We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citin Hotel Langkawi
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst holidays”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Me and some friends to Langkawi for holidays, over Xmas,and booked the Citin Hotel due to good tripadvisor feedbacks.
Well, it was not as expected, it was really terrible.

To give an overview I will list the pro and cons:

Pro:
The staff was nice and helpfull, as long as you request is a standart request (08/15), otherwise problematic.

Easy to catch a taxi outside the hotel

Cons:
The hotel is located on a road, where opposite side is a mosque, which means that we where woken up every morning at 6 am by the daily prayer. For this reason we asked the staff to get another room with windows to the backyard, unfortunatly that was not possible..

When we checked in they the first problem occured, we booked the hotel online, 2 rooms with 2 beds each, but the staff insisted that we booked 2 rooms, one 2 beds and one 1 bed and sied that they have no other room with 2 beds free. But what miracle after showing them our confirmation from booking.com, 2 rooms with each 2 beds, a room with 2 beds was found.... Nothing more to add to this....

The blankets and pillows where dirty and full of stains, a total no go!
The get warm water you have to switch on and wait for 10 minutes, but there was no warm water in the shower, bad luck for us, due to the warm weather it was not that problematic. But even after we reported this issue to the satff no change happend.

The staff who made the room never refilled toiletpaper, even when it was non there, but they gave us new soap, even there was non needed (We ended up with 12 sopas after 6 nights there).

The toilet was very simple, as the rest of the room. I dont mind that every time we used the shower the whole toilet, but that it was quite dirty and never got cleaned thats bad. As well as that the toilet lid was broken when we arrived, it got fixed with a screw instead of replacing it, but only after we reported it!

The room are spartanic, two/one bed, a bed table, the tv (8 channels, 2 english) on the wall and the ac ( which was very loud) and a table belowe the tv, thats it more or less.

Summary:
Never ever again, even for a quite low price.
In the end its always the same, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frost_Solution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    110
    81
    44
    42
See reviews for
81
114
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were basic and small, we were lucky not to be road facing but our room did look out into a courtyard of air conditioners and had lit shining through a blind that couldn't be closed.
Bathroom and shower was combined as the bathroom. For some reason the hot water did not work in our room to well but maybe the showers are Luke warm, I didn't address with the staff. I also slipped quite badly in the bathroom after a shower as there are no shower mats provided
Sheets were ripped in places on the bed
There are not fridges in the 'superior room' actually not sure how they justify the room type, I'd hate to see the other rooms as ours was very basic
not to many attractions nearby so you will need to walk about 3kms to the big eagle/ferry terminal . It is right in town which is perfect if you are shopping on the way out to return home.
Breakfast was average but as expected considering the room

Staff were friendly but lacked knowledge of local tourist attractions. For instance we asked where the night markets were and the staff member could not even confirm that it was on that night let alone where it was. Turns out it was two blocks away. Pleased we found it as this is a good hidden treasure.

The staff were very organised when ordering taxis and we found that all taxis that we got on the island had VERY helpful drivers and I recommend getting a 4-5hour island tour of your choosing. Just be prepared for sometimes random stops on the way for suggested attractions. In saying that 'no' was never a problem.

The island offers duty free alcohol, if your are going to langkawi do not buy any alcohol or cigarettes on the way. It is approximately $10usd for Smirnoff blue vodka. Make sure your hotel has a fridge however for mixers

Overall the hotel has its issues but would be fine if you stayed for 1 night on the way through. The issue we had was the price you paid for the quality of the hotel. If they lowered their prices I think people would be a bit less bitter

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellanz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Kellanz B

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We have learnt of the problems you encountered during your stay that was not satisfactory which you have most rightly highlighted to us. We have addressed the issue with the department concerned and we will be increasing the frequency and detail of room inspection to ensure room are thoroughly clean and completed with the basic amenities before arrival. And also will be increasing customer service training to our staff and ensure all the staff well train with effective customer service.

Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I would liken this hotel to Tunes Hotel, except Tunes is cheaper. Our check in took about 20 minutes, this wouldn't have been as frustrating if the staff told us what the hold up was instead of telling us to sit down. The staff weren't overly friendly when we checked in but they were a little more friendly the next day. Our air conditioner wasn't being effective so we opened it up & found the filters were really dirty, we cleaned them & the air con worked better after that.
On a positive note the shower was great; nice & hot with good pressure.
Also there is fantastic food one minute walk from hotel, just turn right at main entrance door walk straight till you get to Restoran Pedang Pesir. Indian food, I highly recommend roti, dosa with dahl (isn't spicy). Their tea is also special, and for a bit of entertainment, sit at the back of the restaurant to watch the art of pulling the tea.
Over all we found the hotel to be adequate for one night. Also if you do stay here, I also recommend hiring a car, it makes life so much easier. We hired a small car, at the airport (just a run about, not fancy) for RM 100 for 24 hours, we asked them to pick it up from hotel as we didn't go back to airport (we caught ferry off the island) it cost an extra RM 30 for the rental car company to retrieve car from hotel.
One more tip, if you enjoy mother nature, 'Mangrove's' with Dev's Adventures, an absolute must!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passionT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Passion T

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, feedback and review.

We have learnt of the problems you encountered during your stay that was not satisfactory which you have most rightly highlighted to us. We have addressed the issue with the department concerned and we will be increasing the frequency and detail of air conditioner to ensure there are clean before arrival.

Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Booking: Happy with the online booking process and immediate email correspondence from your counterpart at Thailand. (Booked 3 rooms, each room with additional mattress = 9pax)
Check-in: No one at the reception. Look around, after about 20 minutes then a lady came out from a room, playing with her hp and turn out she's the reception lady. Found out our rooms were on first floor, although already requested ground floor since i have seniors in my group and the hotel has no lift. The reception lady don't want to change, or i would say she's incapable of handling unexpected things. Luckily another staff (her name is Wanee if not mistaken) was helpful and change one of the rooms to ground floor.
Housekeeping: Each room should also have additional mattress, but housekeeping was very slow to prepare the additional mattress, although generous with the drinking water.
Wanee also very helpful to our requests such as kettle and hairdryer.
Room: Room was very small. And since we are adding mattress, hardly can walk or have space to stand. Switch at room not functioning thus cannot charge hp. TV's channel not according to the TV Menu.
Bed and shower: Pleasant bed, at least I'm asleep till morning. Shower have very good pressure of hot water.
Breakfast: The lady in charge at the cafe said we only have 6 breakfasts!!! It should be 9 breakfasts!! Checked with the reception, the guy also said the same thing, with a harsh tone!! Very furious I told them we booked with additional mattress and breakfast, please check again. Then the guy told the lady will check with housekeeping without even looking at me what more an apology...rude!! Spoilt my mood cause it makes us look like 'cheaters'.
Overall: It would have been pleasant stay if not for the rude staff or incapable staff.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room since the hotel does not have lift, and the wifi is only available at hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CpMooN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear CpMoon.

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We have learnt of the problems you encountered during your stay that was not satisfactory which you have most rightly highlighted to us. We have addressed the issue with the department concerned and will be increasing customer service training to our staff and ensure all the staff well train with effective customer service.

Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Pahang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

During the stay from 2nd to 5th DEC 2012, it was very good experience staying here. The staff very friendly and helpful. The room is very cleaned and well maintained.
There was one incident happened during the stay, whereby there was centipede found inside room. This may be caused by heavy rain on the night and the room location nearby sewage. But it was tackled by the staff upon reporting. Immediately they asked us to move to another room as for safety measure. It was a good decision and I very pleased on that.
Conclusion, it's value for money..

Room Tip: Choose lower level, as WIFI only available at lobby, sometime can use inside room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabirinMarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear SabirinMarni

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,

Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Your basic “business-man’s hotel” on the main road into Kueh with a practical A/C lobby area graced with huge mirrors, pleasant Reception staff, no elevator, threadbare hallway carpets, and small smokey rooms with a functioning TV. Buffet breakfast consists of: (Malay) rice, sambal (a spicy flavourful sauce), mini-wieners, fried potato wedges, mini fish sandwiches; (European) toast & jam, cereal & milk, coffee & tea, fruit juice. Short 200m walk to downtown Kueh for an ATM, motorcycle rental, etc. but 3km from the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street, which is busy and noisy all day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear SuperDave47

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, feedback and review.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Ok, let's start. You can take taxi from Jetty, 10 minutes to hotel. If you don't need anything like swimming pool, fitness center, the hotel is good choice. Next to main road so if you have rooms with window on the street, its little noisy. Malesian services don't take tips. Small rooms withs small bathroom but everything is clean. You have tv, internet in lobby. Breakfast are good, a few things like toasts, rice, sausages. To drink: one juice and water. This hotel is very good for backpacker client, not for resort client. Price was ok. Take motor bike and visit all Island. Tip: Turn left side when you go out of the hotel, go straight across the bridge, and turn right on the other side of street you can take motorbike in good price.

Room Tip: take rooms other side to street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eigoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Eigoob,

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,

Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahagia
Hotel Bahagia
#47 of 103 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
G Langkawi Motel
G Langkawi Motel
#4 of 17 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Azio Hotel
Azio Hotel
#51 of 103 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Geopark Inn Langkawi
Geopark Inn Langkawi
#7 of 17 in Kuah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lavigo Resort
Lavigo Resort
#37 of 103 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citin Hotel Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citin Hotel Langkawi

Property: Citin Hotel Langkawi
Address: Hotel Langkawi Hotel Langkawi No. 3 Jalan Pekan | Kuah, Kedah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citin Hotel Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the town of Kuah, the newly renovated Citin Langkawi hotel offers clean and comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and feature an en-suite bathroom. Additional facilities include 24-hour reception & security, laundry service and a breakfast room. Internet service is available in the lobby. It is a mere 5 minutes walk to duty free shopping, a short walk to the local jetty. A 20 minute drive away is the well-known beach of Cenang and just 30 minutes from the hotel is Langkawi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Citin Hotel Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing