We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i wont recommend this hotel to others”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Alor Setar
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“i wont recommend this hotel to others”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

my family stayed here for 1 night during the Eid holiday. understand that this is a peak period but the desk staffs are clueless. we called to make reservations and they acknowledged, but when we arrive to check in they asked for booking number which they didnt provide during the phone conversation.

the hotel is full so we had no choice but to stay at the Prima Room which is supposed to be the Executive room. they closed down the Executive Lounge but we were told that we are eligible for hi-tea at the cafe. went down at 6pm and being asked for a coupon which was not provided during check-in.

breakfast is just basic.

no towels are provided at the swimming pool. guests are required to bring towels from the room to the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azril Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    26
    58
    12
    9
See reviews for
37
14
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was informed that this is the best hotel in town. Then I advise not staying overnight.

The corridors are dark and dingy. The room was old and felt unclean. The bathroom did not even have proper soap and had liquid soap from a very dodgy bottle. The furniture and fittings are cheap and old

The Chinese restaurant had reasonably tasty food but ambiance, tableware and service was poor. The coffee house was similar

Stay away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alor Setar hotels

Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here on part work/leisure trip. Brought my wife & 2 small children of ours.
Parking at the basement was ok, but really they can do with some sprucing up down there. Its dark & dingy. The 1st challenge was to carry our luggage & strollers from basement level to the lobby. No lift, only stairs! Luckily there was a helpful guard who let us use the staffs lift to push our stuffs to the lobby.

Room was ok, pretty decent. Needs major revamping & upgrades though as this hotel is big and has so much potential. Heard it was fully booked as its the schools holiday season. Decor inside room is, well, old and has seen better days. One major concern of ours was that the main window was quite low and its very easy for our young toddler to play there and he could have open the window easily! Immediately my wife & me turned 'interior decorators' and moved the writing table to face the window, closed the curtain and positioned side tables & standing lamps on both sides of the table! This is to avoid any possibility of our son playing near the not-so-safe-window.

Food at breakfast was ok. Nothing fancy. Standard local fares to satisfy the needs of the mostly local guests.

Pool side on one of the top floor was bare & empty (see pic). Really if the management hires someone to upgrade the place, the pool area can be quite a lovely place to enjoy meals/drinks al fresco/pool-side. Imagination & creativity needed here, folks of Holiday Villa Alor Setar.

One plus point is the friendly staffers. Courteous and ever ready with their smiles.

Room Tip: Well, ask for a room closer to the lift I guess.. you'll hear sounds of the elevators ( a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hakimamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights n the very first night my daughter got allergy. The room is dusty, the queen bed is not comfortable. My friend who stayed at this hotel also having flu n fever, allergy with dust. Management should do something since the building is too old so room furniture.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibusofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall cleanliness is fine. Nothing fancy, they have small pool for children, nothing attractive in term of deco for the pool area. This hotel needs to improve on their customer service and attentiveness towards the customers. The reception area is quite bad in term of pleasing customers or even a smile to us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed for 4 days for my leisure and business. Overall hotel is good with very strategic location (at heart of Alor Setar town). Room also excellent with nice view (Menara Alor Setar). But unfortunately, staff are not friendly (especially reception staff name: Syafinaz if I'm not mistaken her name), too hard too give smile and treat us like we are begging money from her (maybe due to my attire not look like a corporate guest). I hope that human resource department can give some advice to her.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzulkiflis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberjaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a very avarage hotel. Not bad but there is no charm towards it especially when you've got better rooms and services from budget hotels. The shower gel and shampoo were almost empty when I checked in, figured maybe housekeeping didn't realise it need replacing. But I realised that the mineral water that is complimentary in every other hotel I've been to is charged RM 1.50 per bottle. I mean seriously! Having said that the room is clean and comfortable, you can adjust the air cond temperature.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kas2rie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alor Setar hotels
2.0 mi away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
#9 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
5.7 mi away
TH Hotel Alor Setar
TH Hotel Alor Setar
#2 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
#8 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
#3 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.3 mi away
AST Hotel
AST Hotel
#6 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Alor Setar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Alor Setar

Property: Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Address: Lot 162 163 Jalan Tunku, Alor Setar 05000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Kota Setar District > Alor Setar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Alor Setar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Alor Setar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Villa Alor Setar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Alor Setar Hotel Alor Setar
Holiday Hotel Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar Malaysia - Kedah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing