We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & tasty food at StarCity Alor Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Alor Setar
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
1 review
“Great service & tasty food at StarCity Alor Star”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I am a 12 year old boy, i came to StarCity hotel for a meal and it was fantastic. The value was reasonable and the food was delicious i love the home made mushroom soup and the salmon was cooked to perfection i loved inch of it. The service is good, all the employees have smiling faces on them and a great environment it really lifts my spirits up. Keep up the good taste and service Starcity Alor Star I had a great time.
My congratulations to the General Manager of StarCity Mr.Eugene Dass and TEAM ! Happy New Year 2013 ! ! !

Regards,
Lee Tian Yoong.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeTianYoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    49
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
31
10
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Its a clean and nice place. Good rooms. bathroom missing knobs and curtain etc..
we travelled during Nov. Deepavali holidays without prior booking and a driver who took us after long bus travel from SIN-JB-KL to Aloestar.
Impressed by rooms and services. B/F was OK. Enjoyed by Kids & us.
Staff were Courteous. Tariff very reasonable- 170 Ringhet/-per night with B/F.
Highly reccomended for anyone.
There is food court near to it and also connectivity to Kolakatta for boat trip to Lankhawi is fine as well.
Overall we liked it compared to the one we stayed at Lankhawi.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are better...Views not very exotic anyway..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayyavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

So it took some time for them to get us checked in as they couldn't find our reservation. But the staffs were very polite, professional n apologetic, something quite rare from small hotel like these.

The room was nonetheless great, clean n spacious enough. We had a really good night rest. Breakfast was good. We called for a cab in the morning n we didn't had to wait too long.

It was the good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth_stephliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a last minute business trip and both my wife and i made reservation the very day we want to check in. We had to check in during midnight and stay only for 1 night.

We reached the hotel at midnight. There were some car parks behind the hotels and some at the lower ground. It's plenty of space so we parked our car at the lower ground and walked up the stairs. The receptionists helped us checked in, and even allow us to checked out at 2pm the next day.

The room is average for the amount we've paid. There things i like and things i don't. The first thing i notice walking into the room was strange odour coming out from the toilet although it looks clean. Next is mosquitoes. There are a lot of mosquitoes in the room and we found a note saying the hotel faced challenge dealing with them. They offered mosquito vapes so we had the reception sent to us. It helped a great deal!

The room is spacious and with good view of Alor Setar. The bed is just nice. Other than that, the furniture are just classic. The food at The Paddy Cafe was ok. They have egg station, some cereal, fruits, bread for toast, juice, tea and coffee, nasi lemak, fried rice vermicelli, spring roll, congee, etc. Overall it's an average stay. The hotel need to get rid of the mosquitoes and the strange odour in the room.

Room Tip: Deluxe is a good room for 2. Remember to get mosquito vapes and also ask them for a room that has no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I was told Starcity is one of the best hotels in Alor Setar but I beg to differ. I stayed once and I wasn't happy at all. Over-rated hotel with dire need of better furniture. It is about time the hotel changes the TV, floor carpets as there are ugly stains and remove molds on the bathrooms walls. The only plus point is the fact that the hotel is walking distance to Chinese hawker places. Pls buckle up as budget hotels have better furniture than your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MahJey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel is quite new and still maintains it's new look. Friendly services from staffs. Ample car park for guests. Located a short distance from the Alor Setar Tower a famous landmark of the city and the main highway running through the city.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel is located centrally, as there are a lot of chinese restaurants / eateries around the area. Check in was smooth, got a room on the 4th floor,hotel need to look into the Wifi signal, as it was unstable, and I need to go to wardbrobe area to get the signal. We had lunch at their coffee house - PADDY if I am not mistaken - chicken rice and the fried sardine bread, very good and all compliments to the chef. Overall all are great, and I will return to stay here if I come to Alor Setar again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond-KIpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alor Setar hotels
0.0 mi away
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
#3 of 23 in Alor Setar
101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 23 in Alor Setar
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#12 of 23 in Alor Setar
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
TH Hotel Alor Setar
TH Hotel Alor Setar
#2 of 23 in Alor Setar
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
#9 of 23 in Alor Setar
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StarCity Hotel Alor Setar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StarCity Hotel Alor Setar

Property: StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
Address: 88 | Jalan Pintu Sepuluh, Alor Setar 05100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Kota Setar District > Alor Setar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Alor Setar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — StarCity Hotel Alor Setar 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, StarCity Hotel Alor Setar caters for leisure and business.In addition to the 98 luxurious rooms, StarCity Hotel offers various function rooms for meetings, conferences and banquets. Equipped with complimentary internet facilities and state-of-the-art audio visual system, StarCity Hotel is an ideal and excellent choice for your events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your StarCity Hotel Alor Setar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar Malaysia - Kedah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing