We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks are deceptive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Idukki, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looks are deceptive!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Photographs give a feel of a very posh well maintained hotel but not exactly. Very expensive for the kinda facilities. Corridors and the lobby is very shabby.

Rooms have no privacy as the next balcony is just a few hand spans away

Renovated rooms are good but otherwise its a bad choice. Location is good

Room Tip: Go for the renovated rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ums1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    696
    408
    194
    142
See reviews for
563
616
41
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay here at the Holiday Villa and the verdict?? I have to say that I think this is a good all round hotel offering a fantastic location right on a gorgeous stretch of white beach, an amazing swimming pool and decent rooms. The location is perfect - not to far from the busier cenang stretch with handy taxis outside to drop you where you want for a few pounds. If I had to moan it would be about the Wifi situation but thanks to tripadvisor we knew this before we travelled and so simply popped to Cactus over the road from the hotel for a cold Tiger beer and did what we needed to do.
For the money we paid this was good value hotel with all we needed for a relaxing beach break in sunny Langkawi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BirminghamSelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Holiday Villa is good and clean hotel. The attentive and friendly staff. Great pool area and beach. The hotel is located in a quiet area, which is our mind. All you need is so close. Its price level.
Four times in Langkawi, including three times in the hotel and still the mind going back.
This year, Matahari Lounge showed very good artist couple, Annie and Eric, they made a good nostalgic and melodious music.
We look back on a successful holiday good cheer and wonderful hotel staff. I hope we can someday return to Langkawi.
Terima kashi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I only stayed at Holiday Villa 2 nights of our 6 night stay on Langkawi but wished we had spent more of our time here. It is in a great location, close to where everything happens but away from the hustle and bustle and has a great beachfront and pool area.The waters are the beautiful turquoise colour that you see in the magazines and calm. We had hired a small car car so if was easy to access the many choices of restaurants along Cenang and Tengah beach. We did not eat in the Hotel at all. There is a mini mart across the road for supplies.

I had booked through Expedia 6 months ago at a very good price. I was not expecting a 5* resort but rather a mid range resort with clean rooms on the beachfront in a quiet location but close to everything and that's exactly what we got!

This Hotel has been around for sometime but is very well kept. Our nice balcony room on the 2nd floor overlooked the pool and we also had glimpses of the beach. The garden looks beautiful at night when it is all lit up. There was an Australia wedding on the foreshore while we were there and we had a birds eye view from our balcony. This is a perfect location for a wedding!

There were plenty of deckchairs on the beachfront and pool area- it was very hot while we were there so we chose shady deckchairs under the trees. The pool is big enough to enjoy with a sectioned children's area. There is also a swim up bar. The Holiday Villa has that real 'holiday' feel about it. The staff were friendly and helpful even offering us umbrella's to get to our hire car when it rained.

A good tip is to hire a car from the airport as this Hotel is quite away from the main centre- although taxi's are cheap. Car hire gives you the freedom to explore the island and is not expensive(AU$25-30 per day for a small car). By the time you have paid for taxi fares's each day you could have paid for the car hire all day. The roads are quieter than Bali,Vietnam and Thailand and easy to navigate- the speed being 50kph.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room over the garden/pool area on a higher floor- ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunny58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Reading reviews about this hotel from others, I seriously doubt their grasp on reality at times. I'm convinced that they expect a 5-star experience - but paying as little for it as possible. The Holiday Villa is not a 5-star hotel, but neither does it charge 5-star prices. It provides very good value for money IMO. We have been several times before and the management are rewarding our loyalty with little extra touches like no-deposit bookings, complimentary free airport transfers, welcome gift and discounts on in-hotel food and beverage outlets. Its plus points, for us, include a quiet location, a great pool, nice gardens and access to one of the best beaches on Langkawi. Yes, there may be negatives, but wake up and smell the coffee, folks! We'll be back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tescotogs_hubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel gave us a room which was at the corner of the corridor. At night, it was a frightening experience to go towards the room. The room had an interconnecting door with the adjacent room. One person from the other room opened the door. It was not good to experiece this kind of a situation. The breakast has many items. But, there were small ants moving on the buffet table. Yes, the swimming pool is good and even the personal beach is good. The room is spacious and the washrooms are hygienic. The main market area is about 15 minutes walking and 5 minutes by taxi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Pros:
- wide almost white sand beach directly approachable from the hotel
- the hotel is 2 kms from the town center, so its beach is absoltely not crowded,
- they did not have the rooms we booked and we were freely upgraded to the royal suite, with stunning interior and view
- as location and facilities are concerned probably the best choice on the island
- free beach towels, sun beds, sun shades

Cons
- no free wifi
- expensive breakfast (but we found cheap and perfect breakfast accross the street at Cactus breakfast bar with friendly service and real espresso!)
- unfriendly, bored staff at beach bar

Room Tip: - be far from the disco - 1st floor rooms are better then the ones at the ground foor - check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vizzzitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
937 reviews
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
414 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#28 of 103 in Langkawi
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing