We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but with outdated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place but with outdated rooms”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

For what we were paying we were expecting better, especially in this part of the world. The room was pretty dated and although we booked for 10 nights back in August somehow they still weren't able to accommodate us with a room with a King size bed. The price for WiFi was outrageous with the upside being that we were able to have a relaxing holiday without being connected to the rest of the world. Breakfast, which was included with our package (as far as I know) was excellent with lots of choices. Azrizul made it extra special for our son each morning. We did however love the pool and beach which made the whole experience worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your time and efforts to give us your feedback and your observations are well noted. We take your comments positively and will monitor our operations more closely and make further improvements in our services .We look forward to welcome you back again as our valued guest on your next visit to Langkawi island. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    706
    413
    198
    143
See reviews for
576
625
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I have to agree..the resort is abit dated..but that what makes it unique..its dated but its clean...i have to say..i was disgusted by some review..my stay wasnt perfect..i had a water leaking right outside my toilet door..but the facility tech came fast to rectify it..after that..no more leaking..it wud spoil my holiday if the leaking resurface but it did not..so that was all the prob i had during my stay..small glitch dun spoilt your holiday..

Pool were huge..food pricing is still somehow affordable compare to some resort i stayed in langkawi before..many eateries outside resort with a minimart..

Resort had a huge lawn to laze around..resort beach bar open till midnight..

To me beach wasnt that great if you compare to the datai or berjaya but never the less its still a great beach..next nearest beach is cenang beach if you prefer crowds..

One thing i believe many wud agree is that the resort stay is abit steep and it comes without breakfast..i hope management can review on its pricing..many resort hv started to include free breakfast..

Return to holiday villa...? Why not..? Its special in its own way...definately returning...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermanshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your special comments which are well noted. We are always monitoring our hotel operations and making efforts to improve our services for the comfort stay of our guests. We value every concerns and remarks by our guests that help us in our resort operations. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, Haryana, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Was really worried after reading all da reviews but honestly speaking had a best time f my life courtesy this hotel...visited frm 23-26th Jan and by chance got pool facing view frm my room and beleive me it ws superb...Nice private Beach adds toppings to the cake,,,has a clean nice peaceful prvt beach and a super cool Swimming pool wer in u can swim all day,,,was at beach as late as 2am and cld find it very safe...Area s neat and clean and rooms are fairly large,,,breakfst ws good with yes lil less options for veggies particularly Indian Veggies,,,Main drawback was Drinking water was chargeable dat was bit a bad part f da resort as no free wifi...For water bought a 5.5L bottle from shops outside da resort...lots f shops immedtly outsde da gate f resort wer v can get evrythg dat v need...Overall a gr8 expernce nyce resort super cool Pvt Beach with nobdy distrbng no hawkers no bullyng nthg jst sit and relax,,,9.5 out f 10

Room Tip: rooms with pool view or beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yamnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us . We appreciate your lovely remarks about us and it was truly our pleasure to have served you as our valued guest. Let's hope that we will meet you and be of service to you again on your next visit to the island.Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

stayed there with a friend suring christmas. Great Location, AMAZING beach, the pool is quite nice, Friendly Staff. The room service is quite quick but the food is not the best thing ever (it's good as long as you're only picking snacks really). All in all, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make sure to pick a room that's not on the ground floor, the view is much better on the upper o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SElSherbini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our facilities and services. We hope to see you back again in the near future and serve you with our finest hospitality. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

...... until you have read this. Day 1. Checked in. Told WiFi was extra. Small point but I had asked for WiFi and Free WiFi was on the package I thought I'd booked. Adamantly refused. Then the plot thickened. I'd tried to book in early December on the Hotel's own website. Booking engine was not working so sent email. No reply. After a few days resorted to lastminute.com who got a package within a few pounds of what I'd sought originally: £651 (3,200 MYR, 1,050 USD) for 7 nights. Now, on arrival, the hotel insists that I'm on a package costing 250 MYR per night and that cannot include free WiFi (or breakfast for that matter). But do the sums - I paid closer to 450MYR per night so where is the 80% mark-up going. To last minute.com? To GTA(?), the agency they use? Or is the hotel not being entirely straight? I Don,t know but suggest you are careful when booking.

More on WiFi. If we all (ALL OF US) refused ever to stay in hotels that charged for WiFi then within a few months no hotel in the world would charge for it. And their charges are invariably rip-off prices so let's kill the practice now.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

stayed for 5 nights in adjoining rooms with our 2 older teenagers. room was large and clean, with newish bathroom. lovely pool and gardens and right on a beautiful beach. breakfast was ample. would not stay here again, staff were fine but not particularly friendly, no lounge area to relax in - although there was a bar area it smelled strongly of cigarettes. some wooden chairs and tables in lobby area but this area not airconditioned and not very relaxing. however it was a good area to stay in with many cafes in a short walking distance, + general store with scooters and hire cars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryElizabeth54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you have brought to our attention on our shortcomings and we are always attentive to our guests observations. We will enhance our hotel services in ensuring that our guests get to enjoy a comfortable stay with us always. Thank you and looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed their Jan 2013. Having travelled extensively in Malaysia, found the place a bit different. The service was average...most of the 3star & above hotels in Malaysia provides free Wifi...not here...breakfast are typically included..not here...certainly very neat and clean...the adjacent beach is beautiful with laid out beach chairs for sun bathing...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz_bong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at our resort . We take your concerns positively and will continue to strive in providing the best of services to our guest . We hope that you will return again and get to enjoy the beautiful attractions of Langkawi island . It will be our pleasure to serve you. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#23 of 104 in Langkawi
953 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#49 of 104 in Langkawi
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
423 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing