offered a relatively affordable rate.

4. Tidy and clean room.

Location is okay but renting a car/motorbike is highly recommended. For your information, 15 minutes from the nearest shopping mall, 1-hour walking from the hotel to jetty. You probably cannot go to anywhere without a taxi or car. Mind you, there are not enough eateries nearby.

The reason why I refrained from giving a negative rating for Citin is that the water pressure in Langkawi, in general, is relatively small compared with other cities in Malaysia. I heard that the water pressure of a 5-star hotel there was not satisfactory as well. However, the amicable atmosphere the staff created kind of outweighed it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edelweiss1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear edelweiss1234

Warm greeting from Citin Hotel Langkawi.

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We have learnt of the problems you encountered during your stay that was not satisfactory which you have most rightly highlighted to us. Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi and kindly give us another opportunity to serve you the best.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    111
    81
    45
    45
See reviews for
87
117
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Overall, we are satisfied with the cleanliness of the room and the setup of our room. The location of the hotel is just at middle of the Kuah town, which is quite convenient as long as you rent a car. It is quite near to the jetty, and not far from the airport. The hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaverickCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear MaverickCK

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.
We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.
Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Poor air-conditioning, no remote control provided and it's not centralized. They claimed because of the hot weather. I called the front desk for assistance but no show after 30 minutes. I had to go to the lobby myself seeking for help and unfortunately saw the person on duty at night was free and having a good laugh at the front desk. They switched me to a different room after a long wait. The bed sheets and quilts had strains as well. If you plan to stay in Langkawi, consider this hotel as your last resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrzuvaloppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Zuvaloppa,

Warm Greeting!
Thank you for your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated for improvement.

I deeply regret the distressing experience during your stay and certainly apologize without any hesitation for not meeting your expectations.

Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A hotel without lift , then no body help carry our luggage the tho room . Our room at level 3 without lift we need to carry the luggage to the room. The water in the bathroom really small lucky we stay for 1 night , totally cannot take bath. Really bad...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kyoroshio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Kyoroshio,

Warm Greeting!
Thank you for your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated for improvement.

I deeply regret the distressing experience during your stay and certainly apologize without any hesitation for not meeting your expectations.

Please be assured that this is not a true and intended reflection of our normal standards.

Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Thanks to comments posted before my expectations were not high. The hotel was really worth for the price as I got a good deal via Agoda…. Its much closer to the Kuah Jetty, Eagle square, etc. Although there were comments on loud noises we did not here any. We did see people enjoying the free wifi sitting at the lobby – however we enjoyed internet surfing as we had our own connection which we took along. There were many channel options on TV. But what we enjoyed was outside the hotel as we were to see Langkawi….across the street from the hotel were the popular line of Kuah town sea food places that served yummy food. Thanks to the reviews we went to the night Market on Saturday, although nothing interesting good place to buy souvenirs and to get the experience of a Malaysian Night Market.
We also discovered the road side restaurant from an earlier review, as you walk out from the hotel couple of block away on the right hand side was a god place for food – as they offered man options and were very reasonably priced. We always got the assistance from the hotel to call for Taxis – which was only MYR 2 more than the normal price. The hotel staff also helped us to book for island hopping tour and arranged to be picked from the hotel (price difference was not too much).
Only thing I would recommend the hotel to look at the breakfast buffet they offer which can improve and also to make sure to refill especially if all the guests have not had their breakfast. We opted to have breakfast from the nearby restaurant as we preferred to have warm food that tasted much better.
It will cost around MYR 24 from the airport, MYR 6 to the Jetty, MYR 20 to Pantai Cenang beach and MYR 36 to the Cable car/Oriental Village.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear LCGR

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that your overall stay experience had been positive except for the breakfast of concern highlighted, which will be reviewed for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala lumpur
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good:
Hotel is located in prime area in Kuah town, so going around becomes very easy. Wifi internet is good. Hotel reception staff was very polite and help planning trips nicely.

Bad:
Breakfast served in Hotel was pathetic.... Limited varieties and taste was not that good. No room service meaning.... u will have to carry your luggage yourself to your room.... re-fill water by yourself.. No lift.... TV with only seven channels... No newspapers....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear SJvilla

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.

We have learnt of the problems you encountered during your stay that was not satisfactory which you have most rightly highlighted to us. We have addressed the issue with the relevant department concerned.

Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Simple, clean, value for money are the terms that perfectly fit for this hotel. Staffs were very polite in answering to all sorts of questions. Especially very helpful in guiding us to plan our visits to different places. Breakfast for vegetarians like me was a big let down.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JananiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear JananiP

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahagia
Hotel Bahagia
#48 of 103 in Langkawi
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Azio Hotel
Azio Hotel
#51 of 103 in Langkawi
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
G Langkawi Motel
G Langkawi Motel
#4 of 17 in Kuah
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Geopark Inn Langkawi
Geopark Inn Langkawi
#8 of 17 in Kuah
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altis Hotel Langkawi
Altis Hotel Langkawi
#62 of 103 in Langkawi
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citin Hotel Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citin Hotel Langkawi

Property: Citin Hotel Langkawi
Address: Hotel Langkawi Hotel Langkawi No. 3 Jalan Pekan | Kuah, Kedah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citin Hotel Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the town of Kuah, the newly renovated Citin Langkawi hotel offers clean and comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and feature an en-suite bathroom. Additional facilities include 24-hour reception & security, laundry service and a breakfast room. Internet service is available in the lobby. It is a mere 5 minutes walk to duty free shopping, a short walk to the local jetty. A 20 minute drive away is the well-known beach of Cenang and just 30 minutes from the hotel is Langkawi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Citin Hotel Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing