We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well maintained Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well maintained Resort”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We reached at the hotel at 11:30am, thought we had to wait till 2pm. But we got our room at that very moment. It was a pleasure for us because we traveled all night long. The room was very nice and clean, it had a glass door through which one can go to the lawn directly. Toilet had all the necessary toiletries with hot/cold water and a hair-dryer. It had complementary bar full of beers, soft drinks and water. Complementary breakfast was awesome with so many options. I enjoyed staying there and will recommend it for others also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NusratNimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad to hear that you were happy with your stay and satisfied with our facilities and services.We look forward to see you and provide you with our finest services. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    688
    403
    186
    141
See reviews for
550
610
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived at the resort at 4pm, hot and tired. We counted 12 people behind the reception desk, and it appeared very chaotic - despite the number of staff, there were only 3 staff actually receiving guests. We were told that our room was not ready and that we'd have to wait 45 minutes - this was at 4pm!! We were not offered a drink, nor were we told where the bathrooms were located. Reception staff were disinterested, cold and unhelpful.

We finally checked in to our room - it was very basic. We had requested a twin room, but the single beds were pulled together - we had to move them apart, and no assistance was offered. The electric jug in our room did not work, and had to be replaced. The room safe had the batteries hanging out - a staff was dispatched to repair, and responded promptly, but based on our experience thus far, we opted not to use the safe.

Breakfast was included in our stay and was disappointing - there was a limited variety of food offered, much was tasteless, and most "hot" dishes were tepid at best. We requested a non-smoking area, and were directed to the front section of the buffet area - there was no real delineation between smoking and non-smoking areas, and the smell of tobacco was overpowering.

Indeed, smoking was prevalent in all areas of this establishment - from reception to the eating areas and bars, and the outdoor areas. Not pleasant for those who are non-smokers.

We opted to have dinner each evening in some of the cafes within walking distance to the resort - they were very reasonably priced, offered good food, and had friendly staff and patrons. One night, we decided to call in at the resort's Mata Hari bar at 10pm. The bar reeked of stale cigarette smoke, and the only person present was a staff member, who was dozing - we didn't stay.

We requested Wi-Fi, and were shown the sheet with the Wi-Fi costs - exorbitant charges - the resort staff did not provide us with a copy of the charges, we could only view them at reception.

However, I would like to acknowledge the cleaning staff and those who undertook some of the more mundane tasks - they were friendly and gracious at all times.

When we checked out, I expressed my dissatisfaction with our stay and requested the name of the manager, and said I would like to provide feedback. I was given a card without a contact name, and with the email address starting with "reception@....". I have therefore chosen to provide my feedback in this format.

In all, this was a very disappointing stay - the environment was not welcoming or particularly pleasant. It certainly was not value for money. I would not recommend this venue at all, nor would I ever consider staying here again.

Room Tip: I have no recommendations for this establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JanL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. Very quiet and laid back for those who want peace. The staff is professional and courteous. The service from the beginning to end of our stay goes unmatched. The staffs was kind and listened to of our needs

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sp0twhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at our beach resort and happy with our facilities and services. We look forward to serve you again on your next visit to Langkawi island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights (22nd August - 24th August). I was torn between a 3/5 (Average) or a 4/5 (Very good) . I guess my exact rating will be 3.5/5 (Good)

Pros:
> Great location. Close enough to the main beach (Pentai Cenang), as well as being by another smaller, more private beach
> Great pool
> Decent rooms
> We had already read about other reviewers' bad experiences with service. With that in mind, the service wasn't as bad as expected. Just don't expect fantastic service and you'll be fine.

Cons:
> The property is old and definitely in need of an upgrade
> The bed smelt weird and damp. Definitely not a comfortable sleep

TIP: For food, go across the road to Cactus. Lovely food, great ambience.

Beyond this, just an observation. This was the first time I saw a 'Souvenir Menu' in a hotel. It basically is a price list of what the hotel will charge in case you take off with their towels, bedsheets, pillows, etc. I'm sure that the hotel faces lots of guests who have stolen, but it felt weird that every guest is now cast under that suspicious light.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof_Von_Nostrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We acknowledged your observations and we view your feedback on your accommodation experience positively . We always do our level best to extend every courtesy and service possible as it is our concern that guests experience an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again to Holiday Villa. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Pro: location, the beach, nearby restaurants, friendly staff
Cons: slow water drainage from the bath tub; the air-con control panel didn't seem to work; no free WiFi
My room had some kind of weird smell. Not that bad, just... not something you expect when you walk in a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nguyen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This beach resort is situated on a lovely stretch of beach. The beach is not crowded and has a quiet and relaxing feel at all time. On top of that, there are a lot of restaurants and a couple of small marts located just outside the resort with decent prices. However, the area Pantai Tengah is not much of a shopping district. Taxi fare from airport to the resort is fixed at RM20, so if not self-driving, it is relatively alright to take the cab. The cab drivers are quite honest as well and Langkawi has a structured taxi network.

The resort is quite big with a few restaurants within (but pricey). The gym is big with many types of equipment. There are indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The outdoor swimming pool is of decent length, but the indoor one is nothing to rave about. It is basically for the conservative females to use but the pool is so small that there is not much to swim. There is a third swimming pool but currently under-construction.

Staff wise, like someone mentioned – the front desk staff were too busy to entertain and seem cold in welcoming. Apparently, this resort is quite popular and receives influx of guests the whole day. We wanted to extend our stay for a few hours by paying, but it seems this resort is fully booked even at this low period that they refuse us. It just shows that they were really busy.

Room wise, I would rate it as poor. The deco is outdated of the 90s style and everything looks worn. The bedcover was torn, the safe box not functioning, the in-room magazine had food stuffed in between the pages, and I found something terrible. When I open up the toilet bowl cover, I was horrified to find that the toilet seat was stained with urine and it wasn’t cleaned. This is the most disgusting find of all my hotel stays. The room reeked of moldy smell and of course, the bathroom had a kind of unpleasant scent, so we practically kept the bathroom door open during our stay. I had requested for a higher level room but the staff gave me the ground floor. My partner being allergic to sandflies and mosquitoes suffered badly. The whole room had mosquitoes flying around despite all windows and doors shut. After rounds of killing spree, the mossies still came back. No doubt the room is big, I think this resort badly need to overhaul its guest rooms and tighten their housekeeping standards. Oh, and don’t hope for great mini-bar and toiletries in the room, this resort at most gives a bottle of 1.5L complimentary water and some funny smelling shampoo & bath.

Room Tip: If you can't stand mosquitoes, insist on higher floor. Doubt they will give though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kisetsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The location of the hotel is wonderful the beach and pool area is really nice. But the hotel needs to improve service. The hotel is old but looks like they are in the midst of upgrading, we were upgraded to a better room. My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights.

The room was decent but we didn't have any drinking water in the room and the bathroom was refurbished but there was no enough space for towels or toiletries. A night we order room service which was ok.

The next day when we came back at night after a long day out, we found our tray with yesterday's room service still out side our door, the next morning our tray and a few other trays were gradually accumulating along the corridor. We basically told the front desk twice before they cleared it.

Also the chamber maids are just terrible at cleaning up! They don't sweep nor cleans the bathroom floors well. The best part was we found out that they forgot to put drinking water for us the first two days of our stay.

It's really disappointing when it's suppose to be a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflyfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 100 in Langkawi
918 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#28 of 100 in Langkawi
170 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing