We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice pool terrible rooms and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
1 review
“Great location, nice pool terrible rooms and service.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the holiday villa in Langkawi, we were so excited as we drove in as it looked amazing! When we arrived in the room there were only 2 beds in the room when we had 3 people sleeping. They were unable to provide us with a 3 bedroom room and one of us had to sleep on a fold out bed on the floor. Then in the lounge we found an item of clothing which must have been from the person staying in the room before us. There was also a terrible smell in the room. We had to pay for wifi which had shocking reception. The breakfast was horrible! Location was great! And the pool and beach were great but that's about it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvana_1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the setback that you had encountered during your stay with us and are looking into your comments.. We will increase our training on room cleaning and in all areas of operations for us to be better always . We thank you for your support and hope to serve you again in the near future. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    697
    408
    194
    142
See reviews for
563
617
41
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
crawley sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had been to this hotel twice before and had asked for a ground floor room as my husband had recently had a triple bypass. We were put into a pool view room which was great until we tried to sleep as there was a water pipe outside our room and it sounded like continuous running water. I contacted reception and they found us another room and sent 2 porters to move our bags.We stayed in this room overnight and again they moved all our bags to our permanent room in the morning. At all times the staff were kind and very caring. Now the bad points they had changed the chairs/tables in the Matahari lounge and they were so light that when you sat down they moved also the bar stools tipped if you lent slightly to one side.the only good thing about the bar is the Duo who play fantastic music and will play requests They have still not put any toilets on the beach and if you had been eating and drinking at the bar you had a long run to the toilet by the pool and I mean toilet as there is only one male and one female so if it is busy bad luck as a number of people have said they never made it.We are now saving to return as we love the service and all the staff.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are lighter but all rooms are sheltered from the hot sun by being angled away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbiejean52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our services.It is our aim to ensure that our guests have a great holiday . Our staff are always attentive to meet guest';s expectation. The Matahari Lounge was recently upgraded with new furniture .So far we have not received unfavourable comments. We will look into the bar chairs for verification Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at the hotel with my husband and 3 year old son. Room was big enough for 3 of us, bathroom was clean, love the rain shower! The hotel has very big pool, there is also and indoor swimming pool for ladies. The breakfast was ok, same menu almost every day. I enjoyed their roti canai with dhal the most!
Location wise, it's close enough to restaurants and if you rent a car (rm50 per day for Viva) you can drive to Chenang beach where there are more choices for food. Parking is ample.
Overall, i would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ampang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you and family as our guests and thank you for choosing to stay at our beach resort.. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay . We welcome guests' feedback and will strive to achieve service excellence. We look forward to see you and family again . Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Hubby & I stayed for 2 nights. The room is spacious & quite new. Our room is facing the beach which is quite nice.
The staff is not very friendly though.
Overall facilities are just moderate only. Location is pretty far from town area.
Daily breakfast is just normal standard Malaysian fare with some western spread.
Won't return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesskitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to monitor our operations closely. We are constantly look into making improvements in all areas and this includes providing training and guidance to our staff to further enhance our services. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant stay overall. Its an old hotel, however service is not that bad. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Location is nice and beach is really nice as well. However there was no life guard during day time which was weird. Across the hotel there is T-shoppe where you can rent a car or a scooter and use it to go around the island. Really cheap rental prices. The breakfast was really good and a nice variety of food for a 4 star hotel. Rooms are very spacious however old and in need for some serious maintenance. If you're the type that pays attention to small room details then you wouldn't enjoy this hotel. Otherwise it is a nice hotel with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tariq89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our life guard is available on duty at our swimming pool during the operational hours from 7.30am to 8.00 pm. They are attired in white resort T-shirts and you may probably not noticed them when they are do the cleaning of the pool . Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you back again on your next trip to Langkawi island. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I lived there for a business trip. I could say that this hotel is nice for holiday , for families and children as well. Very big pool, very good beach, service is sufficient. The rooms are may be somewhat simple but there was everything I needed. The breakfast is ok , there were continental meny , asian menu was also very delicious. Besodes, the location of the hotel is nice as there are many restaurants around it. I liked spa services as well.Best recommendations!

Room Tip: There are some problems with air - conditions - it was noisy. I could recommend the gound floor - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolie-ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We thank you for your comments. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest during your business trip to Langkawi. Your support is much appreciated. It is always our aim in providing the best of our services to our guests and we review all feedback by guests positively. We are happy to hear that you were happy with our hotel location and facilities. We hope to serve you again on your return visit to Langkawi island. Many thanks and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
183 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice location, rooms are decent, but not too well maintained, however what stands out is the private beach they have.
The rooms were big enough, all the modern amenities, but signs of aging were clearly visible. We did get a room changed, for it was damp, the other rool was OK ish.
Having said that, you wont go to Langkawi to just stay indoors; the beach they have is just fantastic.... and that will more than make up for it. Also need to mention about the hotel lobby, its nicely done

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMITRA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay at our resort and happy with the location and facilities. Thank you on your compliments about our lobby and we are constantly looking into all areas from time to time for further improvements in keeping up with guest expectations. We hope to welcome you again and serve you in the near future.Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
938 reviews
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
414 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#27 of 103 in Langkawi
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing