We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It needs to refurbish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It needs to refurbish”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel room is very old, smelly, wall and toilet w fungus and the tiles in the toilet was not clean like ages. blanket and bed sheet was dirty and smelly too. Breakfast was so so but lots of flies are joining for breakfast too. Thank god I only stayed for one night.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank weeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We take your reviews positively and are doing every efforts to provide our finest services for the comfort stay of our guests. We apologize for any setbacks encountered as we strive to maintain our service standards.Rest assured your observations are being looked into and we will continue to monitor our operations more closely. Thank you and warm wishes .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    697
    408
    194
    142
See reviews for
563
617
41
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The holday villa is located in a nice place which has got many good hotels.The Awana Porto is a just some distance away.

The best part of our stay is the beautiful private beach which is dotted with small islands (with hills) ... one can literally swim to those small islands..

in case you are the adventurer kind then you can visit a whole set of restaurants which are located right across the road.. you will also get bike rentals/maps etc across the road.

Pretty much enjoyed the place !!

Room Tip: You can choose federal villa rooms for value for money deals .. yet enjoy all the goo dthings in hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are happy to hear to that you had enjoyed your stay at our resort and your comments are much appreciated. We hope to see you again and we welcome the opportunity of serving you with our finest services. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 664 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The resort is pretty tired and needs a good makeover. The infrastructure is in place but everything is tired and worn out (including many of the staff).

The location is good and the pool area is nice but that's about it with the positives.

Our room was dark and very worn. A shower in the bath tub that would be an ideal height for a child or 5-feet tall adult and a nasty, clingy shower curtain.

Despite booking a room for 2 adults and 2 kids the room was only made up for 2 and we had to ask twice for the sofa bed to be made up and more towels to be delivered.

The pool area is nice with a swim-up bar but the staff all seem to congregate around the kitchen rather than circulate and take orders like they probably should.

The wi-fi is charged at a very high rate and is rubbish. I think now anywhere that charges for wi-fi is an indication of the rest of the hotel - I.e. An opportunity to charge more from the customer.

All in all we thought Langkawi was superb and loved Pantai Cenang but have no intention of staying at Holiday Villa again (worldwide or in Langkawi) and wouldn't recommend it to anyone either.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of our resort. We take your comments positively and wish to apologize for the setback you had encountered. We will continue to provide our staff with further training and guidance to optimize our guest's wishes at best. We always strive to maintain and excel in our service standards and we sometimes acknowledge our shortcomings as learning and training takes time for perfection. Thank you for your concerns and rest assured that we will make improvements from time to time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Good- pool, beach location, nearby shops and restaurants. Breakfast

Bad - outrageously overpriced wifi that doesn't work in rooms, no tea/ coffee in room, no complimentary water, out dated and smelly rooms. "shifty" staff trying to move a two room booking into one so called "upgraded" room that had one bedroom with a pull out trundle bed in main room for 65 year old mother.

Lifts not working.
Appauling and slow check in process.

Generally unhelpful staff - very good at acknowledging issues- not so good at doing anything about it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Was staying in one of the pool view room n completely enjoyed the view and service. The facilities in the hotel were plenty and the service was good. The location is an added advantage, just away from the busy stretch of restaurants. Airport is also not far away. Would recommend this to couples and family looking for a relaxed holiday in this beautiful island.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. It was a pleasure to have you as our valued guest and we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We shall look forward to your return visit to Langkawi island in the near future. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We celebrated my mother's 70th birthday in this hotel 20-23 Dec 2012 and made our reservations way back in August. When we arrived we were told by a very sour faced receptionist that our request for King adjoining rooms couldn't be accommodated as they were fully booked - even though our request was made in August. On going up to the rooms, we found that there was a used make up brush on the floor and a child's pacifier in the bathroom under the sink. The pacifier stayed there for two days obviously showing that the hotel does not take cleanliness seriously. Next, one of the rooms didn't have hot water and the water pressure was really low. We complained but they only came to fix it after two days. Even after 'fixing' it, the problem still remained. The bedsheets were always dusty as well and the air-condition controls had buttons missing. The so called free wi-fi didn't work for two days as well. Worst thing was that the hotel doesn't provide complimentary drinking water - a very surprising situation when almost EVERY hotel that I have ever stayed in worldwide provides water. The icing on the cake was when my daughter called to request for some Ice and was told that Ice costs RM5. I have never heard of any other hotel charging for ice before.
For the price of approx RM380 per night which was supposedly a special package rate, this was a very exorbitant price to pay for a room of this standard. When we checked out, we raised the complaints to the management but they didn't seem interested and told us that there was nothing that could be done. We asked for a discount but were also told that since we paid a special rate, there was nothing they could do. So I asked them if a used pacifier, no hot water and unclean rooms were part of the special package. They just said sorry but were not at all sincere. I would seriously caution anyone about staying in this hotel as it is seriously overpriced and they do not put the customers' interest at heart. I hope to get some sort of response from the hotel but I doubt it as they just do not seem to care.

Room Tip: Just don't go here. Much better hotels available in Langkawi that show you TRUE Malaysian hospi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dharmnava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We thank you for highlighting all issues and we had completed our investigation on your complaints. We trust that you had already received the response by our General Manager who had communicated his findings directly with you earlier . We acknowledged receipt of your kind reply recently and glad that the matter is now resolved to your satisfaction. We shall look forward to welcome you back and provide you with our finest services. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed June and the weather was great, location is around 5mins by cab to main street in langkawi..
When we arrived there the lady at reception told us that breakfast would be extra and i said to her i'll let you know if we will have it.
Went to our first room the bathroom was sooo tiny, old tired room, though spacious and good balcony. I asked if I can see another room, as this room smelled quite musty, so I was taken to another room, which was worse! So I opted for the original room. The tap in my bath was leaking so had to get someone in to fix they did asap, all good then i went downstairs to book the breakfast for afew days and I was told I had to pay for it when I checked in and had to book it for everyday..Well amybe i didnt want breakfast everyday, no choice given there.
So she tried to charge me more because I didnt pay for it when i checked in which I thought was the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard!! They wanted to charge me more because I decided later on that we would have breakfast...So I told them that I wasn't told that originally and after afew phone calls and exchange of words they granted me the breakfast at a discounted rate!
The worst thing about this place is the elevator/lift, was absolutely disgusting, had a foul smell and the carpet was old and musty and full of sand...Really this needs to be upgraded...

What I liked about this place was the fantastic pool, absolutely lovely, the bar near the beach, though the staff could be abit more friendly!! Had nice snacks and cocktails.

Food at breakfast was good lots to choose from:)
..
The wifi rates were ridiculously high, everywhere i go its generally free even if it is in the lobby area..
Would I stay there again, yes only if they uprgrade it and get free wifi

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peatsway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We had conducted our investigation and it is unfortunate that we are not able to trace your record back as your comments were backdated in June 2012. However, we had recently upgraded the lobby lift floor and replaced the carpet with new tiles which are more refreshing. We thank you for your concerns and we apologize for any inconveniences caused. Rest assured that we take your reviews positively and we are always making efforts to make improvements for the betterment of the resort.Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
938 reviews
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
414 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#27 of 103 in Langkawi
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing