We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. Very quiet and laid back for those who want peace. The staff is professional and courteous. The service from the beginning to end of our stay goes unmatched. The staffs was kind and listened to of our needs

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sp0twhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at our beach resort and happy with our facilities and services. We look forward to serve you again on your next visit to Langkawi island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    696
    408
    194
    142
See reviews for
563
616
41
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights (22nd August - 24th August). I was torn between a 3/5 (Average) or a 4/5 (Very good) . I guess my exact rating will be 3.5/5 (Good)

Pros:
> Great location. Close enough to the main beach (Pentai Cenang), as well as being by another smaller, more private beach
> Great pool
> Decent rooms
> We had already read about other reviewers' bad experiences with service. With that in mind, the service wasn't as bad as expected. Just don't expect fantastic service and you'll be fine.

Cons:
> The property is old and definitely in need of an upgrade
> The bed smelt weird and damp. Definitely not a comfortable sleep

TIP: For food, go across the road to Cactus. Lovely food, great ambience.

Beyond this, just an observation. This was the first time I saw a 'Souvenir Menu' in a hotel. It basically is a price list of what the hotel will charge in case you take off with their towels, bedsheets, pillows, etc. I'm sure that the hotel faces lots of guests who have stolen, but it felt weird that every guest is now cast under that suspicious light.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof_Von_Nostrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We acknowledged your observations and we view your feedback on your accommodation experience positively . We always do our level best to extend every courtesy and service possible as it is our concern that guests experience an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again to Holiday Villa. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Pro: location, the beach, nearby restaurants, friendly staff
Cons: slow water drainage from the bath tub; the air-con control panel didn't seem to work; no free WiFi
My room had some kind of weird smell. Not that bad, just... not something you expect when you walk in a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nguyen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This beach resort is situated on a lovely stretch of beach. The beach is not crowded and has a quiet and relaxing feel at all time. On top of that, there are a lot of restaurants and a couple of small marts located just outside the resort with decent prices. However, the area Pantai Tengah is not much of a shopping district. Taxi fare from airport to the resort is fixed at RM20, so if not self-driving, it is relatively alright to take the cab. The cab drivers are quite honest as well and Langkawi has a structured taxi network.

The resort is quite big with a few restaurants within (but pricey). The gym is big with many types of equipment. There are indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The outdoor swimming pool is of decent length, but the indoor one is nothing to rave about. It is basically for the conservative females to use but the pool is so small that there is not much to swim. There is a third swimming pool but currently under-construction.

Staff wise, like someone mentioned – the front desk staff were too busy to entertain and seem cold in welcoming. Apparently, this resort is quite popular and receives influx of guests the whole day. We wanted to extend our stay for a few hours by paying, but it seems this resort is fully booked even at this low period that they refuse us. It just shows that they were really busy.

Room wise, I would rate it as poor. The deco is outdated of the 90s style and everything looks worn. The bedcover was torn, the safe box not functioning, the in-room magazine had food stuffed in between the pages, and I found something terrible. When I open up the toilet bowl cover, I was horrified to find that the toilet seat was stained with urine and it wasn’t cleaned. This is the most disgusting find of all my hotel stays. The room reeked of moldy smell and of course, the bathroom had a kind of unpleasant scent, so we practically kept the bathroom door open during our stay. I had requested for a higher level room but the staff gave me the ground floor. My partner being allergic to sandflies and mosquitoes suffered badly. The whole room had mosquitoes flying around despite all windows and doors shut. After rounds of killing spree, the mossies still came back. No doubt the room is big, I think this resort badly need to overhaul its guest rooms and tighten their housekeeping standards. Oh, and don’t hope for great mini-bar and toiletries in the room, this resort at most gives a bottle of 1.5L complimentary water and some funny smelling shampoo & bath.

Room Tip: If you can't stand mosquitoes, insist on higher floor. Doubt they will give though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kisetsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The location of the hotel is wonderful the beach and pool area is really nice. But the hotel needs to improve service. The hotel is old but looks like they are in the midst of upgrading, we were upgraded to a better room. My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights.

The room was decent but we didn't have any drinking water in the room and the bathroom was refurbished but there was no enough space for towels or toiletries. A night we order room service which was ok.

The next day when we came back at night after a long day out, we found our tray with yesterday's room service still out side our door, the next morning our tray and a few other trays were gradually accumulating along the corridor. We basically told the front desk twice before they cleared it.

Also the chamber maids are just terrible at cleaning up! They don't sweep nor cleans the bathroom floors well. The best part was we found out that they forgot to put drinking water for us the first two days of our stay.

It's really disappointing when it's suppose to be a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflyfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I, just checked in at 2 pm today. We purchased the Deluxe Room which was advertised to have a bath tub and a sea view room. We didn't have to wait long and went to our room. To our disappointment, the room did not have a bath tub nor a good view. Anyway, I went back to the front office and mentioned that I had purchased a Deluxe Room and comes with a tub. Front office personnel got me another room in ten minutes and told me to see if I am ok with it. We checked the room, and this time, it had a tub and proper carpeting. Only complain we had is the tub was sprayed with Insect repellent (after checking with house keeping) and the tub looked really slippery with it. Also, there was construction going on right outside our window (but I guess u can't do much about that). They promised to look at the tub right away. While I wait, I told my self its ok, these things happen. However my wife is very exhausted (she is by the way 6 months into her pregnancy and I did mention this in my booking order). We had to change rooms, quite a walk away from the lifts and she was concerned the tub with insect repellent might do harm, because of poison and it might be slippery and hence dangerous for her especially in her state now. Basic Amenities are also lacking like toothbrushes, slippers and not a single item in the mini bar. Anyway, we will try to make the best out of it, as we just got here. Hopefully the hotel is more sensitive to receiving guest who are pregnant in the near future, especially those have mentioned this in their bookings.

Mr. Jaspal

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank hoondal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

this is the 3rd time ive stayed and love it.will continue to stay on my next visiti found the staff to be amazing with any help we needed.always prompt.the pool area is to die for with such a large pool and spa .bar food is great when u need a snack or meal.lots of lounge chairs to relax on.you must visit this place

Room Tip: any room opposite the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are indeed happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay on your 3rd visit to Holiday Villa. Thank you for your support and we will be more than happy to have you back again with us .We welcome your feedback to us so that we can provide better services and that you will be satisfied with your accommodation experience at Holiday Villa.Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
937 reviews
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
414 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#28 of 103 in Langkawi
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing