We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative attraction”
Review of Kedah Paddy Museum

Kedah Paddy Museum
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Alor Setar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Informative attraction”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Visitors can learn more about paddy field. Very informative and suitable for all peoples. You will understand why Kedah was called as "Rice Bowl Of Malaysia" when you visit here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yusri_Y87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    49
    20
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Klang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very informative!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Visited the museum with my children and I'm glad that I did it. Lots of info and descriptions on paddy planting especially in Malaysia. They display numbers of paddy varieties/species and I wonder why can't Malaysia plan to plant only the best paddy species in the world.. Hmmm..

Numbers of displays on tools, equipment and machinery used to plant paddy. I knew some of it since my family used to have a small paddy field at our hometown. Very informative for my kids.

Beautiful 360 painting on top of the museum.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Faisal_Yunus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“surprised me by the good maintainance !”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Most of Malaysian attractions are either badly managed but not this
It is well managed
There is an air conditioned deck on the top floor rotating slowly for you to view the whole Alor Setar town , albeit a painted one
An eye opener for those not seen any thing related to paddy before

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangar, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting and Educational”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Spend an afternoon browsing through the exhibits in this delightful little museum that shows you a lot about paddy. Towards the end of your visit, spend some quiet moments admiring a great 360-degree painting that rotates, giving you the impression that you are looking at the landscape from a high place. A must-visit for rice-eaters!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Juju-Kangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The museum houses a 360 degrees view of gunung keriang which moves in a circular motion. Besides that, you can get more information on the types of paddy grown in malaysia and around the world.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisalam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kedah Paddy Museum also viewed

Alor Setar, Kota Setar District
Alor Setar, Kota Setar District
 
Alor Setar, Kota Setar District
Alor Setar, Kota Setar District
 

Been to Kedah Paddy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing