We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
perth
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Before going to the holiday villa, we had read some terrible reviews, so we were a bit hesitant, not knowing what to expect. But we really could not understand what all the fuss was about, I really don't know what some people expect if you want a 5* hotel pay for one. The staff were all really friendly & helpfull, the room was clean & comfortable. The only thing I would suggest to the hotel would be to have some beach umberellas by the pool, as there was very little shade provided by the palm trees.
We didn't have the breakfast at the hotel, a great place across the road called the Cactus was cheap & food was good.
"Just remember a smile goes a long way"
If we were to return to Langkawi we would definately go back to the Holiday Villa, & would certainly recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxedPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    696
    408
    194
    142
See reviews for
563
616
41
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We really enjoyed out stay at this hotel, the only downside was the bathroom could have been cleaner and the breakfast at the cactus across the road was far better value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Having just spent 8 nights at the resort, I can say it was a good place to stay - close to plenty of restaurants. Only downfall is the breakfast and having to pay for coffee/sugar sachets every day as these are not provided daily. Breakfast is more suited to the Asian market. Best to head to Cactus across the road who have plenty of breakfast options including American, English and Malaysian varieties. Cactus is also highly recommended for dinner. Certainly did not see a rat in sight. Staff are friendly and helpful. Pool and beach are perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maz03Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

I have just returned from a 10 night stay at Holiday Villa and would certainly go back there again. We had a very friendly reception when checking in and our room was very clean and had everything we wanted. No mould in sight! Also having just read about the 'rat problem' from another reviewer, can only say we never saw one during our stay. In fact the only wild life was one dead cockroach in a corridor. One thing to note is that the tea and coffee supplies aren't topped up, once you've used them that's it unlike the shampoo and soap. But across the road is a mini mart for any supplies you may need.

We had one minor problem with our room when there was a blocked air con pipe and had some water coming in from the ceiling by the door, but we reported this on our way out to breakfast and it had been fixed by the time we got back.

All the staff were very friendly and seemed to like exchanging with us ways of life and backgrounds. I guess though it depends how you treat people as to how they respond to you. A smile was always responded to.

The grounds and pool are lovely and the beach well kept. My only complaint would be that around the pool there is very limited shelter from the sun and it certainly seemed to trap the heat, whereas on the beach you got a bit of breeze.

Plenty of eateries all within strolling distance of the hotel to satisfy most people's needs. And of course you can't go by Cactus for breakfast just across the road. From what we heard the breakfasts at the hotel were expensive and not the variety.

A hire car for a day or two is well recommended and again can hire one just across the road and they were obviously doing a roaring trade as people who hadn't pre-booked were missing out at that particular hire shop. Driving on Langkawi is dead easy unlike a lot of other Asian places. We even saw people out in driving school cars learning to drive.

The hotel was only about 30% full as low season and was very enjoyable as plenty of space by the pool and on the beach. Can imagine in full season it would be very crowded and not so pleasant. I would definitely go back again same time of year.

We thought the hotel was excellent value for money and would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoiraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Details of our stay follow this introduction. The essence of what you need to know is that parts of this resort are vermin infested and the General Manager refuses to accept that this is the case - thereby not dealing with it. DON’T RISK staying in this RAT infested place. The General Manager was incredibly rude and unapologetic for our holiday having been disturbed by the presence of vermin in our villa. He suggested that I was, perhaps, an expert on rats but that he certainly was not and couldn’t therefore accept that there were rats in his hotel. What a strange reaction! He expected us to present photographic evidence of the rat itself despite our having seen it with our own eyes, and two of his Duty Managers having seen the large droppings around the villa. The strangest thing was that upon our check-out, he presented a certificate from a pest controller which stated that there was no presence of vermin in the villa. As that is the standard of their inspections – DON’T RISK STAYING HERE! As an aside, a cobra slid across my path next to some chalets. If you do visit, be careful!

I checked into a villa in July 2009 as part of a group of adults and children. Having arrived in the afternoon, we dumped our bags and headed out for food and to pick up a hire car. On our return later in the evening, an elderly couple in the party who went to the upper floor bedroom disturbed a Rat which ran down the stairs and darted under a cupboard in the kitchen area. On phoning the Duty Manager, a couple of bell boys arrived with a dustpan and brush and a towel hoping to catch the rat. They opened a cupboard in the kitchen which we had not yet opened – it was filled with big rat droppings. The bell boys swept out the dropping and disappeared, having failed to catch the rat – and gave no explanation as to what was happening. We called the Duty Manager again who said that they were sending someone to our rooms again. This time, the bell boys arrived with a large aerosol can of cockroach spray which they emptied into a hole in the rat-dropping cupboard, attempting to flush out the vermin. It had no effect. Eventually, I insisted on being provided with other accommodation, some of the party were send to another room around midnight.

The elderly couple who had been left in blissful ignorance (a mistake on my part) awoke the next morning to find that the rat had eaten through make up, medicine and vitamin pill bottles, soaps and other things – and left clothing and items soaked in urine and dotted with large rat droppings inside their suitcase. In the light of day, we saw that there were droppings on the empty bed, on bedroom floors, and there were also mouse droppings in a range of places in the villa.

The duty manager then re-roomed us into new rooms. We claimed for the damaged make up, toiletries, medicines etc and the hotel did reimburse us evnetually. They were extremely put-out that I also insisted on reimbursement for the first night stay which led to most of the next day being spent dealing with rat urine/faeces, but eventually agreed.

The General Manager made it very clear throughout that he would not accept what we had to say and that we were trying to con the hotel. For this to happen, he clearly does not listen to his Duty Managers who saw the rat droppings with their own eyes, and is content to continue in ignorance without actually dealing with the vermin. We will never stay here again. There are much better options going along Pantai Tengah and further along Pantai Cenang.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_in_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Based upon the reviews here we were a little worried about our booking but overall it was a very pleasant stay.
We did have one problem when we first arrived, they had mistakenly cancelled our booking as we had upgraded our room a few weeks before and our holiday company (netflights) cancelled our original booking and rebooked an upgraded room. This equated at the hotel of cancelling our entire booking. It took a couple of calls to the holiday company to sort and we were put in a suite overnight until it was sorted. Reception staff took quite alot of persuasion over this however they put us up in a prima suite for one night whilst it was sorted. At 9am the next morning we picked up the keys to our Premium room.
The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The Premium rooms are the refurbed ones and we would urge anyone to book them. Although we have never seen a standard room, the chat around the pool was that these were dated.
The hotel is good, its location is excellent, sandy clean and quiet beach, much better than the beach higher up in Cenang. There are several great restaurants in easy walking distance, Although we had breakfasts included at the hotel we found them crowded and of average quality, we prefered to eat at cactus. Cactus had great quality food and very cheap, their breakfasts were great and they had a good selection. The Sun cafe had excellent quality food and service, we ate there several times, oh and the toilets are fantastic!
We hired a car for 24hrs and explored the island - it is a must! we had the best time. Best places to visit, the cable car, pantai kok and tanjung rhu. Also the craft shop by the black sand beach is where we bought most of our gifts - the artists make the stuff there and sell it themselves.
Langkawi is very cheap (against sterling anyway) but the hotel was more expensive than the restaurants around (but still cheap).
Pool area and garden was very good and the gardens well maintained. There was internet access at the hotel which you had to pay for but there is an internet shack next door to the hotel which costs 20p per quarter hour so a bargain.
Also check your bill as they tried to charge us for the upgrade - although it was sorted quickly. All in all a very good holiday and the hotel was much better than we expected from some of the reviews on here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SiandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

A Good Property. Very good hotel with a good pool. The basic rooms are decent but require more cleanliness as its just besides the sea shore. Breakfast is good.

  • Liked — The Beach Accessability
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VirendraPethad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
937 reviews
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
414 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#30 of 103 in Langkawi
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing